Archives and Special Collections

Our collections are accessible online in numerous ways; many are listed under Digital Collections but new materials are regularly being added. To search all of our digitized materials visit the websites below.

• ArchivesSpace
  ArchivesSpace is our guide to archival collections. You can search our Finding Aids by keyword, subject, or person by using the search box. You can also browse the collections by clicking on Resources. When you find a collection of interest, you can print out a guide by clicking on 'Print' in the upper right-hand corner of the page. 

• Digital Repository
  Here you will find digitized booklets, pamphlets, maps, graduate theses, college catalogs, and images. 

• Flickr
  Flickr is our home for photographs, stereoviews, postcards, and ephemera.

• Internet Archives
  You can find yearbooks from the Salem Normal School, Salem Teachers College, and Salem State College on Internet Archives.

• Library Catalog
  Search the library catalog for Special Collection books and journals available in the Reading Room.

• YouTube
  Salem State College Arts Festival: A Symposium Tribute to Jack Kerouac, 1973. This was one of the first symposiums that recognized Kerouac's work. It featured poetry readings by Allen Ginsberg and Gregory Corso and a panel discussion on Kerouac featuring Ginsberg, Corso, John Clellon Holmes, Peter Orlovsky, Stanley Twardowicz, Aaron Latham, and Charles Jarvis. Here is our blog post about the collection.

Looking for something specific? Use these links to navigate.

• Books & Pamphlets
  An assortment of books and ephemera related to the history of Salem, Massachusetts.

• College Catalogs
  The College Catalog collection consists of catalogs from the Salem Normal School and Salem Teachers College, 1856-1960.

• Essex County Lithographs
  19th-century scenes of Essex County by George H. Walker and Company of Boston, Massachusetts.

• Historic Maps
  World, North American, and local historic maps.

• Photographs
  19th and 20th-century photographs, postcards, and stereoviews are available on Flickr.

• Salem Normal School
  Catalogs, examination and graduation programs, publications, photographs, and yearbooks, 1854-1932.

• Student Scholarship
  Graduate theses, honors theses, and student zines.

• Special Collections Video
  Salem State College Lady Vikings 1986 basketball season. The team won the Division III basketball championship.

• Yearbooks
  ​Yearbooks from the Salem Normal School, Salem Teachers College, and Salem State College.