Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Spaces & Technology

Floor Directory

Name Location
Adaptive Technology Study Room 1st / 101
Advising 1st / Learning Commons
Archives and Special Collections Ground / 001
Café Ground / Learning Commons
Circulation (Borrow, Return) 1st / Library Help Desk
Classroom 107 1st
Classroom 214, 215 2nd
Community Meeting Room 2nd / 220
Disability Services Ground / Learning Commons
ERA (Education Resource Area) 2nd
Faculty Research Reading Room 2nd / 209
Family Study Room 2nd / 219
Folios 2nd
General Collection (call numbers A-HC) 2nd
General Collection (call numbers HD-Z) 3rd
Ground Floor Reading Room Ground
Group Study Rooms 1st, 2nd, 3rd
Holocaust and Genocide Collection 2nd
Honors Program 1st / Learning Commons
IDEA Den (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Awareness) 1st
Interlibrary Loan 1st / Library Help Desk
Library Administration Office 3rd / 315
Library Conference Room 3rd / 318
Maps Ground
Meditation Room 2nd / 213
Microfilm Ground
New Books 1st
Periodicals (Current Issues) 1st
Periodicals (Past Issues) Ground
Reference and Research Help 1st / Library Help Desk
Reference Collection 1st
Reference and Instruction Librarian Offices 2nd / 210
Reserves 1st / Library Help Desk
Restrooms 1st, 2nd, 3rd
TRIO Student Support Services Ground / Learning Commons
Tutoring Ground / Learning Commons
Vending Machines 2nd
Writing Center 1st / Learning Commons

Floor Maps

ground floor mapfirst floor map
second floor mapthird floor map

Classrooms

Berry Library has 3 computer-equipped instruction rooms located throughout the Library. Librarians and staff have priority use of these rooms for teaching information literacy in partnership with faculty. All classrooms feature a projector & screen with a lectern that has a desktop computer and monitor with additional connectivity options (e.g. to connect a laptop to the projector).

classroom

 

Classroom 107 is located on the first floor. It has 20 computers and doubles as an unsupervised computer lab.

Classroom 214 is located on the second floor. It has 44 computer workstations and is for supervised use.

Classroom 215 is located on the second floor. It has laptops in secured laptop carts and flexible furniture that can be easily reconfigured and is also for supervised use.

Conference Room

The Library Conference Room is located in room 318 on the third floor of the Library. This 25’ x 13’ space is furnished with a conference table that seats 16 people and includes the following AV equipment: 70" TV display, Windows 10 computer with HDMI connection, Apple Air Play connection for Apple Computers and mobile devices; Mirror Op for Microsoft computers and tablets with software installed. For questions about usage and availability of this room, please contact the Library Administration office in room 315 at 978.542.6232.

Community Meeting Room

Located in room 220, the Community Meeting Room can accommodate up to 4 people. A key may be requested at the Library Help Desk on a first come first served basis. It's open to all library users, including non-SSU local community users for up to two hours per day.

Faculty Research Reading Room

faculty research reading room

The Faculty Research Reading Room located is in room 209 on the second floor of the Library. It is reserved for faculty members conducting quiet research and study. This room has a variety of seating and lockers that can be assigned to faculty for the current semester.

To request permanent access to the Faculty Research Reading Room with your ClipperCard, please email cardaccess@salemstate.edu.

To request a locker assignment and for other questions about this room, please contact Dawna Matkevicius in the Library Administration office, Room 315, and at 978.542.6232 or dmatkevicius@salemstate.edu

Family Study Room

The Salem State University Library offers a family-friendly study room option for students, faculty, and staff. The designated study room is located in room 219. It can accommodate one family at a time and offers a family-friendly place for parents/guardians to study and work on projects with their children present. The rooms do not provide childcare, but offer a safe and secure location with amenities more conducive to studying with a child present.

 

family study room

Room Features

  • Desktop computer and desk workspace with clear sightlines.
  • Comfortable seating.
  • Portable DVD player with children’s videos and headphones.
  • Children’s furniture and toys/games for various ages.
  • Children’s books.
  • Adjacent to Education Resource Area and its children’s books collections.
  • Adjacent to restrooms.

 

Room Usage

  • The room can be reserved online and or in person at the Help Desk on a first-come first-served basis.
  • The room may be checked out for up to 4 hours by making 4 separate reservations for one-hour time blocks.
  • Reservations can be canceled online using the link in the confirmation email.
  • Reservations will be automatically canceled if patron is 30 minutes late.
  • Borrow key from 1st floor Help Desk.
  • Child & parent/guardian with current/valid Salem State ID must be present to check out key.
  • Children may not be left unattended. 
  • Parents are responsible for their children’s safety and behavior. Parents are responsible for monitoring what resources their children access – both print and online
  • Room users are responsible for toy/surface sanitization.
  • Room can accommodate one family at a time.
  • Send print jobs to 1st floor print station.
  • Personal items left in the room will be brought to the Lost and Found at the Help Desk.
  • Please leave the room in good condition for the next family.
  • Please let us know at the 1st floor Help Desk if there are issues with the room that need attention.
  • Lock the room and return the key at the end of your checkout period.

Group Study Rooms

Berry Library has 12 group study rooms with 6-8 seats each. Rooms may be reserved in advance by SSU students or may be available on a first-come, first-serve basis for others. Rooms may be accessed by checking out a room key card with a valid ClipperCard at the Library Help Desk. Current Salem State students may book a study room online.

study room

Room Reservations and Access

  • Rooms may be reserved online up to 1 week in advance.
  • Rooms may be reserved for up to 2 hours at a time in increments of four 30-minute time slots.
  • Current students receive priority for group study rooms and may make reservations up to 1 week in advance. Faculty and staff may request to use a room at the time of need. Inquire at the Library Help Desk for availability.
  • The person who checks out the key card is responsible for returning it to the Library Help Desk on time. Do not leave the library with the key card. 
  • Room reservations will be held for only 15 minutes past the beginning of the reserved period.
  • Group study (2 or more) has priority over individual use.

 

Room Policies

  • Personal belongings should not be left unattended in the room.
  • Write on the glossy white-board walls with erasable white-board markers only, provided in the room; if you need more markers, ask at the Library Help Desk. 
  • Cables to use the flatscreen monitor or headphones may be checked out at the Library Help Desk.

Meditation Room

Located in room 213, the Meditation Room can accommodate up to 8 people. It's intended for prayer, meditation, personal reflection, relaxation, and finding a moment of peace and is available to all library users, including non-SSU local community users. A key may be requested at the Library Help Desk on a first come first served basis. If you would like to have your own card activated, please email Cathy Fahey.

meditation room

 

Please adhere to the following guidelines and respect others using this space.

  • Please be respectful of others. If more than one person is using the room at one time, please be make an effort to accommodate others.
  • This is a quiet space. Please do not disturb others.
  • Music or guided meditation is allowed if you are using headphones.
  • Please do not use strong scents.
  • Candles and/or flames are not allowed due to our fire code.
  • This space is not for studying, napping or socializing.
  • Food and beverages are discouraged.
  • Leave the room as you found it.
  • Do not remove items from this room if they do not belong to you.

Restrooms

Accessible restrooms are located in both wings on every floor of the Library, including gender-neutral restrooms.

There is a baby changing station in the single-occupancy gender-neutral restroom on the ground floor.