Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Education Resource Area: Home

Located in the Salem State University library (2nd floor). ERA provides resources and services to support education programs at Salem State University. The collection includes curriculum, lesson planning, assessment, educational research books and kits.

Welcome to Education Resource Area

Education Resource Area

Library Closure Updates

Library Updates

Make a request using the options below, or — during open hours — call the Library Help Desk (978.542.6230), Reference Help Line (978.542.6766), or  stop by in-person.

Virtual Library Help Desk

Send your library questions to libraryhelp@salemstate.edu or create a Library Service Desk ticket via SSU's online help portal.

You can also leave a message at the following phone numbers and someone will get back to you asap:

Library Help Desk: 978.542.6230
Reference Help Line: 978.542.6766

Chat with us! Library staff is available for online chat check out the times on the link. 

If an agent is not online, please leave us a message!
Click the red icon in the lower-right corner to begin chat.

Access Chat Service: Library Ticketing System
https://jira.salemstate.edu/servicedesk/customer/portal/9

Resources such as research assistance, subject guides, and other useful services have been compiled by Library staff.

 

 

Education Resource Area

Education Resources

Education resources located in the library (2nd floor) include:

29,000 books are housed as a unit in the second floor Education Resource Area.  Each of these items has Educ. Res. preceding its Library of Congress Classification in the catalog.

For information on additional resources, including databases, please see Childhood Education and Care and Secondary and Higher Education LibGuides.

Education Resource Area is open anytime when the library is open.

SSU Library Hours

ERA Resources: Databases, Librarians and Collections

TeachingBooks

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Mometrex eLibrary

Collection of test prep resources. Are you taking any MTEL tests? Check this database for test preparation materials.

Database - Education Research Complete

Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.

Education Research Complete

Education: Childhood Education and Care

This guide supports the Salem State University's Childhood Education program at the School of Education.

 

Education: Secondary and Higher Education

A guide to a select list of library (and other) resources in print and electronic form in secondary and higher education

Secondary and Higher Education

Education Resource Area Map

Education Resource Area Map

Education Resource Area

Located in the Salem State University library (2nd floor). ERA provides resources and services to support education programs at Salem State University. The collection includes curriculum, lesson planning, assessment, educational research books, and kits.

Education Resource Area LibGuide

Scholastic BookFlix

All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.

ERIC - EBSCO

Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests.

ERIC database

Academic Search Complete

An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.

Contact and Guide Information

Contact information

Jason Soohoo:  Secondary and Higher Education, Computer Science, Mathematics, and Sports and Movement Science Research and Instruction Librarian. jsoohoo@salemstate.edu  

978.542.6967 Please contact him to request instructional sessions and for research assistance for his subject specialist areas. 

Rukmal Ryder: Reference Services and Childhood Education and Care Research and Instruction librarian. She is available for library instruction sessions in the Childhood Education and Care department and for research assistance. Schedule an appointment here. 

rryder@salemstate.edu | 978.542.6767

This guide is created and maintained by Rukmal Ryder

Salem State University Library

ABCmouse.com on campus access