Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Education Resource Area: Black History Month February

Located in the Salem State University library (2nd floor). ERA provides resources and services to support education programs at Salem State University. The collection includes curriculum, lesson planning, assessment, educational research books and kits.

Black History Month Display

 

 

African American Children's Books Collection. Resources from the Teaching Books Database

African Global Collection. Resources from the Teaching Books Database

African American Poetry for Children

Coretta Scott Award Winning Books

African Collection

Celebrate African American Heritage and Culture



  • Educ. Res. E 128.9 .N4 A5347 2020 Anderson, Beth Lizzie demands a seat! : Elizabeth Jennings fights for streetcar rights


  • Educ. Res. E 175.5 .W65 H67 2019 Hopkinson, Deborah Carter reads the newspaper


  • Educ. Res. E 185.97 .K5 W588 2019 Wittenstein, Barry A place to land :  Martin Luther King Jr. and the speech that inspired a Nation


  • Educ. Res. E 185.97 .S36 W43 2017 Weatherford, Carole Boston Schomburg : the man who built a library


  • Educ. Res. E 185.97 .T8 S34 2018 Schmidt, Gary D. So tall within : Sojourner Truth's long walk toward freedom


  • Educ. Res. E 185.97 .W55 B35 2019 Bailey, Diane Ida B. Wells


  • Educ. Res. E 450 .B873 2020 Weatherford, Carole Boston Box : Henry Brown mails himself to freedom


  • Educ. Res. E 840.8 .C48 C43 2020 Chambers, Veronica Shirley Chisholm is a verb


  • Educ. Res. F 379 .N553 B757 2021 Magoon, Kekla Ruby Bridges


  • Educ. Res. F 379 .N59 N4345 2020 Bridges, Ruby This is your time


  • Educ. Res. F 444 .C68 B69 2019 Boyce, Jo Ann Allen This promise of change : one girl's story in the fight for school equality


  • Educ. Res. GV 884.3 .B39 B79 2020 Bryant, Jennifer Above the rim : how Elgin Baylor changed basketball


  • Educ. Res. GV 1144.2 .M84 A3 2019 Muhammad, Ibtihaj Proud : living my American dream


  • Educ. Res. JK 1898 .D56 2020 Dionne, Evette Lifting as we climb : Black women's battle for the ballot box


  • Educ. Res. KF 8745 .M34 W56 2019 Winter, Jonah Thurgood


  • Educ. Res. LB 2844.1 .P6 W35 2020 Wallace, Sandra Neil The teachers march! : how Selma's teachers changed history


  • Educ. Res. ML 3531 .W43 2018 Weatherford, Carole Boston The roots of rap : 16 bars on the 4 pillars of hip-hop


  • Educ. Res. ML 3930 .F68 W43 2020 Weatherford, Carole Boston Respect : Aretha Franklin, the queen of soul


  • Educ. Res. NA 737 .F735 L96 2020 Lyons, Kelly Starling Dream builder : the story of architect Philip Freelon


  • Educ. Res. NC 975.5 .B79 A2 2019 Bryan, Ashley Infinite hope : a black artist's journey from World War II to peace


  • Educ. Res. PN 4874 .P367 C55 2020 Cline-Ransome, Lesa The power of her pen : the story of groundbreaking journalist Ethel L. Payne


  • Educ. Res. PS 3503 .R7244 Z885 2020 Slade, Suzanne Exquisite : the poetry and life of Gwendolyn Brooks


  • Educ. Res. PS 3551 .N464 Z6934 2019 Hegedus, Bethany Rise : from caged bird to poet of the people, Maya Angelou


  • Educ. Res. PS 3601 .L35388 U53 2019 Alexander, Kwame The undefeated


  • Educ. Res. PS 3612 .E5594 A6 2020 León, Amyra Concrete kids


  • Educ. Res. PZ 7 .B26154 Cro 2017 Barnes, Derrick D. Crown : an ode to the fresh cut


  • Educ. Res. PZ 7 .M512765 Eve 2020 Medina, Meg Evelyn Del Rey is moving away


  • Educ. Res. PZ 7.1 .L6235 For 2019 Lockington, Mariama For black girls like me


  • Educ. Res. PZ 7.1 .S7546 Cle 2020e Stone, Nic Clean getaway


  • Educ. Res. PZ 7.1 .S7546 Sh 2020 Stone, Nic Shuri : a Black Panther novel


  • Educ. Res. PZ 7.7 .C734 Cl 2020 Craft, Jerry Class act


  • Educ. Res. QA 27.5 .S548 2018 Shetterly, Margot Lee Hidden figures : the true story of four Black women and the space race


  • Jeffers, Honorée Fanonne The age of Phillis

  • African America and African Global Children's Books Resources