While our collections must be treated with special care, materials may be viewed by Salem State faculty, staff, students as well as outside scholars, public historians, genealogists, and interested members of the community. Use of these collections is strongly encouraged and visitors to the Archives & Special Collections are always welcome by appointment.
Many items from our collections, including photographs, booklets, and yearbooks, have been digitized and made accessible online. Before requesting an appointment search our Digital Collections for the materials you are interested in.
The Reading Room is available year-round by appointment between the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Tuesday - Thursday. To arrange and plan your visit, please contact the archivist, Susan Edwards by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please note that research visits and durations may be limited due to staff availability and health and safety protocols.
The Archives & Special Collections Reading Room is located in Room G001 on the ground floor of Salem State's Frederick E. Berry Library. In order to access the Archives, please enter the Library from the main level and descend either the stairs or elevator adjacent to the Library Help Desk to the ground floor. The Reading Room is not accessible through the Learning Commons.
⮕ We strongly suggest contacting the Archives prior to your visit, so that we can better serve you by having materials and staff available for your arrival. If you are unable to keep a scheduled appointment, please let us know in a timely manner so that we may accommodate other researchers.
The Salem State University Archives and Special Collections welcomes opportunities to collaborate with faculty in providing hands-on learning experiences using primary sources and archival materials. Our Reading Room can comfortably accommodate up to 20 students. Please note that capacity may be limited due to health and safety protocols.
Copyright and Reproductions
Reading Room Rules
No food or drink allowed
All items must remain in the Reading Room; collections do not circulate and are not available for loan
Keep bags, coats, and belongings off of the tables
Handle all items with clean, dry hands
Handle all items with care
Do not lean on or write on top of items
Do not write on, mark, fold, or alter archival materials in any way
Keep items and folders in the original order received
Only use pencil while in the Reading Room
Photography of archival materials is allowed for personal use, some restrictions may apply
Laptops, smart phones, and tablets are permitted; all electronics must be silenced
Preparing for your visit
Salem State Visitor Parking
Information on visitor parking locations and permits
Upon request, a temporary parking pass will be provided for visitors to the Archives
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons
Information about Salem State's library
What is an Archives?
A quick introduction to Archives and their history by the Society of American Archivists
Visiting an Archives
Using Archives: Guide to Effective Research by the Society of American Archivists
Primary Sources in the Classroom
The National Archives shares several helpful tips on how to find primary sources and apply them to any classroom setting
Primary Source Analysis Tool
A collection of teaching guides to help when working with different types of primary resources
ACT UP - Evaluation Method
ACT UP was created by Salem State Librarian Dawn Stahura as an updated method for evaluating sources.
The Research Process
A guide to college research and presentation resources available at Salem State's library
The Research Process Tutorial
A video tutorial introduction to successful research techniques using resources provided by Salem State's library
Explaining Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources
Information on distinguishing between different types of sources and examples of how they're used
A free app that creates searchable PDFs using your cell phone's camera
Copyright, Fair Use, and Plagiarism
A guide to avoiding plagiarism and copyright infringement by using proper citations