Research Guides: Archives and Special Collections: Helpful Links

University History Sources

History of Salem State University
Overview of the history Salem State University and its predecessor institutions
Salem Normal School, 1854-1905 by Joan M. Maloney
An in depth history of Salem State's predecessor Salem Normal School
Salem Teachers College, 1933-1960 by William O. Thompson
An in depth history of Salem State's predecessor Salem Teacher's College
Looking Back Moving Forward: Meet the Presidents of Salem State University
A guide to Salem State's former presidents compiled by the Salem State University Alumni Association Board of Directors
150th Anniversary Timeline
A timeline spotlighting the history of Salem State, in context with world events (Pages 34-40)
Salem Normal School Publications
A collection of publications related to the history and operations of Salem Normal School
College Catalogs
Catalogs from the Salem Normal School and Salem Teachers College, 1856-1960
Proceedings of the Quarter-Centennial Celebration of the State Normal School, 1880
This publication includes correspondence from alumnae about their careers, the Report of the Principal (Daniel Hagar), a tribute to former Principal Alpheus Crosby, and the proceedings of the Salem Normal School Association's Triennial Convention
Historical Sketch read at the Dedication of the New Building, 1897
This publication is a historical overview of the history of the Salem Normal Normal School from 1854-1896. It was written by Ellen Dodge, a longtime faculty member at the school. The Salem Normal School moved from downtown Salem to its current location in South Salem in 1896
Examinations and Graduation Programs, 1855-1860
Programs for the examination and graduation exercises of the Salem Normal School
Yearbooks
Yearbooks from the Salem Normal School, Salem Teachers College, and Salem State College
Charlotte Forten
Charlotte Forten, class of 1856, was Salem State's first African American graduate. During her life, she was an abolitionist, educator, writer, poet, translator, and women’s rights activist
Salem Statement by Salem State University Alumni
Salem State's Alumni Magazine

Local History Sources

American Ancestors
Family history resources made available by the New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS)
American Broadsides and Ephemera
These are digitized facsimiles from the American Antiquarian Society's collections
The database includes 18,000 broadsides printed between 1820-1900, and 15,000 pieces of ephemera, printed between 1760-1900
America's Historical Newspapers
Database available through Salem State of early American newspapers
Archives at Your Finger Tips
Database of National Park Service documents, photographs, and reports include those of Salem Maritime National Historic Site
Diaries of William Bentley (HathiTrust)
Detailed diaries of happenings in Salem, written by the pastor of the East Church between 1784-1819
Digital Commonwealth
Provides access to images, documents, and recordings that have been digitized by the Boston Public Library for archives, museums, organizations, and libraries in Massachusetts
Digital Public Library of America
Digitized primary sources from libraries, museums, archives, and cultural institutions across the United States
Essex County Probate Records (American Ancestors)
Probate records filed in Essex County between 1638-1881
Essex Institute Historical Collection
Publication on local history by the Essex Institute, available volumes date between 1869-1924
Publication continued until 1993 and editions after 1924 are available for viewing in the Reading Room
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world
Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)
Survey of historic properties begun in 1933 and operated through the National Park Service
Historical Newspapers: The Boston Globe (ProQuest)
Database of Boston Globe newspapers between 1872-1986
House Histories of Historic Salem, Inc.
Database of over 600 histories of Salem homes and buildings created by Historic Salem, Inc.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
American Memory is now integrated into the Library of Congress' digital collections of documents, letters, diaries, photographs and recordings
The Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System (MACRIS)
Database for information and photographs of historic properties and areas created by the Massachusetts Historical Commission
Tutorial: How to Use MACRIS
Massachusetts Family History Research
Resource guide for finding Massachusetts records, including: census, land, military, church, and immigration.
Pickled Fish and Salted Provisions
Occasional newsletter focused on interpreting the history of Salem Maritime National Historic Site
Salem Ancestry
An annual gathering for descendants of Salem’s families and resources for those interested in learning about their family history
Salem City Documents (HathiTrust)
City documents and reports between 1871-1920
City of Salem Records
The digital archives for the City Hall. Includes the records of boards, commissions, properties, and departments
Salem Links & Lore
A collection of information about Salem, Massachusetts gathered by the staff of the Salem Public Library
Salem Public Library Reference Department
Digital collections of local history books, photographs, maps, city directories, Salem High School yearbooks, and more
Salem Witch Trials
Danvers Archival Center provides a brief history and recommended resources on the Salem Witch Trials and their legacy
Sanborn Map Collection (Library of Congress)
Fire insurances maps from 1865 to present
Southern Essex Country District Registry of Deeds
A database of homeowners deeds, engineering plans, and atlases from Southern Essex County