Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Library Updates: Services During the Coronavirus Outbreak

Updated August 3, 2021

 

Berry Library and Learning Commons: Hours and Access Rules

 

The Berry Library and Learning Commons is open Monday through Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM with virtual hours from 5 PM to 8 PM, Monday through Thursday. See library hours for more information about the building hours for each day and the hours for our virtual services. 

  • Beginning Monday, July 12, 2021, the library will no longer require a Salem State ID card to enter. The library will be open to all with enhanced cleaning, social distancing guidelines, and mask requirements in place (see below).
  • *NEW* Beginning Thursday, August 5, 2021, Salem State is reinstating an indoor mask mandate for all community members (students, employees, guests) regardless of vaccination status. Masks are required in all indoor public spaces, and are recommended in outdoor locations if individuals are not able to socially distance.
  • *NEW* Although masks are required, you may lower your mask to enjoy food (snacks) and drinks in the library as long as you are seating and social distancing. Food and drink may also be enjoyed at the tables in the ground floor café area of the learning commons.  
  • University Archives & Special Collections remains closed to in-person research this summer and will continue to assist researchers remotely.
  • Librarians are available to provide instruction to classes in various virtual formats and provide individual, in-depth research help over email, phone and Zoom. Contact your librarian to learn more.

Online Requesting and Pick-up of Requested Items

Currently library users are able to view and place requests for books, dvds, and other materials via the NOBLE library catalog. (Please note SSU students are only able to use videos items such as DVDs within the library.) To request items for pickup simply find an item in the catalog and click on place hold. For faster service, make sure you request the Salem State copy, but you may request books from any active library in NOBLE. You can also call the library at 978-542-6230 or email libraryhelp@salemstate.edu and ask a staff member to put items on hold for you.

  1. Place holds on items using the NOBLE library catalog or by contacting the library during operational hours above. You'll need your library barcode number (on the back of your ClipperCard) and your NOBLE password. Click on "forgot PIN" to request or reset your password.  
  2. Wait for notification via email that your holds are ready for pick-up.
  3. Come to the library during open hours Monday through Friday. The pick-up shelves are located on the 1st floor of the Learning Commons, just outside the entrance to the library. Please wear a mask and follow social distancing guidelines.
  4. Pick up the paper bag labeled with your name. Make sure to check the receipt on the bag to make sure they are your items.

Summary of Virtual Services

The Berry Library is always here for you virtually with services and electronic resources available for you to access remotely.

 

Virtual Library Help Desk

Please send your library questions to libraryhelp@salemstate.edu or create a Library Service Desk ticket via SSU's online help portal.
You can also leave a message at the following phone numbers and someone will get back to you asap:

Library Help Desk: 978.542.6230
Reference Help Line: 978.542.6766

New! For library in-person patrons: consult with a research and instruction librarian or a staff member for library/reference and research services virtually using HyFlex technology in room 109A. For more directions ask at the Library Help Desk on the 1st floor.

 

Faculty Online Guide to the Library and Online Workshops 

This online guide for faculty has been updated to provide additional how-to instructions regarding the use of online library resources and course materials as faculty bring their courses online. For additional help, contact the subject librarian for your department. 

 

Book Drops are Open

Book drop boxes are open and available at both entrances to the library for the return of books and materials. Materials will be retrieved and checked in every business day, but please note that a returned book may continue to appear on your library record for a few days if you return it Friday through Sunday. If you see a book you returned remain on your record more than a week after you returned it, please report it by submitting a Library Service Desk ticket and someone will get back to you.  

Please note: All returned books are quarantined for a minimum of 72 hours before being reshelved or loaned out again.  

 

E-Books

This guide on how to find e-books provides links to sources providing access to e-books during the COVID-19 outbreak. In addition to the Berry Library's collection of e-books, many databases and publishers have made e-books freely available for a limited time. We are grateful for these additional resources during this difficult time.

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) 

Requests for Interlibrary Loan articles can be submitted through the ILL online request form by choosing "Article" from the menu, from links within databases, or by sending an email with your citation to ssu_ill@noblenet.orgBook requests (or other returnable items, movies, audiobooks, etc.) may also be ordered using the ILL online request form. Please send any interlibrary loan questions to ssu_ill@noblenet.org. All items are requested in the order that they are received.

 

Course Reserves

For Students: Search the Course Reserves database to see if there are any print or online copies of your readings for your courses. Print course reserves are located behind the Library Help Desk. Students must present a valid, barcoded ID/Library card in order to borrow items from course reserves. Students may check out up to two print reserve items at any one time. eCourse Reserves will be listed under the course reserves database or through your Canvas courses.

For Faculty: In order to support the current increase in remote learning, the Berry Library has launched a pilot project to supports Salem State moving to online. Upon submitting an E-Reserves Request Form, the Library can assist with creating e-reserves for courses by scanning print materials that fall within fair-use guidelines and creating ADA-compliant PDFs. These materials can be uploaded by faculty to Canvas or faculty can distribute them electronically to students via other means. For more information and guidelines, see details below or go to the E-Reserves Request Form.

Contact: Please feel free to speak to any staff member at the Library Help Desk for assistance with Course Reserves or contact the Reserve Coordinator, Jessica Fernandes at 978.542.6764 or at reserves@salemstate.edu.