"Based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies, this collection contains 340,000 fully searchable issues from over 730 historical American titles as cover-to-cover reproductions."
"Based primarily on the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), which houses a vast collection of American newspapers through 1876, Series 2 also includes titles from the newspaper collections of the Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and more than 90 other institutions. It contains several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 290 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers."
"Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles."
Key word search for "New England Tale" across all three databases in America's Historical Newspapers.
This search brought up "false hits" - books that were not written by Catharine Maria Sedgwick.
One result discussed "A New-England Tale" but said that the author was unknown!
See the revised search below.
In the revised search, the title of "A New-England Tale" was carefully entered, including all words of the title and the punctuation.
A second term, "Sedgwick" was entered to specify the work by Catharine Maria Sedgwick.
The results were more precise, but did not include the item in search #1 that discussed the book, but did not mention Sedgwick's name.