Skip to main content
Option One: Use "Discovery Search" to Find Scholarly Articles
- Finding scholarly music articles with "Discovery Search" involves:
- First, enter key words.
- Next, limit results in the left margin by dates (if desired), peer reviewed, and academic journals
- For example:
- Finally, look at the search results and read ones of interest:
Option Two: Search for Scholarly Music Articles in Research Databases
- To see more articles, try a new approach: search directly in periodical databases.
- Try these databases:
- Find these databases at the A to Z list of Databases link.
- Example #1: Searching Music Index for scholarly articles.
- Enter key words.
- Adjust limits in the left margin to select peer reviewed and academic journals.
- Check "Linked Full Text" to ensure that articles are readily available in the Library's databases.
- For example:
- This is a screen shot of some results:
- Example #2: Searching JSTOR for Scholarly Articles on Music Topics
- Enter keywords.
- JSTOR is comprised only of full text, scholarly journals.
- Therefore, you do not need to make adjustments in search results.
- You can, however, make adjustments for publication dates, book chapters or articles.
- For example:
- Example of search results:
Option Three: Browse Issues of Scholarly Music Journals
- On the main Berry Library search page, click "Journal Title Search" and enter the title of the magazine you want to browse. Click Go:
- This list shows all databases that have the Latin American Music Review.
- Project MUSE has most recent issues and goes back to 2001.
- So, I chose it.
- This is the journal.
- Browse by issue, or conduct a search across the entire journal contents
