SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New Popular
An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.
New
Access to full text newspapers, both domestic and international. Includes access to the Salem News from 2008 to the present as well as other local, Massachusetts newspapers.
New
Collection of ebooks from the American Diabetes Association.
New
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media
New
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
New
Full text of the Boston Herald.
New
Spanish language version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
New
Provides comprehensive access to trade,news, professional, and scholarly material from thousands of titles. This provides more full text coverage than Business Source Premier.
New
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

web address (no proxy): https://www.choicereviews.org/
New
Streaming video.
New
Streaming video.
New
Online journal focusing on education.

Note: You MUST register as a user using a Salem State University Email address to have full access to the journal.
New
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
New
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
New
Gale LegalForms offers a wide selection of essential state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms that may be customized for the most common legal procedures. These forms are used by attorneys and law firms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others.

Many forms are ideal for supporting legal tasks relevant to business owners, such as filing for copyrights, patents and trademarks, articles of incorporation, licenses, and more.
New
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
New
Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
New
Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
View tutorial:
New
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics.
New
A collection of Massachusetts newspapers including such papers as the Boston Herald and Salem News.
New
Collection of test prep resources.
New
The web version of the New York Times.

Note: Existing Paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.

Instructions for off-campus registration:
Step 1: Log into one of our other databases so that you have logged into the system.
Step 2: Click the link for the New York Times Digital Edition.
Step 3: Search for and click the listing for “Salem State University”
Step 4: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus.

Please Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button)

Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting http://accessnyt.com on the library's web page.
New
OntheBoards.tv is a first-of-its-kind portal for viewing full-length, high-quality performance films on your TV, desktop, or laptop. It functions as a streaming subscription service and an archive for ground-breaking artistic projects and contemporary performances.

The films featured on the website include international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again.
New
This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
New
A curriculum-connected, supplemental learning tool for elementary school educators
New
Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep is a valuable online tool library patrons and students of all ages can use for standardized test preparation, researching and selecting college and graduate schools, finding tuition assistance, and exploring careers. Help students in your community turn future goals into realities with test prep assistance for career certification exams, as well as, advice on resumes, cover letters, interviewing and networking, and so much more.
New
Collection of ebooks related to elementary school education.
Trial
Research Methods Primary Sources is an online learning tool for primary source literacy that can be used in classroom-based and online teaching, as well as for independent study.
New
Full text of the Salem News with content from 2008.
New
A large variety of how to videos that will help you learn to search our many library resources.
New
All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.
View tutorial:
New
Gale Interactive: Science is a virtual lab that gives students in middle and high school grades the power to see beyond static text and embrace learning outside of the classroom.

Going beyond textbooks and traditional science curriculum, Gale Interactive: Science is a highly visual online learning tool that takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the lab to the classroom. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources—like Gale In Context: Science and Gale OneFile—is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students in middle school and high school grades. Students can entertain their curiosity and inspire grade improvement through an experience that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics.
New
Created by a multi-specialty editorial team, Social Work Reference Center is a turnkey information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity. Content is organized in a way that makes it easy for users to get answers to questions quickly and easily.
New
Full text of the Sports Business Journal weekly and past weekly issues.
Note: Our subscription does not include access to daily issues.
New
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Please use your SSU email address to create an account so that you may access TeachingBooks.

View tutorial:
New
Online language learning system.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...