Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Sociology

A guide to Sociology resources and library research.

Citation Help & Tools

Links to online APA citation help:

Excelsior University's APA Formatting and Style Guide visit for basics, how to write your in-text citations and bibliography

Citing a Journal Article from a Library database will be especially useful for citing articles in your bibliography

 

Links to online ASA citation help:

Purdue University's ASA Formatting and Style Guide

The links listed down the left sidebar of this page can direct you to the help you need.  You can find help with in-text citations and your bibliography.  The link References Page Formatting includes how to cite a "Scholarly Journal Article."

See also this from the American Sociological Assoc.  Quick Tips for ASA Style

 

Links to online MLA citation help:

Excelsior University's MLA Formatting and Style Guide visit for basics, how to write your in-text citations and bibliography

Citing an Article from a (library) database will be especially useful for citing articles in your bibliography

 

...and you can find some citation management tools as well:

EndNote A free citation management tool able to connect with many of our databases/electronic resources. Visit our online guide.

Zotero  A free Firefox extention to help you collect, manage and cite your sources.

Mendeley  A free research management tool for desktop and the web.

For further help you can contact SSU's Writing Center.

Helpful Tips on Annotated Bibliographies and Lit Reviews

How to's and tips on writing an annotated bibliography or literature review.

Remember always check with your professor and the University's Writing Center can help you.

WHY PROPER CITATION IS IMPORTANT

 

·         If you do not cite properly, you are claiming someone else’s work as your own.  Whether intentional or not, this is plagiarism.  By citing someone’s work you acknowledge and respect their intellectual property rights.

·         Your list of works cited helps someone reading your paper learn more about your topic by seeing the original sources you used for your research.

·         How scholarly your paper is and how knowledgeable you are on your topic is shown in the citations you include in your writing.  Citations can reflect support for a point you are trying to make, therefore adding credibility to your arguments.  They make your writing more persuasive.

·         Citations, as long as they are relevant, reflect how deeply you have researched your topic.  They are an indicator of your effort.

 

General Research Guide.  Paul J. Gutman Library at Philadelphia University. 3 March 2008. http://www.philau.edu/library/researchguide/generalresearchguide/citation.htm