Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources - Sociology
OER Commons Sociology
Courses, lessons, textbooks, simulations, and more
MIT Open Courseware Sociology
MIT Open Courseware has undergraduate and graduate courses in sociology. Course formats vary, but some include, lecture videos, activities, assignments, discussions, and online resources for further study.
MIT Open Courseware Society
MIT Open Courseware has undergraduate and graduate courses related to society topics . Course formats vary, but some include, lecture videos, activities, assignments, discussions, and online resources for further study.
The Open University
The Open University (OU) Learning Space has, sociology units to explore. The units have user ratings, time it takes to complete the unit, and level of use indicated on the page. In order to use the complete courses and users need to sign in to keep track of courses. This site offers learning tools, such as knowledge maps and journals and students can print materials to view them.
Academic Earth - Sociology
Free online lectures, courses, and journals.
OpenStax College - Sociology
"Introduction to Sociology 2e adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories. The textbook presents section reviews with rich questions, discussions that help students apply their knowledge, and features that draw learners into the discipline in meaningful ways."
BC Campus OpenEd
A collection of open textbooks from British Columbia, this site provides access to a variety of sociology titles.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. A growing network of higher education institutions and systems are supporting the library and the adoption of open textbooks. Text books for sociology.
Classical Sociological Theory and Foundations of American Sociology
Text. The chapters in the book include Marx and Engels, Durkheim, Weber, and Early American Sociology. Oregon State University
Social Problems: Continuity and Change
"The book is a realistic but motivating look at the many issues that are facing our society today." University of Minnesota Libraries
Emergency resources during COVID-19
This guide from the library provides links to sources providing access to e-books during the COVID-19 outbreak.
In addition to the Berry Library's collection of e-books, many databases and publishers have made e-books freely available for a limited time. Please use these collections while the Library's print collection is inaccessible.