Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

How to Find E-Books: Overview

FINDING E-BOOKS IN THE TIME OF OF COVID-19

This guide provides links to sources providing access to e-books during the COVID-19 outbreak. In addition to the Berry
Library's collection of e-books, many databases and publishers have made e-books freely available for a limited time.  We are
grateful for these additional resources during this difficult time.  Please use these collections while the Library's print collection
is inaccessible.

 

If you have questions about accessing e-books, please either contact a librarian, e-mail Libraryhelp@salemstate.edu, or put in a
Library Service Desk Ticket at Help.salemstate.edu

VITALSOURCE BOOKSHELF

VitalSource Logo

As Salem State University moves all its courses online, VitalSource is providing free e-textbooks to students through May 25, 2020. You will be able to borrow up to 7 e-textbooks.

How do I access VitalSource Helps content?

To get started, visit bookshelf.vitalsource.com. Before you begin searching for and reading course materials, you will need to log in to an existing Bookshelf account with your institution-provided email address or create a new account. 

Can I download ebooks for offline use?

Yes! To access ebooks offline, download the Bookshelf app on your computer or mobile device. The Bookshelf app is available free on all major app stores. Learn more about the Bookshelf app here

Can I print my books?

In most cases, yes. However, printing restrictions are set by each publisher.

Is the Bookshelf platform accessible?

Yes. We take accessibility seriously. You can find our VPATs here, and relevant support articles here. We ensure all materials meet a minimum standard of accessibility, and the Bookshelf platform supports even more accessibility features, but publishers determine enhanced accessibility for their own content. 

How do I return a book?

Once you borrow a book you cannot return it however, if you borrowed it by mistake you can contact VitalSource support.

support@vitalsource.com

Tell them the book you borrowed by mistake.

Give them your account email and your full name

BERRY LIBRARY E-BOOKS

NOBLE Logo

E-books in the Berry Library collection can be found by searching the catalog and selecting Books (Electronic) from the All
Formats drop-down menu.

 

The use of many e-books in the collection has been extended to unlimited users at a time.

DATABASES THAT HAVE MADE ADDITIONAL E-BOOKS AVAILABLE

JSTOR Logo      ProjectMuse Logo   EBook Central LogoScienceDirect Logo

Online Style Manuals

From RedShelf: Create your own account using your SSU email. Selected eBooks can be accessed for free until May 25, 2020. 

To help students in need of APA Style guidance, tutorials and quick guides adapted from Academic Writer®, APA’s tool for teaching and learning effective writing, are now freely available through July 1, 2020. 

REDSHELF

Logo

Which students are eligible for no-cost eBook access?

Students with a .edu email address that are currently enrolled in semester-based courses at qualifying schools will be able to register for free access to eBooks (textbooks) from participating publishers.

How many no-cost eBooks can I access, and for how long?

Students may borrow up to 7 eBooks, and access will be supported until May 25.

I added the wrong book to my account. Can I delete it?

We are not able to refund no-cost eBooks accessed through RedShelf Responds at this time. Be careful to choose the correct materials before adding them to My Shelf.

National Emergency Library

National Emergency Library Logo