Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Endnote Basic: Citation Management: EndNote Basic

What is EndNote Basic?

 

EndNote is a software program that works with Microsoft Word to automatically format in-text citations and end-of-paper reference lists with your chosen style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.). The "Basic" edition is a limited, online-based version that is free to use.

The Basics

EndNote Basic is an online version of the EndNote software that allows you to save and organize your references as well as create citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word. You can sign up for a free EndNote Basic account and access your references online, or you can try the desktop version free for 30 days.

The best way to export items into your EndNote account is by using the Direct Export in RIS format.

Even if you see an option for direct export to EndNote listed as on option, use RIS format instead.

undefined

 

 

The RIS file will download into your download folder on your computer. You won't be able to open it and that's okay.

The file will usually be named with the database you found the article in. This is helpful to note so that you choose the right RIS file to export into Endnote.

In your Endnote account, click on Collect and then Import References.

 

undefined

 

 

On the Import References screen, choose the file you want to import.

For import option, ALWAYS choose Refman RIS.

Select the folder you want the import to go to.

Click the import button.

undefined

 

 

 

When you're finished, the reference will appear in the group you selected.

Just like with the databases, you will export items in Google Scholar using Refman RIS. 

First, you need to set up your Google Scholar account to export using Refman RIS.

Under the 'three bars' icon you will see an option for settings. Click that.

undefined

 

 

Under settings, you will see Bibliography Manager at the bottom of the screen.

Change the option to Refman.

Click Save.

 

undefined

 

 

Find an item you want to export into EndNote.

You will notice that Import into RefMan is now an option.

Click that.

A file called scholar.ris will download into your downloads folder.

undefined

 

 

The RIS file will download into your download folder on your computer. You won't be able to open it and that's okay.

The file will usually be named with the database you found the article in. This is helpful to note so that you choose the right RIS file to export into Endnote.

In your Endnote account, click on Collect and then Import References.

 

undefined

 

 

On the Import References screen, choose the file you want to import.

For import option, ALWAYS choose Refman RIS.

Select the folder you want the import to go to.

Click the import button.

undefined

 

 

When you're finished, the reference will appear in the group you selected.

You have two options for creating a bibliography from your EndNote references:

1. You can use the Cite As You Write toolbar for Microsoft Word to insert citations and generate a bibliography in the citation style of your choice. You will need to download the "Cite While You Write Plugin" found under the "format" tab. Just follow the steps outlined.

 

 

Once installed in Word, you will see Endnote show up in the menu bar.

 

 

2. You can generate a bibliography from your EndNote references online. Under the Format menu, select "Bibliography," choose the list of references you want to use in the bibliography, choose your preferred citation style, and select a file format for the bibliography (Rich Text Format is usually a good choice). 

 

 

 

You can save the bibliography as a separate file, email it, or preview it in a pop-up window, where you can copy & paste it into another document (Note: make sure your browser pop-up blocker is turned off).

Folders in RefWorks cannot be moved to EndNote along with your references. In EndNote, folders are called groups. You will need to create new groups in EndNote that correspond to your folders in RefWorks if you want to preserve your folder structure.

  • Login to your RefWorks account.

  • In RefWorks, locate the folder you want to export to EndNote.

RefWorks Click on Folder to be exported

 

  • In the References dropdown menu, choose Export.

 
  • In the pop-up  box, choose the Export Format: Bibliographic Software (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite):

 

  • When you click the Export References button a browser window will appear with each reference in a tagged format. Right-click in the browser window and choose Save as…. Save the export on your desktop as a .txt file.

 
Login to your EndNote Basic account in a new tab or browser window.
 
How to Create a Group in EndNote Basic
  • Select the Organize tab from the toolbar in EndNote Basic and click on Manage My Groups.
  • On the Manage My Groups page you can create, rename, or delete groups.
  • Click on New Group and a pop up box will appear asking you to name the new group:
 
 
  • From the Collect tab in EndNote, choose Import References. An Import References box pops up.
EndNote Basic Collect Tab Import References
 
 
  • Click on the Choose File button and find the .txt file you’ve saved on the desktop and select it. The file name will appear in the File box.
  • In the Import Option dropdown menu, choose RefMan (RIS).
  • In the To: dropdown menu, choose [unfiled] if you do not want to put the citations in a group, or choose an existing Group, or choose New group as in the screen shot below. If you choose New Group, You’ll be prompted to name the Group before importing the file.
EndNote Basic Import References To New Group -Enter a new group name
 
Once you click the Import button, EndNote will display the number of references successfully imported.
 

Additional Notes

  • Files attachments will not transfer from RefWorks to EndNote Basic. You can save the attachments on your computer and add them to EndNote manually. DOIs and URLs in the Links field will remain in your exported references.

  • The Personal Notes and User fields in RefWorks will not transfer to EndNote Basic. You can copy and paste this information into another field manually.

  • You cannot use EndNotes CiteWhileYouWrite in a document that contains RefWorks Write-N-Cite formatted citations or bibliographies. 

  • Folders in RefWorks cannot be moved to EndNote along with your references. In EndNote, folders are called groups. You will need to create new groups in EndNote that correspond to your folders in RefWorks if you want to preserve your folder structure.

 

 

Guides and Tutorials