Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Open Educational Resources: Library Resources

A guide for faculty to assist with finding and adopting quality Open Educational Resources that help reduce the cost of course materials for students

Library Resources

OER isn't the only solution to the textbook problem. Remember that using library resources in your teaching also saves students money and increases engagement. The library purchases hundreds of databases, journals, and e-books that are accessible to all students, faculty, and staff with the same Salem State login and password that you use for e-mail and Canvas. Linking to quality publisher content that the library already pays for provides access and reduces costs for students. 

Course Reserves

reference books

Need to place copies of a book/textbook on reserve for a class?  Visit the library's course reserves page for more info and an online form:

Course Reserves 

On the Course Reserves page you can:

  • Search for a course by reserve (by course, department or instructor)
  • Add a course reserve
  • Remove a course reserve

Reserve items can be library owned books, books you ask the library to buy (well in advance of the course running), or your own personal copy that will be returned to you.  (The library does not purchase textbooks, but we will put one on reserve if it is provided ie. personal copy or donation.)

For more information contact 978-542-7907 or 6230

Streaming Films

Films on Demand content logos   Kanopy logo

To search for films you can browse and access each of our collections directly:

Go to the Research Tools & Collections page of the library's website → click on Streaming Video

Or search the library's catalog for a keyword or specific title, limit results to "video streaming"

E-Books

To search for e-books:

Go to the “Books, media & more” search box on the library’s homepage and type in search terms for a topic or a specific title:

catalog search on homepage

This will run a keyword search for all formats of materials found at SSU Library

Limit the format to “Books(Electronic)” using the “All formats” drop-down option beneath search box; change “keyword” to a “title” search if you are looking for a specific title

 

ebook search in catalog

 

For questions about usage or to request the purchase of a specific e-book title contact your librarian.

Journal Articles from Library Databases

You are within fair usage rights if you share a scholarly article(s) in Canvas (for educational purposes) that was retrieved from a library database.  Since students have to login to Canvas just like they would login to the library database - authentification is being provided.

 

To search for scholarly/peer reviewed journal articles:

Go to “Databases” on the library’s homepage → See relevant databases for your subject area; search for a topic using related keywords or subject terms 

library homepage database link

 

To post a permalink to an article in Canvas:

Once you have done a search look for permalinks or persistent links or permanent links (different databases may use different terms) to post on Canvas – this gives the library stats on database usage every time an individual student clicks (this helps us when assessing what resources are kept or cut). 

EBSCO permalink example

 

These links will be labeled as such when you are viewing the article in the database or these links may be acquired when you email yourself the article (it depends on the database).  If no permalink is available, downloading the PDF and then posting it to Canvas is an alternative that works.

 

To search for a particular article you have a citation for:

Go to “Journal title search” box on the library’s homepage and search for the journal title in the citation.

journal title search homepage

 

If we have that journal online it will provide database links to it.  Use the rest of the citation info to track the full text of that article down.

journal title search results