Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources - Theatre & Speech Communication
Open Educational Resources
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Language Textbooks | Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network, these books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for world language studies.
B.C. Open Textbook Collection
This collection includes freely available texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative as well as books from other sources.
Theatre Online Resources
The American Variety Stage: Vaudeville & Popular Entertainment 1870-1920
Multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future.
The Show Must Go On! American Theater in the Great Depression
This exhibition explores Depression-era changes and their impact on American theater.
Working in the Theatre
Working in the Theatre is The Wing’s Emmy® Nominated documentary series produced to entertain audiences by revealing theatre’s inner-workings, profiling industry luminaries, and taking a closer look at unique stories that surround important work.
From the University of Florida College of Fine Arts, Charlie Mitchell and distinguished colleagues from across America present an introductory text for theatre and theoretical production. This book seeks to give insight into the people and processes that create theater. It does not strip away the feeling of magic but to add wonder for the artistry that make a production work well.
An Introduction to Technical Theatre
An Introduction to Technical Theatre draws on the author’s experience in both the theatre and the classroom over the last 30 years. Intended as a resource for both secondary and post-secondary theatre courses, this text provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices.