Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources - Media and Communication
Open Educational Resources
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Spanish Grammar in Context
Online grammar textbook developed by the Spanish In Texas project.
Language Textbooks | Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network, these books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for world language studies.
B.C. Open Textbook Collection
This collection includes freely available texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative as well as books from other sources.
Open educational resources for the Spanish classroom.
J-Lab is a journalism catalyst. As the news and journalism space is re-imagined, J-Lab helps increase the rate and spectrum of change.
Verification Handbook: A definitive guide to verifying digital content for emergency coverage
Authored by leading journalists from the BBC, Storyful, ABC, Digital First Media and other verification experts, the Verification Handbook is a groundbreaking new resource for journalists and aid providers. It provides the tools, techniques and step-by-step guidelines for how to deal with user-generated content (UGC) during emergencies.
The Data Journalism Handbook 1
When you combine the sheer scale and range of digital information now available with a journalist’s "nose for news" and her ability to tell a compelling story, a new world of possibility opens up. Explore the potential, limits, and applied uses of this new and fascinating field. Produced by European Journalism Centre
The Data Journalism Handbook 2: Towards a Critical Data Practice
What is data journalism? What is it for? What might it do? What opportunities and limitations does it present? Who and what is involved in making and making sense of it Produced by European Journalism Centre and Google News Initiative
Journalism, fake news & disinformation: handbook for journalism education and training
The current handbook seeks to serve as an internationally-relevant model curriculum, open to adoption or adaptation, which responds to the emerging global problem of disinformation that confronts societies in general, and journalism in particular.
Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication
Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication was written to squarely emphasize media technology. The author believes that an introduction to mass communication text should be a compelling, historical narrative sketching the *ongoing evolution* of media technology and how that technology shapes and is shaped by culture — and that is what he set out to deliver with his new textbook.