Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources - World Languages and Cultures
Open courses, currently offering Spanish I & II
MIT Open Courses
MIT Language students learn about French, Chinese, German and Spanish.
Antología abierta de literatura hispana
A critical anthology of literary texts from the Spanish-speaking world. A focus on canonical authors and an attempt to include voices that have been marginalized. Each text includes an introduction and annotations created by students.
Open Educational Resources
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Spanish Grammar in Context
Online grammar textbook developed by the Spanish In Texas project.
Language Textbooks | Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network, these books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for world language studies.
B.C. Open Textbook Collection
This collection includes freely available texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative as well as books from other sources.
Open educational resources for the Spanish classroom.
LangMedia "Language by Country" Collection
Language by Country videos focus on practical aspects of everyday life. They were filmed by Five College international students between 1999 and 2002. Some cultural information is out-of-date, but many of the videos remain linguistically useful. Transcripts and translations are provided.
Public domain audiobooks, browseable by language.
Language-learning website and mobile app, as well as a digital language-proficiency assessment exam
Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages. Site is no longer updated, but most resources are still very useful.
World Language Resources
List of resources (for mostly French, Spanish and German) compiled as part of a federally funded grant to identify open educational resources for World Language teachers in Maine
The Mixxer is a free virtual language exchange site using Skype by Dickinson College.
The Mixxer is designed to connect language learners around the world so that everyone is both student and teacher. Signup for free to find a language partner. Help them practice your native language while they help you practice theirs.