Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MERLOT provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. Browse by discipline or search the site. Limiters for type of material and education level are available.
Repository of open access materials from many sources. Includes textbooks, lectures, courses, diagrams and other supplementary materials. Of particular interest to History, it links to primary source materials in American Memory, the DPLA (Digital Public Library of America), various archives, and university digital collections.
HATHITrust Digital Library
Preserves and provides lawful access to the 17 million digitized items. Can be a good source for primary sources.
Open Access Books on JSTOR
Contains over 7,000 open access books on a wide range of titles. Searchable by keyword. Also searches open access journals and images.
Open Access Videos
Collection of thousands of short, powerful video talks.
Open Culture - Movies
Provides access to 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors.
British Pathe Historical Collections
Digitized collection of archival film clips from the British Pathe news service. Arranged topically.
Free textbooks available to anyone on the internet, as well as labs and visualizations and simulations.
Open Textbook Library
Provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) Library
The OAPEN Library is a repository of freely accessible open access academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
A discovery service for open access books, DOAB provides links to online books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks. Search and browse capabilities are available. DOAB is part of OAPEN.
Open Access Primary Sources
Please see the Primary Sources page of this guide for links to freely accessible digitized primary sources.
South Asia Open Archives
Digitized collection of open access archives related to South Asia. Includes newspapers, books, census records, etc. in English and 26 regional languages. From JSTOR and the Center for Research Libraries.
Open Access Courses
MIT Open Courseware - History
MIT faculty offer courses on 70 subjects in the areas of Ancient, North American, European, East Asian, and Middle Eastern history.
Open Yale Courses
Courses from Yale University.
Open Culture - Courses
Repository of online courses from the world's top universities available for free. Including 1,500 online courses from universities like Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Oxford and more.
Produced by The Open University, a world free open courses. Also includes supplementary materials such as articles, documentaries, and audio files. leader in open and distance learning, all free to study. We offer nearly 1000 free courses across 8 different subject areas. Our courses are available to start right away.