Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Psychology

Open Educational Resources - Psychology

Open Textbooks

BC Campus OpenEd
A collection of open textbooks from British Columbia, this site provides access to a variety of psychology titles.
Galileo Open Learning Materials Psychology Textbooks
This link shares open educational resources from the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials
Introduction to Psychology
Introduction to Psychology has been created from a combination of original content and materials compiled and adapted from several open educational resources. It is intended for a first-year, introduction to Psychology course. University of Saskatchewan.
Noba
Noba is an online platform that provides open, ready-made psychology textbooks and the opportunity to build a textbook from freely available chapters. Users must create an account to use Noba.
OpenStax College - Psychology
"Psychology is designed to meet the scope and sequence for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. For many students, this may be their only college-level psychology course. As such, this textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of psychology and understand how those concepts apply to their lives."
2nd edition coming soon https://openstax.org/details/books/psychology-2e
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. A growing network of higher education institutions and systems are supporting the library and the adoption of open textbooks. Text books for psychology.

Media

Antonio Damasio: The quest to understand consciousness
Every morning we wake up and regain consciousness -- that is a marvelous fact -- but what exactly is it that we regain? Neuroscientist Antonio Damasio uses this simple question to give us a glimpse into how our brains create our sense of self.
Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) BioInteractive Lectures
Here you will find videos, animation, lectures, virtual labs, and other useful resources in Neuroscience. Videos range from 25 seconds to 7 minutes.
PBS Nova Body and Brain
Here, you will find articles, slide shows, stories, and so much more about the body and brain.
TED Talks Psychology
TED Talks from experts.
The World of Abnormal Psychology AnnenbergLearner
One part of a video instructional series for college and high school classrooms and adult learners.
Hidden Brain (A Conversation About Life's Unseen Patterns) - NPR
Using science and storytelling, Hidden Brain reveals the unconscious patterns that drive human behavior, and the biases that shape our choices.
Hidden Brain links research from psychology and neurobiology with findings from economics, anthropology, and sociology, among other fields.

Library Streaming Film Collections

From Alexander Street Press, an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Featuring 400 hours and more than 330 videos.

psychotherapy.net
Videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, psychology and addictions
More streaming film collections
FIlms on Demand, Kanopy, and more

Additional Material

Academic Earth - Psychology
Free online lectures, courses, and journals.
MIT Open Courseware Psychology
MIT Open Courseware has undergraduate and graduate courses in psychology. Course formats vary, but some include, lecture videos, activities, assignments, discussions, and online resources for further study.
OER Commons Psychology
Courses, lessons, textbooks, simulations, and more
The Open Learning Initiative (OLI)
You can access course materials at no cost to the student or to you the instructor. Students work at their own pace, and can review modules before exams. OLI's learning platform gives the instructor targeted feedback as the class progresses, which helps provide a red flag when students need more practice or if they are mastering a topic. Instructors can help design and review course materials with the open learning initiative. Instructors can take a tour before signing up to use the platform.
The Open University
The Open University (OU) Learning Space has, Psychology units to explore. The units have user ratings, time it takes to complete the unit, and level of use indicated on the page. In order to use the complete courses and users need to sign in to keep track of courses. This site offers learning tools, such as knowledge maps and journals and students can print materials to view them.
Open Yale Courses Psychology
Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet.
Personality Pedagogy
A compendium of resources for the teaching of personality psychology.
The mission of Personality Pedagogy is to establish an online community of teacher-scholars which provides support and resources for the teaching of personality psychology. These resources include, but are not limited to, annotated high-quality links, examples, audio-visual material, slides, discussions, and documents. For any given topic the most useful links are provided, rather than an exhaustive set of links.

Emergency resources during COVID-19

This guide from the library provides links to sources providing access to e-books during the COVID-19 outbreak.

In addition to the Berry Library's collection of e-books, many databases and publishers have made e-books freely available for a limited time. Please use these collections while the Library's print collection is inaccessible.

Extra E-Book Access During COVID-19

Free, Open-Source Software

Statistics

Jamovi
jamovi is a new “3rd generation” statistical spreadsheet. designed from the ground up to be easy to use, jamovi is a compelling alternative to costly statistical products such as SPSS and SAS.

Office software

Libre Office
word processor, spreadsheet, slides, database creator, math editor