Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources - Biology
OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
E.O. Wilson's Life on Earth
Life on Earth is an iBooks Textbook consisting of 41 chapters in 7 separate units and can be downloaded for free from the iBooks Store.
Lumen Learning - Biology
Lumen Learning provides a Biology text with various chapters such as The Chemical Foundation of Life and Osmotic Regulation and the Excretory System.
Lumen Learning - Microbiology
Lumen Learning provides a Microbiology text with various chapters such as Cell Structure of Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukaryotes and Pathogenicity.
The National Academies Press (NAP)
This is a great resource that provides textbooks on biology and life sciences.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for biological studies including zoology, botany and ecology.
OpenStax CNX - Biology
Over thirty open textbooks covering Biology.
(retiring in two years)
Open Textbook Library
Browse a wide selection of textbooks on biological science topics.
HHMI BioInteractive Lectures
Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) BioInteractive offers lectures on biology topics, such as; human evolution, genetics, and reporting scientific results, that range from 30-60 minutes.
Here you will find lecture videos and educational videos that are 1 min-30 min in length, related to a variety of topics: evolution and natural selection, cell division, heredity and genetics, tree of life, cellular respiration, photosynthesis, human biology, and immunology.
LABS, SIMULATIONS AND INTERACTIVE RESOURCES
Biology Labs Online
Biology Labs On-Line is an open access web site that offers a series of 12 interactive, inquiry-based biology simulations and exercises designed for college and AP high school biology students.
The LifeDiscoveryEd Digital Library
The LifeDiscoveryEd Digital Library is an online resource portal for biology education in ecology, plant biology and evolution.
Virtual Biology Lab
Virtual Biology Lab is a free, online educational resource provided for educational purposes. VBL simulates natural environments with the way life responds to changing conditions.
Cell Image Library
This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research on cellular activity, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.