Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Archives and Special Collections

Salem COVID-19 Community Archives Project

 

undefined
North Shore Babies' Hospital, c. 1927
 
Share your COVID-19 experience and help us record history! 


Salem State University Archives and Special Collections is seeking to collect and preserve the experiences and reactions to COVID-19 by both Salem residents and members of the Salem State University community. Personal accounts can range from direct observations to artistic reflection and may touch on any number of themes. Salem community members might want to discuss the effects of business closures on owners and staff, how residents are helping each other in ways large or small, how health care workers, first responders, and other essential employees are coping with the pandemic, and how social distancing has affected relationships with family and friends. Salem State University members might want to discuss subjects such as displacement from student housing, working from home, the shift to online learning or teaching, social distancing or self-quarantining, or leading the university through the crisis. These communities might overlap, of course, and participants are welcome to touch on themes that apply to both. Records of your experiences can be in the form of a journal or blog, email, photos, videos, audio recordings, or social media posts.

If you’re a member of the Salem and/or Salem State University community and have been keeping a record of these events and how they’ve impacted your life, please consider donating them to Salem State University Archives and Special Collections. If you haven’t, please consider this a call to write and help us document this unprecedented global crisis. Please contact us at archives@salemstate.edu if you have any questions.

Three ways to donate a record of your COVID-19 experiences:

  • Donate a physical journal
  • Upload electronic files containing a record of your experiences
  • Fill out our questionnaire
     
    undefined