Skip to main content

Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Alternatives Library Collection

ORGANIZING / MUTUAL AID PLAYLIST

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Mutual Aid 101: History, Politics, and Organizational Structures of Community Care by CUNY Urban Food Policy Institute
ISBN: Website

Dean Spade’s seminal work, Mutual Aid: Building Solidarity During this Crisis (And the Next), defines mutual aid as “survival work,” done by ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances where government policies inadequately address crisis situations and even exacerbate structural inequities.

ORGANIZING / MUTUAL AID

How People Get Power by S. Kahn
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HN 17.5 .K34

ISBN: 0070331987

Publication Date: 1970-01-01
Printing It by Clifford Burke; Chuck Miller (Illustrator)
Call Number: Alternatives Collection Z 244.3 .B95 1972

ISBN: 0914728032

Publication Date: 1974-05-01
F, F, & B : producing flyers, folders, and brochures by Edmund C. Arnold
Call Number: Alternatives Collection PN 4775 .A75 1984

Publication Date: 1984
We interrupt this program : a citizen's guide to using the media for social change by University of Massachusetts, Citizen Involvement Training Project
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HM 263 .G63

Publication Date: 1978
Working together : a manual for helping groups work more effectively by Citizen Involvement Training Project
Call Number: Alternatives Collection JS 303.5 .B52

Publication Date: 1978
Power, a repossession manual : organizing strategies for citizens by Citizen Involvement Training Project
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HN 18 .S745

Publication Date: 1978
Playing their game our way : using the political process to meet community needs by Citizen Involvement Training Project
Call Number: Alternatives Collection JK 1764 .S63

Publication Date: 1978
Toward a People's Art by Eva Sperling Cockcroft
Call Number: Alternatives Collection ND 2608 .C63 1977

ISBN: 0525474269

Publication Date: 1977-01-10
Decarceration by Andrew T. Scull
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HV 9304 .S38

ISBN: 0131976575

Publication Date: 1976-01-01
Blockade! by Richard K. Taylor
Call Number: Alternatives Collection DS 395.5 .T39

ISBN: 0883440377

Publication Date: 1977-01-01
Inside/outside : an account of the Women on Wheels 1976 tour of California and women's struggle to bring their culture to sisters in prison by Karlene Faith
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HQ 1426 .F3 1976

Publication Date: 1976
From the ground up : building a grass roots food policy by Center for Science in the Public Interest
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HD 9000.9 .A5 C45 1976

Publication Date: 1976
The Grass Roots Primer by James Robertson (Editor); John Lewallen (Editor)
Call Number: Alternatives Collection TD 170 .G7

ISBN: 0871561425

Publication Date: 1975-10-01
Food Co-Ops for Small Groups by Tony Vellela
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HD 3284 .V44

ISBN: 0911104550

Publication Date: 1975-07-01
Bread: or Justice by Lawrence Neil Bailis
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HV 98 .M39 B3

ISBN: 0669911577

Publication Date: 1974-01-01
Communes, law & commonsense; a legal manual for communities by New Community Projects
Call Number: Alternatives Collection KF 1390. C6 Z953

Publication Date: 1974
Food Co-Ops by William Ronco
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HD 3284 .R55

ISBN: 0807008818

Publication Date: 1974-11-01
Beat the Heat by Berkeley ILS Staff; Peoples Lawbook Collective Staff
Call Number: Alternatives Collection KF 9223 .Z9 B35

ISBN: 0878670173

Publication Date: 1972-01-01
Young People in Communal Living by Denham Grierson
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HM 132 .G75

ISBN: 0664249264

Publication Date: 1971-01-01
A Manual For Direct Action by Martin Oppenheimer and George Lakey
Publication Date: 1964, 1965

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2025 11:13 AM
URL: https://libguides.salemstate.edu/alternativescollection
Print Page

Subjects: Special Topics

Tags: activism, alternative_assignments, social_justice, student-determined