Research Guides: Alternatives Library Collection: AMERICAN INDIAN MOVEMENT (AIM)

AMERICAN INDIAN MOVEMENT PLAYLIST

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

AIM’s Legacy and the Third Space of Sovereignty by William & Mary students
ISBN: Website
The American Indian Movement was the most visible activist group of the Red Power movement of the late 1960s and into the 1970s. The charismatic leaders of AIM promoted direct-action protests to draw attention to the problems in Indian country, particularly the numerous treaty violations for which they sought restitution.

AMERICAN INDIAN MOVEMENT (AIM)

"Feed the Indians to America. America will do the assimilating and annihilate the Indian problem" (The Road to Wounded Knee)

The Life and Death of Anna Mae Aquash by Johanna Brand; Warren Allmand (Foreword by) Foreword Acknowledgements Chronology Map 1/ Just Another Dead Indian 2/ Wounded Knee, 1973 3/ From Shubenacadie to Wounded Knee 4/ The FBI's Secret War on Dissent 5/ From Battlefield to Courtroom 6/ Douglass Durham, Agent Provocateur 7/ The Making of a Warrior 8/ Fugitives 9/ The Persecution and Execution of Anna Mae Aquash 10/ Quiet Canadians, Quiet Diplomacy Afterword Afterword to the Second Edition Sources
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 99 .M6 A693 1993
ISBN: 1550284223
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Alexander Brown
Call Number: Alternatives Collection. E 81 .B75 1971
ISBN: 9780030853227
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
The Road to Wounded Knee by Robert Burnette and John Koster
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 93 .B972
Publication Date: 1974
Alcatraz! Alcatraz! by Adam F. Eagle
Call Number: Alternatives Collection. E 99 .D1 E15 1992
ISBN: 0930588517
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Agents of Repression by Ward Churchill; Jim Vander Wall A classic study of govenrment repression against the Black Panther Party and the American Indian Movement.
Call Number: Alternatives Collection HV 8141 .C46 1988
ISBN: 0896082938
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Muted War Drums: Poems by Adrian C. Louis
Call Number: Alternatives Collection PS 3562 .O82 M8
Publication Date: 1977
Airlift to Wounded Knee by Bill Zimmerman
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 99 .O3 Z55
ISBN: 0804006911
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
Native American Tribalism by D'Arcy McNickle
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 91 .M26
ISBN: 0195017234
Publication Date: 1973-11-15
Who's the savage? A documentary history of the mistreatment of the native North Americans by David R. Wrone
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 91 .W76
Publication Date: 1973
Red Power by Alvin M. Josephy
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 93 .J677 1972
ISBN: 9780070330535
Publication Date: 1985-02-01
Tragedy Strikes at Wounded Knee by Will Henry Spindler
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 99 .O3 S63 1972
ISBN: 9780882490090
Publication Date: 1972-01-01
Custer died for your sins : an Indian manifesto by Vine Deloria, Jr
Call Number: Alternatives Collection E 93 .D36 1970a
Publication Date: 1970