The following e-reference resources are useful for getting reader-friendly, background information on topics of interest.
Background info gives you key terms associated with your topic making it easier to search for scholarly materials.
These resources can also help you with finding topic ideas or narrowing your topic.
Once CQ Press opens click on CQ Researcher. Browse by topic or conduct a search for a broad term. The results should give you related issues to consider focusing your research on, and you can link to reports on these issues that include overviews, outlook, chronology, maps/graphs, etc. Comprehensive, unbiased reporting and analysis of issues in America since 1923.
Electronic Edition of the NASW's encyclopedia via Oxford University Press.
This includes the Gale Virtual Reference Library, providing us with the Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood, Major Acts of Congress, the Encyclopedia of Population, and Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders, among others.
Includes: Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History of North America
And the following reference resources: Dictionary of the Social Sciences, Dictionary of Public Health, and Encyclopedia of Social Work. Click on "Subjects & Books" for a complete listing. corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=http://sk.sagepub.com/reference/socialwelfarehistory
Try a "Subject Guide" search for a broad topic like "Social work" or "Substance abuse." You'll get a list of related subjects and subdivisions of the topic that include links to resources in the database.
From Oxford University Press, online subject guides to the most important and significant sources in an area of study chosen by leading scholars in the field. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult. The citations link out to the sources via your library collection or through Google books and more.
Sage Knowledge (including reference collections)
Includes reference titles on such topics as: Aging & Gerontology;Counseling & Psychotherapy; Family Studies; Gender & Sexuality Studies; Health & Social Welfare; Social Issues; Social Work & Social Policy; and more! Includes the Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America among other useful titles.
Assignment Calculators/Planners & Understanding Your Assignment
Image from Giorgio Montersino via Flickr
Concept (or Mind) Mapping Tools
