Limit search results to Salem State University or to other local libraries
Adjust "Sort" to "Oldest to Newest." Refresh your Search.
Scan the results for items published in the 1800s.
Circulating books are shelved in the stacks. Rare books are shelved in the Archives. Microform titles are shelved in cabinets on "G." Ask for assistance at the Help Desk for use in using the microform reader.
Holdings in other Libraries in the NOBLE Consortium
WorldCat is a union catalog of hundreds of thousands of libraries worldwide. It contains holdings of most academic libraries and many public libraries. Search it to assemble a comprehensive bibliography.
Enter terms like "Lynn, Massachusetts and history" in the search box.
Select publication dates for 1800 to 1899 in the left frame.
WorldCat will tell which libraries hold items.
Even though a title of interest might not be in a library closeby, you might find it in a digital repository like the Internet Archive and the HathiTrust.
The Phillips Library is a major regional library of primary and secondary sources. Materials must be read on site. Anyone can search Philcat, the online catalog, to create a bibliography of local histories for reading in a digital repository like the Internet Archive.
Founded in 1807, the Boston Athenaeum has a rich collection of historical texts relating to New England history. Membership is required to use the library. However, anyone can search Athena, the online catalog, to make a list of local history sources to read in digitized collections like the Internet Archive or HathiTrust.
The online catalogs of these three institutions will list local histories of Essex County towns in the 19th century.
Note the citation for items and read the full text in the HathaTrust and the Internet Archive.