"The term “American” is an ever-changing, ever-expanding word, one that defies boundaries and disciplines, and American Quarterly reflects the evolving landscape of American studies. Within the journal’s pages, you’ll find interdisciplinary scholarship aimed at motivating discussion and embracing fresh ideas in the field. American Quarterly not only publishes traditional scholarship, but it welcomes innovative approaches to critical writing through forums, event and book reviews, and reviews of digital media."
"For over three decades, Cuban Studies has been the preeminent journal for scholarly work on Cuba. Published each winter, the volume features interdisciplinary articles on Cuba in both English and Spanish, a large book review section, and an exhaustive compilation of recent works in the field."
"The Journal of Latino/Latin American Studies (JOLLAS) is an interdisciplinary, international, and peer-reviewed journal housed in the Office of Latino/Latin American Studies (OLLAS) at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. The journal reflects shifting demographics, geographic dispersion, and new community formations occurring among Latino populations throughout the Americas. Through its special issue format, the journal emphasizes the collective understanding of Latino issues in the U.S. while recognizing the growing importance of transnationalism and the porous borders of Latino/Latin American identities."
"The Hispanic American Historical Review pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in its field. HAHR's comprehensive book review section provides commentary, ranging from brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture. Regular notices of the activities of the Conference on Latin American History appear in this journal."
"Explores Latino/a culture at the local, national, transnational and hemispheric levels. Includes páginas recuperadas, celebrating influential people and events in Latino/a culture. Illuminates the struggles of Latinas and Latinos for equality, representation, and social justice.
This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups."
"In addition to full-length original research articles from scholars and practitioners, Latino Studies publishes shorter ‘Reports from the Field’ that describe and analyze significant local issues, struggles and debates affecting the lives of Latinas and Latinos."
MELUS: Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States
"MELUS , a prestigious and rigorous journal in the field of multi-ethnic literature of the United States, has been a vital resource for scholarship and teaching for more than forty years. Published quarterly, MELUS illuminates the national, international, and transnational contexts of US ethnic literature."
"The journal is sponsored by the Society for the Study of the Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States. Founded in 1973, the society endeavors to expand the definition of American literature through the study and teaching of Latina/o American, Native American, African American, Asian and Pacific American, and ethnically specific Euro-American literary works, their authors, and their cultural contexts."
"Meridians: feminism, race, transnationalism provides a forum for the finest scholarship and creative work by and about women of color in U.S. and international contexts. The goal of Meridians is to make scholarship by and about women of color central to contemporary definitions of feminisms in the exploration of women's economic conditions, their political practices, the articulation of histories, geographies, cultures, and sexualities, as well as the focus and meanings of resistance and activist strategies."
"Small Axe focuses on publishing critical work that examines the ideas that guided the formation of Caribbean modernities. It mainly includes scholarly articles, opinion essays, and interviews, but it also includes literary works of fiction and poetry, visual arts, and reviews."
?The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion."