Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

SWK 703 Historical and Contemporary Perspectives on Social Work and Social Welfare Policy: Online Resources

Google Tools!

Setting Up Google Scholar Preferences

For a video tutorial CLICK HERE

For step-by-step directions in print see DOC below

History of Social Work

Social Work Pioneers  A database of pioneers in the social work field.  Provided by NASW.

The History of the NASW  A short piece from the NASW.

The Social Work History Station  A CSWE Millennium Project by Boise State University.

A History of Social Welfare  A digital collection provided by Cornell University.  Search or browse its texts, view timelines.

Data sets - Federal Government

Age Data of the U.S.  Data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. 

Bureau of Justice Statistics  U.S. Department of Justice site providing information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems.  Data used by Federal, State, and local policymakers.

Bureau of Labor Statistics  U.S. Department of Labor site providing data relating to the social and economic conditions of the U.S.

Families and Living Arrangements in the US Data Data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

CDC Wonder  Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Department of Health and Human Services. A single point of access to a variety of public health reports and data systems.

ChildStats.gov  The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.  A working group composed of 22 federal agencies (as well as partners in private research organizations) that collect, analyze, and report data.

HUD State of the Cities Data Systems  Data sets provided by the Department of Housing and Urban Development.  Data for individual metropolitan areas, cities and suburbs.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data  Site for archiving and distributing crime and research data, U.S. Department of Justice

National Center for Education Statistics  Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. U.S. Department of Education.

National Center for Health Statistics Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Department of Health and Human Services. An interactive health data site.

NCJRS  National Criminal Justice Reference Service includes statistics. Stats are found in articles and links.  U.S. Department of Justice 

Poverty in the US  Data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau

State Data Center  A data center provided by U.S. Census Bureau in cooperation with each state.  Search state by state.

U.S. Census Bureau  The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Policy/Law/Legislation Resources

In addition to our legal databases HeinOnline and Nexis Uni try:

 

Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute (LII)

A direct link to their Supreme Court Collection.  A research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School.

 

Massachusetts Legislature - General Laws Search search for MA law and bills

 

MA Trial Court Libraries  MA law resources by subject and by source also chat reference help


Guide to researching federal statutes (Law Library of Congress Guides) which includes by popular name option

Provides access to congressional legislation, the Congressional Record, and floor activities in Congress.  Goal of maki ng federal legislative information freely available to the public.    

Major Acts of Congress (Library resource)  Major acts of Congress explained.

 

Congress.gov  Legislative database of the Library of Congress. All laws passed by Congress and signed by the President.

Government Laws and Regulations  Popular laws and regulations

Congressional Research Service Reports  From the University of North Texas Digital Library this collection tries to provide integrated, searchable access to full-text CRS reports previously found on varying websites. CRS is the public policy research arm of Congress. 

Law Library of Congress' guide: how to research the legislative history of a federal law