Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

SWK 703 Historical and Contemporary Perspectives on Social Work and Social Welfare Policy: Databases - Find Scholarly Articles

Accessing Library Databases

Databases/Electronic Resources

On campus you will have instant access to the library's databases and other electronic resources.  When accessing these materials from off-campus you will be asked to log-in using your Navigator/wireless network username and password.


For additional databases visit the library's database page or Social Work LibGuide's database page...

Find a scholarly journal by title

owl searching with binoculars

Have the citation to an article and want to know if we have full text available at the library? 

Search our publications directory - if we do it will link you to it!  Or browse for journals in your field.

Legal

When searching for laws in MA you can also visit the site of the state legislature and the trial court law libraries for information (among other sources).  See this guide's page on Online Resources.

Library Database Best Bets for 703

These are some of the best databases to start with in order to locate relevant scholarly journal articles for your historical and contemporary social policy research.  

Depending on the focus of your research, additional databases could be useful as well (see links to more databases in box to left).  For example, Ageline database if you population is the elderly or one of the many psychology, education, health, or criminal justice databases depending on your policy or population.

Finding full text scholarly journal articles...

How do I know if the full text of an article is available ?

Library database results will have full text available in either HTML text or a PDF document. 

With most full text databases you should be able to print, e-mail, and/or save the article.

OR

Database results will have  button or similar linking option which can connect you with the full text in two ways:

  • A link to the full text of the article via another database that we subscribe to

OR

  • A link to an Interlibrary Loan request form is provided.  Once articles are obtained from another library the articles will be e-mailed to you (next day or up to 5 business days).