Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text

Psychology: Get Started

A guide to Psychology resources and library research.

TOOLS for Getting Started

Assignment Calculators/Planners & Understanding Your Assignment

wall of post it notes

Image from Giorgio Montersino via Flickr

Concept (or Mind) Mapping Tools

concept map example

 

Electronic Reference Resources

 

The following electronic resources are useful for getting background information on topics of interest.

CQ Researcher 

Browse by topic or conduct a "Quick search" for a broad term.  The results should give you related issues to consider focusing your research on, and you can link to reports on these issues that include overviews, outlook, chronology, maps/graphs, etc.

Gale Virtual Reference Center

Included in its "Medical" section, this database provides us with the Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders.

Oxford Bibliographies - Psychology

The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult. Each topic has a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. The citations promote discoverability as they link out to the sources via your library collection or through Google books and more. All articles receive multiple peer reviews and editorial board vetting 

Oxford Reference Collection

Provides the following reference resources: A Dictionary of Psychology; The Oxford Companion to the Mind; Dictionary of the Social Sciences.  Click on "Subjects & Books" for a complete listing. 

Sage Reference Online

Includes reference titles covering the following subjects:Aging & Gerontology; Counseling & Psychotherapy; Family Studies; Gender & Sexuality Studies; Health & Social Welfare; Psychology;Social Issues; and more.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Search or try browsing a topic.  You'll get a list of related subjects and subdivisions of the topic that include links to resources in the database.