ENG725: Mining Critical Theory Journals

• Social Text is found in various Berry Library databases.
• The following databases facilitate searching by keyword, subject heading, author, etc. to identify interesting articles.
  • Some of the databases allow you to view the full-text; others only provide bibliographic records (citations).
  • Specifically:
    • JSTOR identifies and provides the full-text of Social Text articles from 1979 to 1999. 
    • ProjectMUSE identifies and provides the full-text of Social Text articles from 2000 to 2004.
    • Academic Search Premier (in EBSCO) identifies and provides bibliographic records only from 3/1988 to the present.
    • The MLA International Bibliography (in EBSCO) identifies and provides bibliographic records only from 3/1998 to the present, with a 3-month delay.
    • SOCIndex with Full Text (in EBSCO) identifies and provides bibliographic records only from 3/1998 to the present. 
• If you have an article that falls outside the time span of our full-text holdings in JSTOR and ProjectMUSE, proceed to the "Interlibrary Loan" page in this guide. Our staff will have a copy of the article sent here, for you to own, from another library. If you have any questions about filling out the form, please contact Nancy Dennis (ndennis@salemstate.edu; 978-587-1312).

• The Social Text journal web site allows you to scan the contents of issues from 2000 to the present. 
• It does not allow you to open the full-text of articles. 
• If does not provide search capabilities. You must scroll through each issue. 
• This is not difficult. Issues focus on specific themes. 
• Do not consider paying for access to a journal issue. Submit an Interlibrary Loan request instead. It doesn't take long!
• Contact Nancy Dennis at ndennis@salemstate.edu or text 978-587-1312 for help. 

Step One: Search for "Social Text" in "Journal Title Search" on the Berry Library home page:

Step Two: Click on "Project Muse."

Step Three: When ProjectMUSE opens, scroll to the bottom half of the page, next to the "Social Text" cover page.

• Find the search box that says "Search within this journal."
• Enter your keywords. This ensures that your results will be from Social Text. 

Step Four: Browse the list of citations that appear.

• In this search, there were four results for the search "whiteness" and "class."

Step One: Find the "Academic Search Premier" database on the Databases section of the Berry Library home page and press "GO."

• Notice that this is a totally different approach from the search in ProjectMUSE. 
• We have to go to the database and enter keywords for the journal title and our subject.

Step Two: Enter your search terms as shown below.

• Notice how the drop down menu next to the journal title "Social Text" was changed to "Source." This tells Academic Search Premier to only search in the journal Social Text.
• You will note that I was able to expand the "whiteness" keyword, using suggested terms by Academic Search premier.
• You will also note that I have excluded "class," my second search term from the ProjectMUSE search. Adding "class" caused the search to fail in Academic Search Premier. Different databases index articles differently. Also, the four articles that discussed "class" in ProjectMUSE were much older than the articles in Academic Search Premier:

Step One: Go to the Social Text web site. Find "Issues." Click it.

Step Two: Browse the current issue, or choose another year:

Step Three: Though we cannot open the full-text of articles in Social Text, we can look at the full abstract. For example:

Step Four: 

Submit an Interlibrary Loan request for any article you would like to read in full.