Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

ENG725: Mining Critical Theory Journals

Going directly to excellent sources

New Literary History

Most Complete Access to New Literary History in Berry Library Databases

  • JSTOR provides a full run of New Literary History from Volume 1, 1969 up to six years ago. 
    • This is an "embargo" of access to the full text.
  • However, Project MUSE does carry recent issues of the journal. 
    • It covers 1995 to the present.
  • Using both databases will provide access to the full run of the journal.

 

Additional Database Coverage of New Literary History

Example #1: Search of New Literary History in JSTOR

  • The following screen shots take you through a search
    • searching for New Literary History in "Journal Title" on the library home page
    • selecting JSTOR for searching
    • entering a search term "colonialism"
    • using the drop down menu next to the search box, click "within this journal"
    • limit initial search set to articles published between 2000 and 2014  

Example #2: Search of New Literary History in Project MUSE

  • In the list of databases that carry New Literary History, select Project MUSE.
  • In Project Muse, enter search terms in the box that says "Search within this journal"

Example #3: Exploring the New Literary History Web Site

  • The New Literary History web site unfortunately does not provide consistent, open access.
    • It provides access to single issues, in a hit or miss fashion.
  • However, users can browse the contents of all issues and read the abstracts.
  • This might be helpful in developing your topic.
  • Under no circumstances should students consider paying for articles they find. 
  • Remember, Berry Library provides the full text in two databases:
  • Example of browsing the New Literary History web site:
  • At the New Literary History web site, click on "Access Journal Online" in the lower right corner.
  • This is also where you can link to free issues.

 

  • The Table of Contents for all issues appears. 
  • Click on an issue to see inside!

  • Clicking on an issue leads you to more links - to articles in the issue.
  • Choose one, open the abstract, and decide whether you would like to find the full-text in JSTOR or Project MUSE.

  • The abstract for the Becket article: