With most assignments you will find that you are expected to research and cite scholarly journal articles. Have you ever wondered why?
Learn about types of publications (newspapers, popular, trade and scholarly) through this tutotial offered by Northeastern University Libraries
How do I know if the full text of an article is available ?
Library database results will have full text available in either HTML text or a PDF document.
With most full text databases you should be able to print, e-mail, and/or save the article.
Database results will have button or similar linking option which can connect you with the full text in two ways:
Can you dissect this article?
A summary of the article including the study’s key points. Reading this can help you decide if an article is relevant to your research.
Typically includes a literature review which is a critical summary of what the scholarly literature says about a specific topic or question. It also covers why the topic is important and what the problem is that the study focuses on.
Contains what the author(s) did to try to solve the problem covered in the introduction. Gives detailed information on the research including participants, procedures, instruments, variables. Typically address how the results relate to the hypothesis or problem stated in the introduction
Covers what the authors found, a summation of data and an analysis. There are often tables and/or figures providing statistics.
What the authors think their findings mean, a narrative summary of the results. It may relate the results to previous studies, address study limitations, and give suggestions for future studies on the topic.
List of sources cited in the article such as books and peer-reviewed articles.