This page lists and describes databases for Business research at the Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases.
Extremely important source.
ABI/INFORM Global is a comprehensive collection of scholarly and trade articles.
ABI/INFORM Dateline includes elusive local and regional business publications.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry cites over 40,000 trade journals. Good for industry research.
Provides comprehensive access to trade,news, professional, and scholarly material from thousands of titles. This provides more full text coverage than Business Source Premier.
Note: Existing Paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.
Instructions for off-campus registration:
Step 1: Log into one of our other databases so that you have logged into the system.
Step 2: Click the link for the New York Times Digital Edition.
Step 3: Search for and click the listing for “Salem State University”
Step 4: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus.
Please Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button)
Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting http://accessnyt.com on the library's web page.
Profiles of both publicly traded and private companies. Provides summary of operations, list of executives, recent financial data, and key competitors.
Substantial reports provide industry snapshots, performance data, products & markets, outlook, major companies, the competitive landscape, operating conditions, and key statistics.
Three parts:
A) a database of current and retrospective information on financial, strategic, and historical aspects of large, publicly traded companies;
B) D&B's 20M+ Private Company Search; and the classification code for scanning indices.
"News" is a good place to find press releases of new products and services.
Use the drop down menu next to the Nexis Uni log to find the link. Facilities financial comparisons of up to 4 companies.
KBR provides 14 key business ratios covering all critical areas of business performance: solvency, efficiency and profitability. Ratios are broken down into median figures, with upper and lower quartiles. Ratios are arranged by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes which makes it possible to compare a business' operating results with those of specific competitors or the industry as a whole.
Among key business databases accessible online with an e-card are: Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Lynda.com, New York Times, AtoZ Databases, Capital Changes Reporter, Demographics Now, Mergent, Morningstar, and ValueLine.
This database includes ongoing full-text academic journals published in East and Central Europe. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities
