This page lists databases available for Speech Communication research at the Salem State University Library. If you access a database from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. To see an alphabetical list of all SSU Library databases, visit A-Z Database List.
These databases provide some general information about a wide variety of subjects. These are great places to start research.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions. View tutorial:
Provides a variety of source types on international issues including reference works, academic journal, magazine and newspaper articles, videos, audio files, statistics, and vetted websites. Full-text.
These are useful resources for finding biographical information.
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.
Looking for transcripts of speeches? SSU Library has full text of Vital Speeches of the Day going back to 1934! To find it go to the library home page and click on "Journal Title" in the center search box. Type in "Vital Speeches of the Day" and press go. Look for the database called "Academic Search Premier" in the list of full text databases and click on it. It will open a new window and you can search within Vital Speeches of the Day.
Another great source of speech transcripts is Executive Speeches, which SSU Library has in full text from 1987-2005. You can follow the same steps to find which databases hold Executive Speeches.