Skip to main content
Closed
Today's Library Hours
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

Berry Library American Literature Book Collection Research Project

1. American Literary Scholarship. PS 3.A47 1963-1994

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Harner: "indispensable guide."
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes

2. The Cambridge Handbook of American Literature. PS 21 .C36 1986

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Postive reviews
      • Barnett, Louise K. The Yearbook of English Studies, vol. 20, 1990, pp. 228–229. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3507541. Accessed 20 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3507541
      • Tulip, James. Australasian Journal of American Studies, vol. 6, no. 1, 1987, pp. 88–89. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41053446. Accessed 20 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41053446
    • Retain in collection?
      • Librarian (NCD): Yes

3. American Authors, 1600-1900. PS 21 .K8 1964

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Harner: "not recommended, full of inaccuracies."
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes

4. Concise Dictionary of American Literature. PS 21 .R5 1969

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Unfavorable review (first edition)
      • Davidson, Edward H. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 54, no. 3, 1955, pp. 451–452. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27706634. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27706634
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): No.

5. The Renewal of Literature. PS 25 .P6 1987

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Spector, Robert D. World Literature Today, vol. 62, no. 1, 1988, pp. 130–130. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40144132. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40144132
      • Lopez, Michael. The Centennial Review, vol. 32, no. 4, 1988, pp. 436–438. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23739279. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23739279
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Consult English faculty.
      ​​​​​​

6. The Unusable Past: Theory and the Study of American Literature. PS 25 .R44 1986

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Reynolds, David S. American Literature, vol. 60, no. 1, 1988, pp. 109–111. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2926404. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2926404
      • Davis, Robert Murray. World Literature Today, vol. 61, no. 2, 1987, pp. 292–292. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40143145. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40143145
    • Unfavorable reviews:
      • J. A. Leo Lemay. The Yearbook of English Studies, vol. 20, 1990, pp. 226–228. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3507540. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3507540
      • Nicholls, Peter. Journal of American Studies, vol. 21, no. 2, 1987, pp. 306–307. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27554868. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27554868
      • Spengemann, William C. “American Literary History: Some Still Unanswered Questions.” Early American Literature, vol. 23, no. 1, 1988, pp. 90–100. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25056699. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25056699
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
      • Provocative book that aimed to stimulate controversy.

7. The Transformation of Authorship in America. PS 25 .R52 1997

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:

      • Kramer, Michael P. “Imagining Authorship in America: ‘Whose American Renaissance?" Revisited.” American Literary History, vol. 13, no. 1, 2001, pp. 108–125. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3054548. Accessed 18 May 2021.

        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3054548

      • Evelev, John. The William and Mary Quarterly, vol. 55, no. 4, 1998, pp. 641–643. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2674459. Accessed 18 May 2021.

        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2674459

      • Claridge, Henry. The Yearbook of English Studies, vol. 31, 2001, pp. 307–309. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3509448. Accessed 18 May 2021.

        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3509448

 

  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes. 

8. Purloined Letters: Originality and Repetition in American Literature. PS 25 .R53 1995

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Bryant, John. American Literature, vol. 69, no. 1, 1997, pp. 209–210. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2928175. Accessed 18 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2928175

  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes. 

9. Wayward Child: A Personal Odyssey. PS 29 .G3

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable Mention in a Publisher's Note:
      • “Author-Title Index to Volume  Forty-Eight.” CLA Journal, vol. 48, no. 4, 2005, pp. 457–461. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44325287. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44325287
    • Articles on Addison Gayle's Contributions to Black Literary Criticism:
      • Norment, Nathaniel. “Addison Gayle, Jr.: ‘The Consummate Black Critic’ 1932-1991.” CLA Journal, vol. 48, no. 4, 2005, pp. 353–386. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44325280. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44325280
      • Martin, Reginald. “New Ideas for Old: New Black Aesthetic.” CEA Critic, vol. 50, no. 2/4, 1987, pp. 90–104. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44377411. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44377411
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes. 

 

10. The Writer in America. PS 31 .B83 1953

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • The American Scholar, vol. 22, no. 3, 1953, pp. 379–379. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41207665. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41207665. 
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Foerster, Norman. American Literature, vol. 25, no. 4, 1954, pp. 524–525. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921682. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921682
    • Article assessing Brooks' contributions to literary criticism:
      • Pritchard, William. "To Not Write Was Not To Be Alive." New York Times, 1 Nov. 1981. 
        • https://www.nytimes.com/1981/11/01/books/not-to-write-was-not-to-be-alive.html?smid=url-share
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

11. The Theory of American Literature. PS 31 .J6 1965

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • This is re-issue of the 1948 edition that the Library also owns.
      • Only the 1965 edition appeared on the "low usage" list.
    • Favorable Reviews:
      • Lydenberg, John. The New England Quarterly, vol. 23, no. 2, 1950, pp. 259–261. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/362088. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/362088
      • Cunliffe, Marcus. The Modern Language Review, vol. 45, no. 4, 1950, pp. 545–546. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3718981. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3718981
      • Hart, James D. American Literature, vol. 21, no. 3, 1949, pp. 364–365. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921261. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921261
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

12. The American Mind. PS 31 .P4 1968

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Historical Value
      • This is a reprint of the 1914 publication. 
      • Roberts, Samuel K. “Kelly Miller and Thomas Dixon, Jr. on Blacks in American Civilization.” Phylon (1960-), vol. 41, no. 2, 1980, pp. 202–209. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/274972. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/274972
        • Roberts cites "The American Mind" as an example of early literary histories that promoted the notion of a unique white, Anglo-Saxon mind:
  • Retain in collection?

13. The Shock of Recognition. PS 55 .W5 1955A

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Positive reviews:
      • Thorp, Willard. “American Literary History.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 52, no. 2, 1944, pp. 302–309. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27537513. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27537513
      • Wells, Henry W. “The Shock of Recognition.” College English, vol. 6, no. 3, 1944, pp. 179–180. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/370873. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/370873
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): No,
    • Confirm with English faculty.

14. Literary Criticism in America: A Preliminary Survey. PS 62 .D4

 

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Knickerbocker, William S. “Squire Allworthy's Foundling.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 40, no. 1, 1932, pp. 105–107. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27534734. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27534734
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

15. American Literature and the Academy: The Roots, Growth, and Maturity of a Profession. PS 62 .V28 1986

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Harner recommends this book for librarians eager to learn about the development of major literary reference works like the Cambridge History of American Literature and the Literary History of the United States.
      • It is a book about literary reference books, not a work of literary criticism.
    • Favorable review:
      • Alan Golding. “Institutionalizing Literature.” Modern Philology, vol. 86, no. 4, 1989, pp. 411–416. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/437986. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/437986
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Spengemann, William C. “American Literary History: Some Still Unanswered Questions.” Early American Literature, vol. 23, no. 1, 1988, pp. 90–100. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25056699. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25056699
  • ​​​​​​​Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
      • Useful for librarians.

16. Dissertations in American Literature, 1891-1966. PS 62 .W66 1968

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Helped a scholar identify southern dissertations
      • Michael, Marion C. “Southern Literature In Academe.” The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 32, no. 1, 1978, pp. 3–11. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26474625. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26474625
    • Recommended in James Harner's Literary Research Guide.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
    • Useful for reference questions

17. Contemporary Literary Critics. PS 78 .B56 1977; C PS 78 .B56 1982

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
    • Useful for reference questions

18. Definitions (Essays in Contemporary Criticism). PS 78 .C3 (See also Item #69)

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • This 2006 book is a reprint of the original 1922 edition. 
    • There is a 2016 reprint available.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty

19. Criticism in America: Its Function and Status. PS 78 .C7

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable book notice:
      • “Book Notices.” The English Journal, vol. 13, no. 4, 1924, pp. 297–300. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/802568. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/802568
      • Cited by articles on critical history:
        • Franklin, Phyllis. “English Studies in America: Reflections on the Development of a Discipline.” American Quarterly, vol. 30, no. 1, 1978, pp. 21–38. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2712277. Accessed 19 May 2021.
          • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2712277
      • Table of contents is interesting:

  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

20. The Republic of Letters: A History of Postwar American Literary Opinion. PS 78 .W4

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Smith, Stan. Journal of American Studies, vol. 15, no. 2, 1981, pp. 260–262. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27553982. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • ttp://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27553982
      • Hagen, W. M. World Literature Today, vol. 55, no. 1, 1981, pp. 109–109. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40135755. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40135755
    • Unfavorable reviews:
      • Pearce, Roy Harvey. American Literature, vol. 54, no. 3, 1982, pp. 464–465. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2925870. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2925870
      • Le Fanu, Mark. “Chartered Survey.” The Cambridge Quarterly, vol. 10, no. 3, 1982, pp. 250–255. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/42966374. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/42966374
      • Cain, William E. “Revolutionary Criticism.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 56, no. 3, 1980, pp. 567–572. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26436066. Accessed 19 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26436066
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Ask English faculty.

21. Neoconservative Criticism: Norman Podhoretz, Kenneth S. Lynn, and Joseph Epstein. PS 78 .W56 1991

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
      • Library does not have much in this area.

22. Contemporary American Literary Criticism. PS 79 .B6

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • “Book Notices.” The English Journal, vol. 15, no. 10, 1926, pp. 790–800. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/803863. Accessed 20 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/803863
      • Among the critics included in this work are: Spingarn, Mencken, Babbitt, Sherman, Brooks, Van Doren, Canby, and Macy.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

23. American Literature through Bryant, 1585-1830. PS 85 .D3

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Could not find reviews.
    • Richard Peale Davis is best known for Intellectual Life in Jefferson's Virgina, 1790-1830 and Intellectual Life in the American South, not this title.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No

24. Cyclopaedia of American Literature Embracing Personal and Critical Notices of Authors and Selections from Their Writings: From the Earliest Period to the Present Day : With Portraits, Autographs, and Other Illustrations. PS 85 .D7 1965 v.1; PS 85 .D7

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • This is a reprint of a classic of American literary history.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes

25. Trübner's Bibliographical Guide to American Literature; a Classed List of Books Published in the United States of America During the Last Forty Years; with Bibliographical Introduction, Notes, and Alphabetical Index. PS 85 .T78 1966

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • This is a reprint of a classic of American literary history.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
      • Useful to librarians

26. American Literature to 1900. PS 88 .A44 1987

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review of 1975 edition
      • Robert Belflower. The Review of English Studies, vol. 26, no. 103, 1975, pp. 355–356. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/513969. Accessed 20 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/513969
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorably reviewed in James Harner, Literary Research Guide.
    • Useful for reference questions.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes

28. American Literature as an Expression of the National Mind. PS 88 .B6 1955; PS 88 .B6 1973

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Leary, Lewis. “Studies in American Literature in the United States Since World War II.” Jahrbuch Für Amerikastudien, vol. 3, 1958, pp. 214–237. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41154683. Accessed 20 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41154683
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No
    • Confirm with English faculty.

29. The Cambridge History of American Literature; a Short History of American Literature Based upon the Cambridge History of American literature, 1917-1922. vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3, Vol. 4. PS 88 .C3

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Unreviewed.
    • Based upon acclaimed 1917-1921 Cambridge History of American Literature by Trent et al.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

30. The Cambridge History of American Literature. PS 88 .C3 1917

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Harner's Literary Research Guide explains that Trent's work (1917-1921) was the original Cambridge History. After a few revisions, it was replaced by the "new" Cambridge History by Sacan Bercovitch in 1994. 
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
      • Useful in reference work.
      • Historical value

31. The Cambridge History of American Literature. PS 88 .C3 1945

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Harner's Literary Research Guide explains that Trent's work (1917-1921) was the original Cambridge History. After a few revisions, it was replaced by the "new" Cambridge History by Sacan Bercovitch in 1994. 
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
      • Useful in reference work.
      • Historical value

32. The Cambridge History of American Literature; a Short History of American Literature Based upon the Cambridge History of American Literature. PS 88 .C32

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Unreviewed.
    • Update of the 1917 edition.
    • Based upon acclaimed 1917-1921 Cambridge History of American Literature by Trent et al.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

33. Classic Americans: A Study of Eminent American Writers from Irving to Whitman, with an Introductory Survey of the Colonial Background of Our National Literature. PS 88 .C35 1958

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Unfavorable reviews found Canby's scholarship and insights lacking; too popular an approach
      • Jones, Howard Mumford. American Literature, vol. 4, no. 3, 1932, pp. 311–313. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2919891. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2919891
      • Mitchell, Stewart. The New England Quarterly, vol. 5, no. 2, 1932, pp. 385–388. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/359632. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/359632
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No
    • Confirm with English faculty.
       

34. Intellectual America; Ideas on the March. PS 88 .C37 1968 (Reprint of 1942 edition)

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Brown, Herbert. American Literature, vol. 16, no. 2, 1944, pp. 145–147. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920373. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920373
      • Howard Mumford Jones. The American Historical Review, vol. 47, no. 4, 1942, pp. 897–899. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1841569. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1841569
      • Merton, Robert K. American Sociological Review, vol. 8, no. 2, 1943, pp. 227–228. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2085893. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2085893
    • Unfavorable reviews:
      • Thorp, Willard. “Intellectual Americans.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 18, no. 2, 1942, pp. 280–285. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26456856. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26456856
  • Retain in collection? 
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

35. Transitions in American Literary History. PS 88 .C6

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Thorp, Willard. American Literature, vol. 27, no. 3, 1955, pp. 445–447. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922179. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922179
      • Thomas, R. George. The Review of English Studies, vol. 7, no. 25, 1956, pp. 100–102. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/510770. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/510770
    • Mixed review:
      • Spiller, Robert E. Modern Language Notes, vol. 70, no. 5, 1955, pp. 383–383. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3039694. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3039694
  • Retain in collection? 
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

36. Transitions in American Literary History. PS 88 .C6 1967

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Reprint of the 1954 edition. 
    • See above for details. (NCD)
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

37. Articles on American literature and British literature: An Index to Select Periodicals, 1950-1977. PS 88 .C67

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Unfavorable review:
      • SGL. American Studies, vol. 23, no. 2, 1982, pp. 69–70. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40641742. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40641742
  • Retain in collection:
    • Librarian (NCD): No

38. Guide to American Literature. PS 88 .F46 1983

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Harden (Literary Research Guide) finds this work "...untrustworthy because of numerous inaccuracies and omissions."
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): No

39. First Printings of American Authors : Contributions Toward Descriptive Checklists. Vol 1, Vol 2, Vol 3, & Vol 4. PS 88 .F57

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Stoddard, Roger E., et al. The Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America, vol. 73, no. 4, 1979, pp. 495–498. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24302586. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24302586
    • Tempered reviews;
      • Payne, John R., et al. The Journal of Library History (1974-1987), vol. 15, no. 2, 1980, pp. 253–257. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25541098. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25541098
      • Harner's Literary Research Guide: "ambitious but flawed....Occasionally useful to those few authors not in BAL (Blanck's Bibliography of American Literature)
  • Retain in collection:
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Stoddard and Payne gave this work careful scrutiny. 
      • Useful in reference work.

40. Bibliographical Guide to the Study of the Literature of the U.S.A. PS 88 .G6 1959

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review
      • Marshall, Thomas F. American Literature, vol. 32, no. 3, 1960, pp. 345–346. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922095. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922095
    • Recommended in Harner's Literary Research Guide.
  • Retain in collection? 
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

 

41. Bibliographical Guide to the Study of the Literature of the U.S.A. PS 88 .G6 1963

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Holman, C. Hugh. American Literary Realism, 1870-1910, vol. 3, no. 4, 1970, pp. 410–411. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27747732. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27747732
  • Retain in collection? 
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

42. Bibliographical Guide to the Study of the Literature of the U.S.A. PS 88 .G6 1976

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Chielens, Edward E., and Harold H. Kolb. Criticism, vol. 19, no. 4, 1977, pp. 378–381. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23102676. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23102676
  • Retain in collection? 
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes
    • Useful in reference work,

43. The Classic Vision: The Retreat from Extremity in Modern Literature. PS 88 .K7

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Richter, David H. “Pandora's Box Revisited: A Review Article.” Critical Inquiry, vol. 1, no. 2, 1974, pp. 453–478. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1342794. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • ttp://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1342794
      • Kartiganer, Donald M. “The Criticism of Murray Krieger: The Expansions of Contextualism.” Boundary 2, vol. 2, no. 3, 1974, pp. 584–607. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/302685. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/302685

  • Retain in collection? 
    • Librarian (NCD) - Yes

44. Articles on American Literature, 1950-1967. PS 88 .L429

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Robbins, J. Albert. The Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America, vol. 65, no. 4, 1971, pp. 417–419. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24302036. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24302036
    • Tempered, but generally favorable review:
      • Harner, Literary Research Guide
  • Retain in collection:
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

45. Articles on American Literature, 1968-1975. PS 88 .L430

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Tempered, but generally favorable review:
      • Harner's Literary Research Guide
  • Retain in collection:
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work

46. Articles on American Literature, 1900-1950. PS 88 .L439

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Tempered, but generally favorable review:
      • Pearce, Roy Harvey, and Robert Shulman. Modern Language Notes, vol. 70, no. 8, 1955, pp. 605–607. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3040459. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3040459
      • Harner's Literary Research Guide.
  • ​​​​​​​Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

47. Expression in America. PS 88 .L45 1932

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Baldwin, Edward Chauncey. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 32, no. 1, 1933, pp. 119–121. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27703751. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27703751
      • Fagin, N. Bryllion. Modern Language Notes, vol. 48, no. 6, 1933, pp. 405–406. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2912542. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2912542
    • Tempered review:
      • Leisy, Ernest E. American Literature, vol. 5, no. 3, 1933, pp. 285–286. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2919652. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2919652
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

48. Literary History of the United States, Vols 1-3. PS 88 .L5

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Recommended in Harner's Literary Research Guide.
    • Favorable review:
      • Hornberger, Theodore. The William and Mary Quarterly, vol. 6, no. 2, 1949, pp. 290–294. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1919874. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1919874
    • Tempered review:
      • Aaron, Daniel, et al. American Quarterly, vol. 1, no. 2, 1949, pp. 169–183. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3031264. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3031264

  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes

49. Literary History of the United States. PS 88 .L52

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • See notes above for 1948 edition.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Need to clarify cataloging. How many volumes are there?

50. Literary History of the United States. PS 88 .L52 1966; PS 88 .L522

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Third edition.
    • See notes above for 1948 edition.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Need to clarify call numbers.

51. American Writers on American Literature. PS 88 .M3 1974

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Tempered reviews:
      • Mitchell, Stewart. The New England Quarterly, vol. 6, no. 3, 1933, pp. 642–646. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/359572. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/359572
      • Pattee, Fred Lewis. American Literature, vol. 4, no. 1, 1932, pp. 69–71. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2919529. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2919529
      • Pape, L. M. International Journal of Ethics, vol. 43, no. 1, 1932, pp. 93–94. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2378101. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2378101

 

Retain in collection?

  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

52. American First Editions, Their Points and Prices. PS 88 .M56 1976

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable mention:
      • C. G., and David K. Jackson. “Brief Mention.” American Literature, vol. 5, no. 3, 1933, pp. 292–297. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2919656. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2919656
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Useful tool for librarians.

53. The Territory Ahead. PS 88 .M6

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Carpenter, Frederic I. American Literature, vol. 31, no. 3, 1959, pp. 363–364. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922549. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922549
      • Feidelson, Charles. “American Literature from Two Points of View” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 35, no. 4, 1959, pp. 639–644. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26441579. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26441579
    • Retain in collection?
      • Librarian (NCD) - No.
      • Confirm with English faculty.

54. Main Currents in American Thought. PS 88 .P3 v.3

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Kaufman, Paul. “Main Currents in American Literature.” The English Journal, vol. 17, no. 3, 1928, pp. 260–261. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/803883. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/803883
      • Wagenknecht, Edward. “Death and the Scholar.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 7, no. 2, 1931, pp. 301–304. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26433770. Accessed 21 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26433770
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

55. Historicism Once More; Problems & Occasions for the American Scholar. PS 88 .P37

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Levine, George. “High Seriousness.” NOVEL: A Forum on Fiction, vol. 4, no. 3, 1971, pp. 283–286. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1345129. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1345129
      • Daniels, Howell. Journal of American Studies, vol. 4, no. 2, 1971, pp. 276–276. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27552957. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27552957
  • Retain in collection?

56. The Literature of the American People, An Historical and Critical Survey. PS 88 .Q5

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Thorp, Willard. American Quarterly, vol. 4, no. 2, 1952, pp. 176–179. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3031389. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3031389
      • Davis, Curtis Carroll. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, vol. 59, no. 4, 1951, pp. 501–505. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4245807. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4245807
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Lydenberg, John. The New England Quarterly, vol. 25, no. 1, 1952, pp. 99–102. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/363037. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/363037
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • A bibliography.
      • Useful in reference questions.

57. The Native Muse, A Storied Land: Vols I & II of Theories of American Literature. PS 88 .R8

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Baker, William. The Antioch Review, vol. 34, no. 4, 1976, pp. 505–505. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4637850. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4637850
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Ask English faculty.

58. Forces in American Criticism: A Study in the History of American Literary Thought. PS 88 .S55 1971

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Warren, Austin. American Literature, vol. 12, no. 4, 1941, pp. 504–508. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920573. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920573
        • Guérard, Albert. “FOUR WAYS OF CRITICISM.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 16, no. 1, 1940, pp. 150–156. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26456811. Accessed 22 May 2021.
          • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26456811
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Cohen, Morris R. Journal of the History of Ideas, vol. 1, no. 2, 1940, pp. 241–251. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2707336. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2707336
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

59. The Quest for Nationality: An American Literary Campaign. PS 88 .S58

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Warfel, Harry R. American Literature, vol. 30, no. 2, 1958, pp. 263–265. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922509. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922509
      • Gohdes, Clarence. Modern Language Notes, vol. 74, no. 4, 1959, pp. 351–353. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3040081. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3040081
      • Miller, Perry. The New England Quarterly, vol. 31, no. 3, 1958, pp. 428–430. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/362618. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/362618
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes

60. Voices of Despair: Four Motifs in American Literature. PS 88 .S8

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Taft, Kendall B. American Literature, vol. 39, no. 2, 1967, pp. 230–231. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922962. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922962
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Inspect hard copy.
      • Yes 

61. The Reign of Wonder, Naivety and Reality in American Literature. PS 88 .T25

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Spencer, Benjamin T. American Literature, vol. 38, no. 1, 1966, pp. 126–127. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923637. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923637
      • Daniels, Howell. “Literary Perspectives.” Journal of American Studies, vol. 1, no. 1, 1967, pp. 113–119. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27552768. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27552768
      • Marx, Leo. The New England Quarterly, vol. 39, no. 3, 1966, pp. 401–403. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/363965. Accessed 22 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/363965
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

62. The Three Masks of American Tragedy. PS 88 .V6

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Findlay, Robert R. American Studies, vol. 16, no. 1, 1975, pp. 79–79. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40641128. Accessed 23 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40641128
    • Unfavorable reviews:
      • Halperin, John, and Harry B. Henderson. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 21, no. 2, 1975, pp. 283–284. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26280347. Accessed 23 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26280347
      • Michel, Laurence. “Tragic Theory: Recent Exercises.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 84, no. 4, 1976, pp. 714–723. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27543183. Accessed 23 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27543183​​​​​​​
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): No.

63. Guide to American Literature from its Beginnings Through Walt Whitman PS 92 .C33

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection;
    • Unfavorable review:
      • “Brief Mention.” American Literature, vol. 49, no. 3, 1977, pp. 490–498. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2925024. Accessed 4 June 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2925024
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No.

64. Panorama of American Literature. PS 92 .W57

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Mixed review:
      • Amacher, Richard E. American Literature, vol. 20, no. 4, 1949, pp. 467–469. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921733. Accessed 23 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921733
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Notable for images, not analysis.
      • Historical artifact

65. Annals of American Literature, 1602-1983. PS 94 .L83 1986

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the library:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Harner's Literary Research Guide provides a favorable review.
      • Madsen, Deborah L., and Clifford A. Nault. Journal of American Studies, vol. 25, no. 1, 1991, pp. 127–129. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27555445. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27555445
      • Jean, Lorraine A., and Clifford A. Nault. RQ, vol. 26, no. 1, 1986, pp. 107–107. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25827782. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25827782
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Reference book useful to librarians

66. Chronological Outlines of American Literature. PS 94 .W4 1968

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Tyler, Edward G. RQ, vol. 9, no. 2, 1969, pp. 188–189. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25823761. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25823761
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Useful to librarian

67. Sketches in Criticism. PS 121 .B73

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to the collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Millett, Fred B. American Literature, vol. 5, no. 2, 1933, pp. 183–185. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920265. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920265
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Russell, Frances Theresa. The English Journal, vol. 22, no. 7, 1933, pp. 607–608. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/804212. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/804212
    • Article assessing Brooks' contributions to literary criticism:
      • Pritchard, William. "To Not Write Was Not To Be Alive." New York Times, 1 Nov. 1981. 
        • https://www.nytimes.com/1981/11/01/books/not-to-write-was-not-to-be-alive.html?smid=url-share
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

68. Definitions: Essays in Contemporary Criticism. PS 121 .V1; PS 121 .V2; (See Item #18 for 2006 edition)

  • Indicator of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Reprinted as recently as 2016 by Forgotten Books.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

69. Literary and Social Essays. PS 121 .C8 1968

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • An homage to Curtis, rather than a review:
      • The Journal of Education, vol. 41, no. 7 (1015), 1895, pp. 110–110. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44045313. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44045313
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Historical artifact

70. Reading America: Essays on American Literature. PS 121 .D66 1987

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Core, George. “Two Critics.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 65, no. 1, 1989, pp. 155–161. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26438296. Accessed 24 May 2021. (Relates to Item #76.)
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26438296
      • Allen, Michael. Studies: An Irish Quarterly Review, vol. 78, no. 312, 1989, pp. 434–435. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/30091422. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/30091422
  • Retain in collection? 
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

71. Literary Essays, 1954-1974. PS 121 .F3

  • Indicators of quality/usefuless to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Waldeland, Lynne. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 24, no. 2, 1978, pp. 265–267. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26282014. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26282014
      • Payne, Alma J. The Great Lakes Review, vol. 5, no. 2, 1979, pp. 83–84. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20172461. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20172461
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • ​​​​​​​Valuable anthology of writings on midwestern writers. 

72. Authors and Friends. PS 121 .F5 1969

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • This is a reprint of a book published in 1894.
    • Favorable review:
      • Fields, James T. The Journal of Education, vol. 44, no. 23 (1106), 1896, pp. 402–402. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44050914. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44050914
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

73. Studies in Classic American Literature. PS 121 .L3 1964a

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    •  Favorable review:
      • Jenkins, Lee M. “‘Studies in Classic American Literature’ and American Studies.” The D.H. Lawrence Review, vol. 37, no. 2, 2012, pp. 44–59. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/45176310. Accessed 24 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/45176310
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Includes material not available elsewhere.

74. New Dimensions in Popular Culture. PS 121 .N4

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • No reviews found
    • Cited by:
      • Mukerji, Chandra, and Michael Schudson. “Popular Culture.” Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 12, 1986, pp. 47–66. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2083194. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        •  http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2083194
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

75. The Grotesque: an American Genre, and Other Essays. PS 121 .O2

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Unfavorable reviews:
      • Malin, Irving. American Quarterly, vol. 15, no. 1, 1963, pp. 100–101. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710279. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710279
      • Griffith, Albert J. Books Abroad, vol. 37, no. 4, 1963, pp. 448–449. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40118220. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40118220
      • Socola, Edward M. Midcontinent American Studies Journal, vol. 4, no. 1, 1963, pp. 82–82. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40604975. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40604975rg/stable/40604975. Accessed 25 May 2021.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

76. American Ambitions: Selected Essays on Literary and Cultural Themes. PS 121 .S547 1987

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Pinsker, Sanford. “The Great American Book Review.” The Georgia Review, vol. 41, no. 3, 1987, pp. 602–611. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41399339. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41399339
      • Core, George. “Two  Critics.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 65, no. 1, 1989, pp. 155–161. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26438296. Accessed 25 May 2021. (Relates to Item #70).
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26438296
      • Mark Jarman. “Monroe Spears and the Judgment of Character.” The Hudson Review, vol. 40, no. 4, 1988, pp. 686–690. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3851151. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3851151
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

77. The Third Dimension: Studies in Literary History. PS 121 .S6 1965

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Buchanan, Lewis E. The Historian, vol. 28, no. 2, 1966, pp. 319–320. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24438489. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24438489
      • Marx, Leo. The American Historical Review, vol. 71, no. 3, 1966, pp. 903–903. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1846038. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1846038
    • Unfavorable reviews:
      • Daniels, Howell. “Literary Perspectives.” Journal of American Studies, vol. 1, no. 1, 1967, pp. 113–119. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27552768. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27552768
      • Kampf, Louis. History and Theory, vol. 6, no. 1, 1967, pp. 72–88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2504485. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2504485
      • Weimer, David R. American Quarterly, vol. 17, no. 4, 1965, pp. 760–761. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2711134. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2711134
      • Ketcham, Carl H. College Composition and Communication, vol. 17, no. 1, 1966, pp. 45–46. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/354064. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/354064
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

78. Selected Essays. PS 121 .W3

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • M.B. “Modern Fiction Newsletter.” Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 4, no. 4, 1958, pp. 365–385. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26277056. Accessed 25 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26277056
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes. Includes material not found elsewhere.

 

79. The Flesh and the Word; Eliot, Hemingway, Faulkner. PS 121 .W35

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Donaldson, Scott. American Literature, vol. 44, no. 1, 1972, pp. 171–172. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923896. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923896
      • Glenn O. Carey. American Quarterly, vol. 24, no. 3, 1972, pp. 324–325. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2711541. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2711541
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Langford, Gerald. Studies in the Novel, vol. 4, no. 3, 1972, pp. 534–536. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/29531548. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/29531548
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): No. 
    • Confirm with English faculty.

80. Poetry and Civilization: Essays by George Frisbie Whicher PS 121 .W47 1968

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Hubbell, Jay B. American Literature, vol. 27, no. 4, 1956, pp. 611–612. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922363. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922363
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

81. Seven American Stylists from Poe to Mailer: an introduction. PS 121 .W7

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • No reviews found, but evidence people searching for this book online.
    • It is an anthology of writings from popular and literary magazines of the twentieth-century.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

82. The Complex Fate. PS 124 .B45 1967

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Stewart, Randall. American Literature, vol. 26, no. 4, 1955, pp. 580–583. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921867. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921867
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Berland, Alwyn. The Sewanee Review, vol. 61, no. 2, 1953, pp. 322–328. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27538218. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27538218
      • Levenson, J. C. The New England Quarterly, vol. 27, no. 4, 1954, pp. 538–541. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/362123. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/362123
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

83. Uses of Literature. PS 124 .U8

 

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Fitzgibbon, T. Gerald. Studies: An Irish Quarterly Review, vol. 63, no. 252, 1974, pp. 429–430. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/30088777. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/30088777
      • Macksey, Richard. MLN, vol. 88, no. 6, 1973, pp. 1337–1338. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2907682. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2907682
  • Retain in collection:
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
      • Useful in reference work.

 

84. A Dictionary of American Authors. PS 128 .A43 1969

 

​​​​​​​

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable review:
      • Roy, Robert A. RQ, vol. 9, no. 1, 1969, pp. 82–82. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25823636. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25823636
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
      • Identifies obscure authors.
      • Useful in reference work.

85. A Dictionary of North American Authors Deceased Before 1950. PS 128 .W3 1968

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • No reviews found, but Gale is a prominent library publisher.
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • ​​​​​​​Useful in reference work.

86. Writers in America, 1842-1967: An Informal Glance at Some of the Authors Who Have Flourished Since the Establishment of the Davey Company One Hundred and Twenty-five years Ago. PS 128 .W5

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • No review.
    • Held by major academic librarians such as Indiana University and Stanford.
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Want to inspect physically.
    • Possibly useful in reference work.

87. The New Fiction; Interviews with Innovative American Writers. PS 135 .B4

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection;
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Markle, Joyce B. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 21, no. 4, 1975, pp. 662–667. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26281478. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26281478
      • Noble., Donald R., and Louis D. Rubin. “Southern Writers in General Studies of American Literature.” The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 28, no. 4, 1975, pp. 521–530. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26474290. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26474290
      • Samet, Tom, and Kurt Vonnegut. “Rickie's Cow: Makers and Shapers in Contemporary Fiction.” NOVEL: A Forum on Fiction, vol. 9, no. 1, 1975, pp. 66–73. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1345026. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1345026
      • Gelfant, Blanche. “On Interviews.” Contemporary Literature, vol. 17, no. 1, 1976, pp. 110–116. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1207559. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1207559
      • Baker, William. The Antioch Review, vol. 33, no. 2, 1975, pp. 115–116. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4637677. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4637677
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Minot, Stephen. “The New, Now Post-Contemporary Para-Criticism.” The North American Review, vol. 260, no. 3, 1975, pp. 77–80. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25099291. Accessed 26 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25099291
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes
      • Synthesizes interviews with authors.
      • Useful in reference work.

88. The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes. PS 138 .O 96

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Roemer, Kenneth M. American Literary Realism, 1870-1910, vol. 15, no. 1, 1982, pp. 141–143. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27746044. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27746044
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
      • Usefulness in reference work.

89. No Castles on Main Street : American Authors and Their Homes. PS 141 .K7

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Mudge, Jean McClure. Winterthur Portfolio, vol. 16, no. 1, 1981, pp. 105–106. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1180831. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1180831
    • Unfavorable reviews:
      • Evans, Oliver H. Rocky Mountain Review of Language and Literature, vol. 34, no. 4, 1980, pp. 281–281. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1347421. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1347421
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
      • The Winterthur Portfolio favorable book review is a more useful gauge of this book's intentions.
      • Useful in reference work.

90. A Listener's Aid to Pilgrimage of Poetry; Ted Malone's Album of Poetic Shrines. PS 141 .R8

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Not reviewed.
    • Contents note:
      • "The album of poetic shrines has been prepared for the radio audience as an aid to the program `Pilgrimage of poetry' which will be broadcast each Sunday over the NBC blue network, 1:00 - 1:15 P.M. EST, from October 15, 1939, to May 26, 1940." 
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes. 
      • ​​​​​​​Historic value

91. The London Yankees: Portraits of American Writers and Artists in England, 1894-1914. PS 144 .L6 W4

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection;
    • ​​​​​​​Favorable reviews:
      • ​​​​​​​Spiller, Robert E. The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, vol. 104, no. 1, 1980, pp. 127–128. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20091445. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20091445
      • Ferlazzo, Paul J. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 26, no. 2, 1980, pp. 324–325. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26280476. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26280476
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
      • Helpful in reference work.

92. American Women Writers : Bibliographical Essays. PS 147 .A43 1983

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Nagel, Gwen L. American Literary Realism, 1870-1910, vol. 17, no. 2, 1984, pp. 287–290. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27746158. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27746158
      • Hemenway, Robert. The Florida Historical Quarterly, vol. 63, no. 3, 1985, pp. 368–369. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/30146645. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/30146645
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
      • Helpful in reference work.

93. Ariadne's Thread: A Collection of Contemporary Women's Journals. PS 151 .A7 1982

94. Poetry by American Women, 1900-1975: A Bibliography. PS 151 .R4

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection::
    • Favorable review:
      • Biblarz, Dora. RQ, vol. 19, no. 1, 1979, pp. 90–90. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25826307. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25826307
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes. 
      • Useful in reference work.

95. The Book of Catholic Authors. (First series) Informal Self-portraits of Famous Modern Catholic Writers. Vols. 1-6.

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • No reviews found.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

96. American Catholic Convert Authors, a Bio-bibliography. PS 153 .C3 M37

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • No reviews found.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

97. American Foreign Service Authors: A Bibliography. PS 153 .D5 B68

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • No reviews found.
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD) - No.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

98. Survival this Way: Interviews with American Indian Poets. PS 153 .I52 B78 1987

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Milazzo, Lee, and Robert M. Willingham. “Southwest Chronicle.” Southwest Review, vol. 73, no. 2, 1988, pp. 275–285. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43470018. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43470018
      • D. H. Language in Society, vol. 19, no. 4, 1990, pp. 613–613. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4168196. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4168196
      • Parins, James W. The Journal of Arizona History, vol. 30, no. 2, 1989, pp. 220–221. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41695756. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41695756
      • Berner, Robert L. World Literature Today, vol. 62, no. 3, 1988, pp. 495–495. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40144443. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40144443
  • Retain in collection?
    • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

99. Other Destinies: Understanding the American Indian Novel. PS 153 .I52 O74 1992

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Jahner, Elaine A. “A Review of Other Destinies: Understanding the American Indian Novel.” Wicazo Sa Review, vol. 9, no. 2, 1993, pp. 110–112. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1409195. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1409195
      • Parins, James W. American Studies, vol. 35, no. 1, 1994, pp. 173–174. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40642605. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40642605
      • Cliff, Janet M. The Journal of American Folklore, vol. 106, no. 421, 1993, pp. 367–368. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/541439. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/541439
      • Furman, Jan. American Literature, vol. 66, no. 1, 1994, pp. 202–203. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2927478. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2927478
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

100. The Italian-American Novel: A Document of the interaction of Two Cultures. PS 153 .I8 G7

  • Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
    • Favorable reviews:
      • Iorizzo, Luciano J. The International Migration Review, vol. 8, no. 4, 1974, pp. 578–579. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3002211. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3002211
      • Rudy, Dorothy. The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, vol. 415, 1974, pp. 253–254. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1041146. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1041146
    • Unfavorable review:
      • Grande, Albert. Italian Americana, vol. 1, no. 1, 1974, pp. 128–130. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/29775832. Accessed 27 May 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/29775832
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
Subjects: English