Research Guides: MKT 445: International Marketing: Country Research

Overview

This page provides helpful links to a variety of international marketing resources for you to support your country research from an international marketing perspective. Use the tabs below to select the type of information that you are looking for.

Country Research

This page lists and describes key library databases and journals for International Marketing research at the Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases. Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Key Databases

When you access a library database off-campus (such as IBISWorld, Mergent, etc.), you will be prompted to enter a username and password. These tell our system that you are a member of the SSU community.

The user name and password are the same as those used to access Navigator, Canvas, email, etc.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text of scholarly, trade, and professional business publications. Covers both US and international titles.
Includes: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Business Source Premier - Business search interface This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to trade,news, professional, and scholarly material from over 1100 titles. Business search interface.
This is the business search interface for this resource.
Business Source Premier - EBSCO search interface This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to trade,news, professional, and scholarly material from over 1100 titles.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
This is a Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. It features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and dissertations.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. and global industry reports.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Screen and find financial information on US and international companies including downloadable financials, equity & industry reports, annual reports, filings, current & historical bond/long term debt, etc. plus new Economic tab with 550 economic variables
Statista This link opens in a new window
Invaluable source for current stats on all topics

Key Journals

Journal of International Marketing
Publishes articles aimed at both practitioner and educator audiences covering international marketing practice and theory through original research articles, executive insights, and book reviews.
International Marketing Review
Research articles about the theory and practice of international marketing.
International Journal of Marketing & Business Communication
Features original developments and practices within the field of marketing, business communication & related subject areas.

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.

The Boston Public Library (BPL) has several excellent databases pertaining to international marketing.

Some are available remotely, accessible with a BPL e-card. SIgn up today for a card! Databases to look at include:

Economist Historical Archive (1843-2014) Available remotely with e-card.
Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010) Available remotely with e-card.
Statistical Insight (1973 to present). Available remotely with e-card.
EMIS Intelligence. Must use in person at BPL. This is an excellent source for information about emerging markets.

Know about a country's economic status, social climate, or technological capabilities.

BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
Central Intelligence Agency World Factbook
Country Commercial Guides - International Trade Administration
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for more than 70 major markets.
GlobalEdge
For each country of the world, provides: history, government, economy, statistics, trade statistics, culture, risk, corporations, indices, resources, and US trade resources. Special tools include: Country Comparator, Country Rankings
U.S. State Department
This US State Department publication provides information on geographic entities and international organizations and is updated periodically.
World Economic Forum
Rankings and regional/country reviews with numerous tables and charts. Most recent years available online.

The characteristics of human populations and population segments, especially when used to identify consumer markets.

International Labour Organization
Labor statistics for 200+ countries and territories arranged by topic, country and publication. Covers economically active population, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor costs, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes, household income & expenditures, labor migration.
International Programs Data
Create and download a customized dataset of demographic and population indicators on 227 countries and regions around the world. Includes demographics overviews, mortality indicators by sex, fertility rates, annual growth rates, populations by age groups.
Population Reference Bureau
Source of up-to-date world-wide demographic statistics.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data
Central Bureau of Statistics
The Central Bureau of Statistics (CBS) is the institution officially assigned with the collection, processing and publication of statistics to be used by policymakers, in practice and for research in different areas. It is a government department that resorts under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Economy, Communication, Energy and Environment.

Objective statistical information is vital to an open and democratic society. It provides a solid foundation for informed decision-making by elected representatives, businesses, unions and non-profit organizations, as well as the general individual Aruban population. It’s also recognized as an inexhaustible source for scientific research.

Tips on international business values, etiquette, customs, and behavior in professional settings.

Country Insights
Facts and cultural information on the countries of the world from the Canadian government's Centre for Intercultural Learning.
Doing Business - The World Bank
Information and regulations on doing business in various countries.
PFK International
Under Publications, can access Doing Business In reports in countries.
Tools for Doing Business - Lex Mundi
The Lex Mundi Guides to Doing Business series offers valuable, information-packed resources prepared by our premier member firms that provide an in-depth look at business, economic, political and cultural trends in more than 100 jurisdictions around the world.
World Business Cultures
Produced by the consultancy firm World business Culture, current site covers 39 countries and for each provides a range of brief information such as business structure, communication styles, and entertaining.

Marketing size, trends, and consumption.

Global Consumption Data
Data from the World Bank that offers household consumption data.
NationMaster
A variety of statistical information on over 300 countries.

Bureau of Economic Analysis - International Economic Accounts
The international transactions accounts provide information on trade in goods and services (including the balance of payments and the balance of trade), investment income, and government and private financial flows.
Eurostat
Economic and other data for EU countries.
How to Start an Import/Export Business
Article from Entrepreneur magazine. Excellent list of resources at the end of the article.
International Monetary Fund Data
Get predefined data reports by country, topic, or data source.
U.S. Government Export Portal
Excellent market research information including Country Commercial Guides, Industry Sector Analysis Reports, and International Market Insight Reports. Free registration required to access portions of the site.
UN Comtrade
Free access to all of the trade data available in the UN Comtrade database. The UN Comtrade database contains more than 3.1 billion trade records starting from 1962.
World Bank Open Data
World Bank Open Data: free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

MKT 445: International Marketing