Research Guides: Salem Academy Charter School: Library Databases

Library Databases

This page lists and describes articles and databases available for research at the Salem State University Library. Off-campus access is restricted to the Salem State community, so if you need to use the databases, use the computers on the first floor of the library. Ask the Library Help Desk if you need assistance. Go to A-Z Browse Alphabetical List for a full list of library databases.

Saving Articles - Printing articles is limited to Salem State users. The best way is for you to save articles as a PDF/Word Document and attach it to an email, save articles on a flash/USB drive, or save articles to your cloud storage.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.
Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information drawn from reference works, magazine, newspaper and journal articles, audio and video clips on figures from ancient times to the present. Full-text. View tutorial:
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text overviews of current issues including pro/con debates, issue timelines, bibliographies, and statistics.
View tutorial:
Gale/Cengage This link opens in a new window
Database system that provides access to many full-text databases, other resources, and ebooks.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find full text news and journal articles on a wide range of topics. Courtesy MBLC.
View tutorial:
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a variety of source types on international issues including reference works, academic journal, magazine and newspaper articles, videos, audio files, statistics, and vetted websites. Full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly books and journals across all academic disciplines. Particularly useful for Humanities and Social Sciences.
View tutorial:
3-5 year embargo on journals.
Complete archival collection.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage for over 60 US & international newspapers, as well as more than 300 regional US newspapers. Also offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions. View tutorial:
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Access many Proquest databases through PQ Central.
Sage Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
An online collection of 450 online journals publised by Sage. Includes the deep backfile (up to the 2011 titles) collection. Updated monthly.
ScienceDirect College Editions This link opens in a new window
Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.

Business and Marketing Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text of scholarly, trade, and professional business publications. Covers both US and international titles.
Includes: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Business Source Premier - EBSCO search interface This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to trade,news, professional, and scholarly material from over 1100 titles.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Healthcare and Sciences Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Ultimate is the primary resource for the fields of nursing, allied health and occupational therapy. It includes: Evidence-Based Care Sheets, index/abstracts, full text articles, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. The database, CINAHL, is the core resource of this product.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Health and Wellness Resource Center includes health/medical journals, pamphlets, videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and full text articles.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Science and technology - journal articles.
ScienceDirect College Editions This link opens in a new window
Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.

Humanities Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other journals in communication and media studies. It contains full text of more than 440 scholarly journals, indexing and abstracting for more than 670 additional journals.
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
The full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature. Our access provides access to August, 2016.

Social Sciences Databases

Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
One of the main databases in the field of history, it includes scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (except the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History & Life) from 1450 to the present. Limited full-text. Journal articles date back to 1953, with some published earlier in the 20th century.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
International relations and political science - journal articles.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. Coverage 1894 to present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology journals on such topics as emotional & behavioral characterisitics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and more. Coverage 1965 to present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Criminal justice statistics from the Bureau of Justice.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics for the US Dept. of Labor
Census Bureau
Center for Disease Control Data and Statistics
US health statistics.
globalEDGE
Global statistical data sources.
Pew Research Center
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Invaluable source for current stats on all topics

List of Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.

(If you are not an enrolled student at Salem State, contact your local public library to request articles that Salem State does not have access to)