Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

SPC 101A: Oral Communication

Overview

This page lists and describes articles and databases available for Professor Kiernan's Oral Communication courses research at the Salem State University Library.  If you access a title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password.  Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.  Go to Browse Alphabetical List for a full list of library databases.

Accessing Library Databases

Informative Speech Articles

Please see additional subject-specific databases for subject-specific articles that might not be found in the databases listed below.

Persuasive Speech Articles

Major General-Interest Magazines

You'll encounter articles from these magazines in databases like Academic Search Premier and ProQuest Central. You can also search within an individual title by clicking on the links below.

Major Newspapers

Keep an eye out for articles from these newspapers when you're searching in Academic Search Premier or ProQuest. You can also search within individual papers by clicking on their links below.

Type of Periodicals

Scholarly (Primary, Peer-Reviewed.)
For academics. Scholarly research in the field. Contains Literature Review, Methods, Charts.
Example: Journal of Food Science, New England Journal of Medicine
Popular (Secondary)
For general public.  Personalities, news, general interest articles. 
Example: People, Sports Illustrated
Trade
For industry, professionals.  Trends, products for industry. 
Example: MacWorld, Public Management
 

Scholarly Articles

A scholarly article is basically a formal presentation of original research.
Scholarly articles have many features which distinguish them from popular or secondary sources. In evaluating whether an article is scholarly, you should look for:
  • The publication source is usually a periodical (journal). 
  • The article is highly structured, usually with an abstract, introduction, methods, results and conclusion. 
  • Specific, technical or scientific language is used.
  • Original research is being presented for the first time. 
  • The authors have their affiliations noted (university, organization...).
  • There are citations within the text and a set of references at the end

Peer-Reviewed Articles

"Peer-reviewed" describes the process an article has to go through before it can be published in a specific journal. 
When a piece of research is submitted for publication in a peer-reviewed journal, a panel of researchers with a similar focus judge the research by various criteria
The article must be reporting original research that adds to the body of knowledge for the subject. The research must be reproducible, ethical and unbiased. Methods must be properly controlled and the conclusion must be reflective of the results. 
Some journals are a lot harder to get published in than others and this adds to their prestige. 

Primary Literature

What is "primary literature"?
  • Primary literature refers to ideas that are revealed in a public forum for the first time. Much of the primary literature appears in journal articles. Conference papers, reports, abstracts, and preprints are additional sources of primary literature.
  • Staying current with the primary literature in a specialty enables researchers to fully understand the scope of developments in their field and to avoid duplication of work.
Is primary research available on the web?
Many government agencies are sources of highly reputable scholarly research reports and journal articles. Conference papers, reports, abstracts, and preprints are additional sources of primary literature.

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.
You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.
Enter '0' in the payment field.
The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.