Research Guides: Psychology: McLellan/PSY330

Locating Specific Cases

Jurist: Legal News and Commentary

Finding Specific Hate Crime Cases

These websites will give you names and case numbers of specific cases in the United States. When you find a case you want to research, note down it's name, case number, dates, names of the defendant(s) and victim(s).

You can also search newspapers to find specific hate crimes. We have a number of newspaper databases at SSU that give you free access.

Boston Globe
From 1980-present. Full text of the Boston Globe, updated daily. Use the Boston Globe, Historical for earlier issues.
New York Times Digital Edition
The web version of the New York Times.

Note: Existing Paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.

Instructions for off-campus registration:
Step 1: Log into one of our other databases so that you have logged into the system.
Step 2: Click the link for the New York Times Digital Edition.
Step 3: Search for and click the listing for “Salem State University”
Step 4: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus.

Please Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button)

Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting http://accessnyt.com on the library's web page.

Finding Legal Cases

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is resource containing more than 155 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Nexis Uni
Full-text database of thousands of magazine and newspaper articles, news wires, legal, and government sources. Dates of coverage and updates vary from title to title. Includes company and country profiles.

This is the database formerly called, Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.

Finding Cases in Nexis Uni

NEXIS UNI opens to its Easy Search page

Find the box that says Guided Search
Choose Cases
Choose either Federal or State
If you choose State, enter the name of the state
Search for "hate crimes" or whatever you're interested in finding
Limit by Date if you want.

Scholarly Research Databases

These databases give you analysis, research, and criticism

Criminal Justice Database
Criminology and criminal justice - journal articles from 1981-present.
APA PsycINFO
Provides access to journal articles and other materials in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related fields. Coverage 1800s to present