Research Guides: MKT 355: Multicultural Marketing: Researching your Consumer/Market (News and Scholarly Articles)

Library Databases

When you access a Salem State library database, article/journal title, or e-book from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.

Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases at the Salem State Library

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Click on Advanced Search. Limit search to Market Research under Document Type.
Includes: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. Click Advanced Search and select Market Research under Document Type.

When you access a Salem State library database, article/journal title, or e-book from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.

Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases at the Salem State Library

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
From the top green banner, select: Browse. Under Industry and Market Research, select: First Research. Find your industry from alphabetical the list of industries provided.
Includes: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Click on Advanced Search. Then select Industry Overview under Document Type.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. and global industry reports.

When you access a Salem State library database, article/journal title, or e-book from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.

Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases at the Salem State Library

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text of scholarly, trade, and professional business publications. Covers both US and international titles.
Includes: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news, the public library patron making personal investment decisions, or the high school student looking to major in business administration, Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art Gale OneFile platform.
A state-supported resource from the MBLC.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to trade,news, professional, and scholarly material from thousands of titles. This provides more full text coverage than Business Source Premier.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other journals in communication and media studies. It contains full text of more than 440 scholarly journals, indexing and abstracting for more than 670 additional journals.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Available to all.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
The web version of the New York Times.

Note: Existing Paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.

Instructions for off-campus registration:
Step 1: Log into one of our other databases so that you have logged into the system.
Step 2: Click the link for the New York Times Digital Edition.
Step 3: Search for and click the listing for “Salem State University”
Step 4: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus.

Please Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button)

Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting http://accessnyt.com on the library's web page.