Research Guides: EDC 225: Social Justice for PreK-8 Curriculum I: Articles and Databases

Overview

This page lists and describes articles and databases for EDC 225: Social Justice for PreK-8 Curriculum research at the Salem State Library. When you access a database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator. Go to A-Z Database List for a full list of library databases.

Accessing Library Databases

Education Databases

Education Database
Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
Education Research Complete
Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals, 100 books, and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education since 1983 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. This database includes the database Education Abstracts.
Education Week
Online journal focusing on education.

Note: You MUST register as a user using a Salem State University Email address to have full access to the journal.
ERIC - EBSCO
Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences. ERIC EBSCO contains full-text ERIC documents (past 5 years) and Digests. View tutorial:
ERIC - ProQuest
Provides full-text access to articles published from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) since 1966 with monthly updates. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is an online readers’ advisory resource with over 200,000 fiction and readable nonfiction and audiobook titles, for children, teens and adults. View tutorial:
Professional Development Collection
Provides current full-text access to over 240 journals for professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides full-text access to over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Particularly useful for Education and Social Sciences.

History Databases

For additional history related databases, check out the History research guide from our Social Sciences Librarian.

America: History and Life
One of the main databases for the study of American History, it includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Journal articles date as far back as 1895. Limited full-text. See Historical Abstracts, America: History & Life’s companion database for coverage of the rest of the world from 1450 on.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly books and journals across all academic disciplines. Particularly useful for Humanities and Social Sciences.
View tutorial:

3-5 year embargo on journals.
Complete archival collection.

Databases for Elementary and Secondary Students

High School Edition
Provides full-text access to current magazines, newspapers, and reference information. Particularly useful for students in high school.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Provides full-text access to over 500 popular general interest and current events periodicals since 1975 with daily updates. Particularly useful for high school students. This includes access to MAS Reference eBook Collection.
Middle Search Plus
Provides full-text access to a collection of magazines, reference books, pamphlets, book reviews, and encyclopedias since 1984 with weekly updates. Particularly useful for middle school students. This product includes access to Middle Search Reference eBook Collection.
Primary Search
Provides full-text access to over 65 children’s magazine and over 300 pamphlets. Particulary useful for elementary school students. This product includes access to Primary Search Reference eBook Collection.

Key Journals

Find journals, magazines, and newspapers by title by using our periodicals directory. The library has a wide range of journals, magazines, and newspapers in print or online through databases.

Childhood Education
Articles for the education professional on all aspects of childhood education, infancy through adolescence, teaching strategies, books for children and professional books, and recent bulletins and pamphlets.
Educational Leadership
Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
The Elementary School Journal
Elementary Education
Middle School Journal
Publishes articles, commentary, interviews and profiles, and notes on all aspects of the middle school; curriculum, practices, counseling and students and teachers.
The Reading Teacher
Peer-reviewed, for those involved with literacy education up to age 12. Takes active stance on issues of education today.
Social Education
Articles and resources for social studies teachers.

Can't Access Full-Text Articles?

Inter-Library Loan is a great way to get pretty much anything you want from any library in the world.

You just need to fill in an easy online form and the librarians will do the work for you.

Enter '0' in the payment field.

The item will generally get to you within a few days - books will need to be collected from the library and articles will normally be e-mailed to you as a PDF.