Berry Library American Literature Book Collection Research Project

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Hoffman, Frederick J. American Literature, vol. 27, no. 1, 1955, pp. 131–133. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922330. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922330
  • So-so review:
    • Waggoner, Hyatt H. “The State of Literary History.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 63, no. 3, 1955, pp. 515–524. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27538476. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27538476
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No. 
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Book was originally published in 1937.
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Matthiessen, F. O. American Literature, vol. 11, no. 2, 1939, pp. 224–226. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920653. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920653
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Reprint of the 1929 edition.
  • No reviews found.
  • 1940 book was very favorable reviewed (Item 205).
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Reprint of 1940 book.
  • Favorable review of 1940 book:
    • Ehrsam, Theodore G. The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, vol. 10, no. 3, 1940, pp. 446–446. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4302761. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4302761
  • Retain in collection?
    • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
      • Useful in reference work.
      • Review was written by a library scholar and published in the prestigious Library Quarterly.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Ehrsam, Theodore G. The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, vol. 10, no. 3, 1940, pp. 446–446. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4302761. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4302761
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.
    • Review was written by a library scholar and published in the prestigious Library Quarterly.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection;
  • Unfavorable assessment:
    • “Brief Mention.” American Literature, vol. 38, no. 1, 1966, pp. 142–147. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923651. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923651
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulenss to collection:
  • ​​​​​​​Mixed reviews:
    • Hartman, Geoffrey H. “Signs of the Times.” The American Scholar, vol. 41, no. 1, 1971, pp. 146–158. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41209042. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41209042
    • Gelfant, Blanche H. “Poirier's ‘The Performing Self.’” Contemporary Literature, vol. 14, no. 2, 1973, pp. 253–259. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1207657. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1207657
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Ask English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Originally published in 1927.
  • No reviews found.
  • Ms. Sergeant grew up in Winchester, MA. She corresponded with Willa Cather
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Unusual content  by a female writer.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Millett, Fred B. American Literature, vol. 33, no. 1, 1961, pp. 88–90. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922418. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922418
    • Lynn, Kenneth S. “AMERICAN LITERATURE: THREE APPROACHES.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 36, no. 2, 1960, pp. 299–302. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26441503. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26441503
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Millett, Fred B. The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, vol. 28, no. 1, 1958, pp. 78–80. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4304737. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • ttp://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4304737
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Originally published in 1924. 
  • Mixed review:
    • E. D. C. “Mixed Bouquet.” The English Journal, vol. 13, no. 8, 1924, pp. 611–613. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/802303. Accessed 14 June 2021.
      • ttp://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/802303
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No. 
  • Dated.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Randel, William. American Literature, vol. 49, no. 1, 1977, pp. 123–124., www.jstor.org/stable/2925564. Accessed 17 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2925564
  • Winner of the American Studies Association's Ralph Henry Gabriel Prize for 1977.
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • The Library has a second copy of this book in the Archives.
    • This suggests that a Salem State faculty member has a connection to this title.
    • Professor John McHale of the English Department initiated the Beat collection in the library.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No decision.
    • Need to examine the contents.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • A second copy of this work is housed in the Archives as part of the Kerouac and Beats collection donated by English Professor Emeritus John McHale.
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • A second copy of this work is housed in the Archives as part of the Kerouac and Beats collection donated by English Professor Emeritus John McHale.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • A second copy of this work is housed in the Archives as part of the Kerouac and Beats collection donated by English Professor Emeritus John McHale.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Rideout, Walter B. American Literature, vol. 35, no. 4, 1964, pp. 557–558. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923615. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923615
    • Dawidowicz, Lucy S. American Jewish Historical Quarterly, vol. 53, no. 2, 1963, pp. 192–197. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23873814. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23873814
    • Peden, William. The Journal of Southern History, vol. 29, no. 2, 1963, pp. 274–276. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2205060. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2205060
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Leab, Daniel J. Political Science Quarterly, vol. 93, no. 2, 1978, pp. 342–343. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2148624. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2148624
    • Rosenstone, Robert A. “The Federal (Mostly Non-) Writers' Project.” Reviews in American History, vol. 6, no. 3, 1978, pp. 400–404. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2701538. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2701538
    • Terrill, Tom E. The American Historical Review, vol. 83, no. 5, 1978, pp. 1360–1360. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1854881. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1854881
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Ginsberg, Elaine K. Signs, vol. 25, no. 3, 2000, pp. 954–957. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3175435. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3175435
    • Ciasullo, Ann M. Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature, vol. 17, no. 2, 1998, pp. 371–375. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/464401. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/464401
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found - possibly due to the fact that is was published in The Hague.
  • Major area libraries that own this title: Boston University, Harvard, MIT, Northeastern, and U Mass Boston.
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Wilcox, Joan L. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 33, no. 4, 1987, pp. 675–677. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26282501. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26282501
    • Barone, Dennis. “History in Literature or Literature in History.” American Quarterly, vol. 40, no. 4, 1988, pp. 544–549. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2713002. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2713002
    • Minter, David. The New England Quarterly, vol. 61, no. 2, 1988, pp. 294–299. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/366246. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/366246
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Robertson, Sara. Foreign Affairs, vol. 66, no. 1, 1987, pp. 207–207. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20043360. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20043360
    • Christie, N. Bradley. American Literature, vol. 60, no. 1, 1988, pp. 153–154. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2926430. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2926430
    • Spark, Alasdair. Journal of American Studies, vol. 24, no. 2, 1990, pp. 298–299. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27555356. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27555356
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.
       

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Hellmann, John. American Literature, vol. 64, no. 1, 1992, pp. 196–197. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2927528. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2927528
    • Stewart, Matthew C. American Studies International, vol. 29, no. 2, 1991, pp. 104–106. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41280310. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41280310
    • Myers, Thomas. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 37, no. 2, 1991, pp. 268–270. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26283293. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26283293
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection;
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Snyder, Edward D. The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, vol. 65, no. 3, 1941, pp. 382–384. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20087405. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20087405
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Spiller, Robert E. American Literature, vol. 13, no. 1, 1941, pp. 70–73. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920795. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920795
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Gabriel, Ralph H. The American Historical Review, vol. 47, no. 2, 1942, pp. 380–382. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1841736. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1841736
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No.
    • Dated.
    • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Keller, Karl, and Mason I. Lowance. Criticism, vol. 23, no. 3, 1981, pp. 275–277. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23104988. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23104988
    • Levin, David, and Mason I. Lowance. The William and Mary Quarterly, vol. 39, no. 3, 1982, pp. 540–542. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1919594. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1919594
    • Crawford, Michael J., and Mason I. Lowance. The New England Quarterly, vol. 54, no. 3, 1981, pp. 432–435. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/365477. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/365477
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Fills a gap in our holdings.
  • Note: The word "Transcendentalists" is misspelled in the cataloging record.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Amacher, Anne W. American Quarterly, vol. 18, no. 3, 1966, pp. 550–553. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710856. Accessed 23 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710856
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Bang, Mary Jo. Harvard Review, no. 16, 1999, pp. 169–170. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27561261. Accessed 27 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27561261
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Schneiderman, Davis. “Send in the Clowns, They're Already Here.” The Iowa Review, vol. 29, no. 3, 1999, pp. 158–162. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20154754. Accessed 27 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20154754
    • Diggory, Terence. College Literature, vol. 26, no. 2, 1999, pp. 211–213. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25112464. Accessed 27 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25112464
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • This title was part of the Beats Collection donated by John McHale, English Professor Emeritus.
    • A second copy is shelved in the Archives.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Campbell, Killis. “English Literature.” Modern Language Notes, vol. 19, no. 7, 1904, pp. 217–219. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2917135. Accessed 28 June 2021.
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.
    • This is a reprint of the 1897-1903 edition.
    • Historical value?

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Chapin, Lloyd W. “Southern Scene.” South Atlantic Bulletin, vol. 6, no. 3, 1940, pp. 1–12. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3197657. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3197657
• Retain in collection?
  • Published in 1940. 
    • Historical value? 
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Leary, Lewis. “The Literature of the South.” American Speech, vol. 30, no. 2, 1955, pp. 128–129. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/454277. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/454277
    • Sanders, Arthrell. CLA Journal, vol. 12, no. 1, 1968, pp. 86–88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44321468. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44321468
    • Seigler, Milledge B. “Regional Anthology.” South Atlantic Bulletin, vol. 18, no. 2, 1952, pp. 13–14. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3197130. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3197130
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Harner's Literary Research Guide recommends this book.
    • Davis, Richard Beale, and Louis D. Rubin. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, vol. 78, no. 1, 1970, pp. 119–121. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4247552. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4247552
    • Winton, Calhoun, and Louis D. Rubin. The Journal of Southern History, vol. 36, no. 1, 1970, pp. 122–123. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2206636. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2206636
    • Lupton, Mary Jane, and Louis D. Rubin. CLA Journal, vol. 13, no. 2, 1969, pp. 200–202. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44328321. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44328321
    • W.T.S., and Louis D. Rubin. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 16, no. 2, 1970, pp. 225–228. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26279077. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26279077
    • Hendrick, George, and Louis D. Rubin. American Studies, vol. 12, no. 1, 1971, pp. 82–82. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40640986. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40640986
• ​​​​​​​Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • ​​​​​​​Favorable reviews:
    • ​​​​​​​McDonald, Gerald D. The Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America, vol. 52, no. 4, 1958, pp. 322–326. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24299654. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24299654
    • Rubin, Louis D. The American Scholar, vol. 27, no. 4, 1958, pp. 522–524. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41208473. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41208473
    • Wimsatt, W. K., and Louis D. Rubin. Criticism, vol. 2, no. 1, 1960, pp. 97–103. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23091024. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23091024
    • Lerner, L. D. The Modern Language Review, vol. 54, no. 2, 1959, pp. 273–274. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3720238. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3720238
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD):: Yes
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Butcher, Philip, and Louis D. Rubin. “Southern Literature Since 1920.” The Journal of Negro Education, vol. 33, no. 2, 1964, pp. 155–156. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2294585. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2294585
    • Guilds, John C. American Literature, vol. 36, no. 2, 1964, pp. 249–251. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923411. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923411
    • Malin, Irving, and Louis D. Rubin. American Quarterly, vol. 16, no. 1, 1964, pp. 114–115. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710835. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710835
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
  • Reference work.
  • Useful to librarians.
     

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • ​​​​​​​Favorable reviews:
    • Beaumont, Charles A. The Georgia Review, vol. 15, no. 1, 1961, pp. 116–118. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41395771. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41395771
    • Jacobs, Robert D. Modern Language Notes, vol. 76, no. 1, 1961, pp. 70–71. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3040492. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3040492
    • Holman, C. Hugh. American Literature, vol. 32, no. 4, 1961, pp. 487–488. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922299. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922299
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Rubin, Louis D. The Journal of Southern History, vol. 25, no. 1, 1959, pp. 140–142. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2954505. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2954505
    • Thompson, Frank H. “‘The Cousinship of Poetry.’” Prairie Schooner, vol. 33, no. 3, 1959, pp. 281–283. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40625542. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40625542
    • Taylor, Walter Fuller. The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 11, no. 3, 1958, pp. 154–155. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26473318. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26473318
  • Unfavorable review:
    • ​​​​​​​Fishwick, Marshall W. American Quarterly, vol. 11, no. 1, 1959, pp. 83–84. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710731. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710731
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Historical value.
  • Useful in reference work.
    ​​​​​​​

• Copy two of item #237, above. 

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Lyon, George Ella. The Register of the Kentucky Historical Society, vol. 86, no. 1, 1988, pp. 89–91. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23380754. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23380754
    • Walser, Richard. The North Carolina Historical Review, vol. 65, no. 1, 1988, pp. 108–109. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23518908. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23518908
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Malin, Irving, and Louis D. Rubin. The Georgia Review, vol. 27, no. 1, 1973, pp. 128–131. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41396945. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41396945
    • Kieft, Ruth M. Vande, and Louis D. Rubin. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 19, no. 4, 1973, pp. 583–590. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26279854. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26279854
    • Calhoun, Richard James. “Southern Writing: The Unifying Strand.” The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 27, no. 1, 1973, pp. 101–108. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26474237. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      •  http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26474237
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.
    ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Harner's Literary Research Guide highly recommends this title.
    • Rubin, Louis D. American Quarterly, vol. 7, no. 2, 1955, pp. 186–191. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710703. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710703
    • Stovall, Floyd. Modern Language Notes, vol. 70, no. 6, 1955, pp. 454–456. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3039601. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3039601
    • Davidson, Donald. “In Justice to so Fine a Country.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 63, no. 1, 1955, pp. 144–152. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27538427. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27538427
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Classic reference work.

Copy two of item #241, above. 

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Davis, Richard Beale. The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 14, no. 2, 1961, pp. 112–114. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26473449. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26473449
    • Quint, Howard H., and Charles G. Sellers. American Quarterly, vol. 13, no. 3, 1961, pp. 426–427. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710492. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710492
    • Simpson, Lewis P. The Journal of Southern History, vol. 26, no. 4, 1960, pp. 530–532. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2204629. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2204629
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.
     

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Carroll, Eugene T., and James A. Grimshaw. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 34, no. 2, 1988, pp. 251–253. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26282588. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26282588
    • Snyder, Robert E. “Telling about the South.” American Quarterly, vol. 41, no. 2, 1989, pp. 391–401. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2713035. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2713035
    • Castille, Philip. Studies in the Novel, vol. 20, no. 4, 1988, pp. 433–435. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/29532607. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/29532607
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Stewart, Randall, and Louis D. Rubin. “The Southern Literary Revival.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 30, no. 1, 1954, pp. 140–143. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26439632. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26439632
    • Thorp, Willard, and Louis D. Rubin. American Literature, vol. 26, no. 4, 1955, pp. 575–578. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921864. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921864
    • Howell, Isabel, and Louis D. Rubin. The Journal of Southern History, vol. 20, no. 2, 1954, pp. 289–291. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2954946. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2954946
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review::
    • Woodress, James. The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 31, no. 4, 1978, pp. 651–653. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26474596. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26474596
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Malin, Irving, and Louis D. Rubin. The Georgia Review, vol. 27, no. 1, 1973, pp. 128–131. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41396945. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41396945
    • Kieft, Ruth M. Vande, and Louis D. Rubin. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 19, no. 4, 1973, pp. 583–590. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26279854. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26279854
    • Simpson, Lewis P. “Walter Sullivan and the Southern Possibility.” The Southern Literary Journal, vol. 5, no. 2, 1973, pp. 88–101. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20077464. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      •  http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20077464
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Vance, Jane Gentry. “Southern Women Writers.” The Southern Literary Journal, vol. 19, no. 2, 1987, pp. 113–115. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20077840. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20077840
    • Walker, Melissa. South Atlantic Review, vol. 51, no. 4, 1986, pp. 174–177. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3199782. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3199782
    • Timmons, Theresa C., and Rosemary F. Franklin. The Georgia Historical Quarterly, vol. 69, no. 3, 1985, pp. 432–433. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40581425. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40581425
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Simpson, Lewis P. The William and Mary Quarterly, vol. 30, no. 4, 1973, pp. 665–667. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1918606. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1918606
    • Marambaud, Pierre L. Early American Literature, vol. 9, no. 3, 1975, pp. 340–345. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25070695. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25070695
    • Kenneth Silverman. The American Historical Review, vol. 78, no. 4, 1973, pp. 1119–1120. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1858475. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1858475
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Stuckey, W. J., and Louis D. Rubin. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 29, no. 2, 1983, pp. 334–340. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26281201. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26281201
    • Frank, William L. South Atlantic Review, vol. 51, no. 2, 1986, pp. 153–157. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3199367. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3199367
    • Polk, NoelL. The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 36, no. 2, 1983, pp. 133–136. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26474812. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26474812
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
     

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • ​​​​​​​Favorable reviews:
    • Tatum, Stephen. Western American Literature, vol. 19, no. 1, 1984, pp. 48–49. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43018929. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43018929
    • Kaye, Frances W. Great Plains Quarterly, vol. 4, no. 3, 1984, pp. 190–191. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23531241. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23531241
    • Simonson, Harold P. The Pacific Northwest Quarterly, vol. 75, no. 1, 1984, pp. 46–46. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40490858. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40490858
• ​​​​​​​Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Simonson, Harold P. The Pacific Northwest Quarterly, vol. 75, no. 1, 1984, pp. 46–46. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40490858. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40490858
    • Sonnichsen, C. L. Pacific Historical Review, vol. 53, no. 1, 1984, pp. 80–81. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3639382. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3639382
    • Bucco, Martin. Western American Literature, vol. 18, no. 2, 1983, pp. 155–156. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43018820. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      •  http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43018820
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Shuman, Bruce A. RQ, vol. 22, no. 4, 1983, pp. 429–430. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25827040. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25827040
    • Milton, John R. Western American Literature, vol. 18, no. 4, 1984, pp. 367–368. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43018911. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43018911
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Gaines, Clarence H. “Americana.” The North American Review, vol. 222, no. 829, 1925, pp. 354–361. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25113501. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25113501
    • Farley, F. E. Modern Language Notes, vol. 42, no. 4, 1927, pp. 249–251. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2914268. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2914268
    • J. B. H. “Early Middle Western Literature.” Southwest Review, vol. 11, no. 1, 1925, pp. 76–76. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43465554. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43465554
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.
  • This book was first published in 1925.
  • The Library also owns the 1975 edition. 
    • This edition is not on the weeding list. Does this mean that it has been borrowed?

• This is volume two of Item #255, above

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Hartley, Margaret L., and Edwin W. Gaston. “Southwest Chronicle.” Southwest Review, vol. 47, no. 1, 1962, pp. viii-96. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43471083. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43471083
    • Sonnichsen, C. L., and Edwin W. Gaston. Arizona and the West, vol. 4, no. 1, 1962, pp. 89–90. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40167738. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40167738
    • Braddy, Haldeen, and Edwin W. Gaston. American Literature, vol. 34, no. 2, 1962, pp. 302–302. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923126. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923126
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Westbrook, Max. The Western Historical Quarterly, vol. 6, no. 1, 1975, pp. 68–70. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/966971. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/966971
    • Lee, James W. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, vol. 78, no. 1, 1974, pp. 106–107. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/30238321. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/30238321
    • Dixon, Terrell F. The South Central Bulletin, vol. 34, no. 1/2, 1974, pp. 20–20. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3187124. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3187124
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Wallace, William S. Western Folklore, vol. 15, no. 2, 1956, pp. 149–151. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1497514. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1497514
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
    • Popular book.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Smith, Henry Nash. American Literature, vol. 25, no. 1, 1953, pp. 119–121. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921627. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921627
    • Bingham, Edwin R. Pacific Historical Review, vol. 20, no. 2, 1951, pp. 187–189. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3634872. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3634872
    • Marchand, Ernest. Modern Language Notes, vol. 67, no. 4, 1952, pp. 285–286. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2909367. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2909367
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No.
    • Dated.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Nunnally, Patrick. “Imagining the Unknown Landscape.” American Quarterly, vol. 40, no. 2, 1988, pp. 240–245. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2713071. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2713071
    • Gleckner, Robert F. American Literature, vol. 61, no. 3, 1989, pp. 508–510. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2926864. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2926864
    • Fender, Stephen. Huntington Library Quarterly, vol. 51, no. 2, 1988, pp. 139–145. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3817508. Accessed 28 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3817508
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Fills a gap in our collection.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Jaffe, Dan. The Great Lakes Review, vol. 3, no. 2, 1977, pp. 64–65. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41337460. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41337460
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Fills a gap in the collection.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Flanagan, John T. American Literature, vol. 27, no. 2, 1955, pp. 284–285. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922863. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922863
    • Beck, Warren. The Wisconsin Magazine of History, vol. 39, no. 3, 1956, pp. 219–220. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4632981. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4632981
    • Stroud, Parry E. Indiana Magazine of History, vol. 51, no. 1, 1955, pp. 85–88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27788256. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27788256
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Dated.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Ruland, James. Western American Literature, vol. 26, no. 4, 1992, pp. 390–391. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43020864. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43020864
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Part of English Professor Emeritus John McHale's Beat Writers Collection. 

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Stroven, Carl. American Literature, vol. 12, no. 3, 1940, pp. 378–380. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921049. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921049
    • Hart, James D. California Historical Society Quarterly, vol. 18, no. 3, 1939, pp. 280–281. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25160827. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25160827
    • J. W. C. Pacific Historical Review, vol. 9, no. 1, 1940, pp. 99–100. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3634151. Accessed 29 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3634151
• Retain in collection?
  • Book was first published in 1939. 
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • The National Poetry Festival is a prestigious event that began in 1962.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Must examine the volume. It could be a first edition. 
  • Cataloging must be corrected to indicate that these are the proceedings of the National Poetry Festival.

• Indicator of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Recommended in James Harner's Literary Research Guide.
• ​​​​​​​Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Useful in reference work.
  • The call number should be changed to reflect the 1996 publishing date.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Mixed reviews:
    • Schramm, Wilbur L. American Literature, vol. 7, no. 1, 1935, pp. 108–110. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920341. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920341
    • Landis, Paul. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 34, no. 3, 1935, pp. 461–462. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27704064. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27704064
  • Unfavorable review:
    • R. S. H. The New England Quarterly, vol. 8, no. 1, 1935, pp. 145–145. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/359452. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/359452
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.
  • Book was first published in 1935.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Higgins, Andrew C. MELUS, vol. 20, no. 3, 1995, pp. 154–156. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/467752. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/467752
    • Altieri, Charles. The Journal of American History, vol. 81, no. 3, 1994, pp. 1258–1259. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2081469. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2081469
    • Bremen, Brian A. American Studies, vol. 36, no. 1, 1995, pp. 195–196. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40643780. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40643780
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Hirsch, David H. “Emerson: The Tenth Muse?” The Sewanee Review, vol. 84, no. 2, 1976, pp. lix-lxii. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27543084. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27543084
    • Stanford, Donald E. American Literature, vol. 47, no. 4, 1976, pp. 649–650. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2924855. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2924855
    • Rosenmeier, Rosamond. Early American Literature, vol. 12, no. 3, 1977, pp. 307–309. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25070855. Accessed 30 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25070855
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews
    • Harner's Literary Research Guide recommends this title.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • Book was published in 1935.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English Faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Perrine, Laurence. “Verse In CulturalL Context.” Southwest Review, vol. 47, no. 2, 1962, pp. 188–189. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43467396. Accessed 7 July 2021.
    • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43467396
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English Faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:

    • The College Courant, vol. 13, no. 21, Sage Publications, Inc., 1873, pp. 250–250, http://www.jstor.org/stable/44975470

    • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44975470

• Retain in collection?

  • Historical. Library also owns the 1874 edition. 

  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty. 

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:

    • Brooks, Cleanth. “Cantankerous and Other Critics.” The Kenyon Review, vol. 6, no. 2, Kenyon College, 1944, pp. 282–88, http://www.jstor.org/stable/4332499.

      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4332499

    • Whicher, George F. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 43, no. 3, University of Illinois Press, 1944, pp. 371–72, http://www.jstor.org/stable/27705137.

      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27705137

    • Taft, Kendall B. American Literature, vol. 15, no. 4, Duke University Press, 1944, pp. 429–30, https://doi.org/10.2307/2920772.

      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920772

    • Earl. “An American Way in Poetry?” College English, vol. 5, no. 6, National Council of Teachers of English, 1944, pp. 346–47, https://doi.org/10.2307/370857.

      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/370857

• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Reprint of 1943 edition. 
  • See reviews above in #175. 
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.