Berry Library American Literature Book Collection Research Project

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Kratka, Amy Weintraub. MELUS, vol. 30, no. 2, 2005, pp. 256–259. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/30029860. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/30029860
    • Tuerk, Richard. MELUS, vol. 25, no. 1, 2000, pp. 234–236. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/468160. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/468160
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Fuchs, Daniel. “The Jewish Writers and the Critics.” Contemporary Literature, vol. 15, no. 4, 1974, pp. 562–579. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1207778. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1207778
    • Hayman, Allen. American Literature, vol. 48, no. 3, 1976, pp. 427–428. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2924907. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2924907
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Moore, Lisa. Signs, vol. 24, no. 1, 1998, pp. 254–257. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3175688. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3175688
    • Hart, Lynda. Modern Philology, vol. 96, no. 3, 1999, pp. 409–411. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/439235. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/439235
    • Altman, Meryl. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 43, no. 2, 1997, pp. 474–477. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26285713. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26285713
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection?
  • Favorable reviews:
    • ​​​​​​​Cortés, Carlos E. Journal of American Ethnic History, vol. 6, no. 1, 1986, pp. 114–115. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27500507. Accessed 29 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27500507
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Estill, Adriana. Hispanófila, no. 122, 1998, pp. 103–104. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43807057. Accessed 30 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43807057
    • Lee, A. Robert. Journal of American Studies, vol. 30, no. 2, 1996, pp. 308–310. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27556140. Accessed 30 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27556140
    • Stavans, Ilan. American Literature, vol. 68, no. 1, 1996, pp. 272–273. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2927586. Accessed 30 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2927586
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews;
    • Spurgeon, Sara L. Western American Literature, vol. 31, no. 4, 1997, pp. 406–407. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43024900. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43024900
    • Brady, Mary Pat. Signs, vol. 23, no. 4, 1998, pp. 1090–1093. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3175211. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3175211
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Lim, Shirley Geok-Lin. Signs, vol. 21, no. 2, 1996, pp. 494–498. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3175081. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3175081
    • Ferraro, Thomas J. American Literature, vol. 66, no. 2, 1994, pp. 407–408. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2928019. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2928019
    • Oh, Seiwoong. Western American Literature, vol. 29, no. 2, 1994, pp. 177–177. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43024635. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43024635
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection;
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Arnold Rampersad. The Modern Language Review, vol. 79, no. 1, 1984, pp. 155–157. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3730338. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3730338
    • Weixlmann, Joe. Black American Literature Forum, vol. 14, no. 1, 1980, pp. 44–46. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3041589. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3041589
• ​​​​​​​Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.
      ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Farbstein, Ellen D., and James E. Crayton. RQ, vol. 17, no. 2, 1977, pp. 183–183. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25825936. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25825936
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Continuation of favorably reviewed first volume (Item 109).
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Brown, Beth, and Houston A. Baker. Journal of Black Studies, vol. 18, no. 2, 1987, pp. 242–244. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2784554. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2784554
    • Jackson, Blyden, et al. American Literature, vol. 47, no. 4, 1976, pp. 652–654. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2924858. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2924858
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Werner, Craig, and Houston A. Baker. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 92, no. 2, 1993, pp. 267–269. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27710829. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27710829
    • Adisa, Opal Palmer, and Houston A. Baker. MELUS, vol. 19, no. 2, 1994, pp. 147–149. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/467733. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/467733
    • Palmer, Trudy Christine, et al. American Literature, vol. 65, no. 4, 1993, pp. 818–820. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2927327. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2927327
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.
       

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Miller, R. Baxter. Black American Literature Forum, vol. 13, no. 3, 1979, pp. 119–120. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3041529. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3041529
    • Greene, J. Lee. The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 32, no. 4, 1979, pp. 678–685. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26474678. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26474678
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD):Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.
       

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review from 1969:
    • Welburn, Ron. “Reissues of Afro-American Literature.” Southwest Review, vol. 54, no. 2, 1969, pp. 217–221. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43468083. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43468083
• Retain in Collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • This is an ARNO reprint of a rare early criticism of Black literature by an African American writer
       

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Sterling. Brown was a prominent African American poet and scholar.
    • Traylor, Eleanor W., et al. “‘Runnin' Space’: The Continuing Legacy of Sterling Allen Brown.” African American Review, vol. 31, no. 3, 1997, pp. 389–392. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3042562. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3042562 
  • This book is a reprint of the 1937 edition. 
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD:) Yes.
    • Hard to find title.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Byerman, Keith E. American Literature, vol. 62, no. 1, 1990, pp. 143–145. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2926812. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2926812
    • Ivey, Adriane L. South Atlantic Review, vol. 67, no. 3, 2002, pp. 123–126. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3201910. Accessed 31 May 2021. (Reviews the 2001 reprint of the 1988 edition).
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3201910
    • Butler, Robert James. “Answering the Call.” African American Review, vol. 26, no. 4, 1992, pp. 683–685. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3041880. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3041880
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.
      ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Florida A&M is a HBCU. 
  • This is a primary source of library holdings.
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Sellin, Eric. “Neo-African and Afro-American Literatures.” Journal of Modern Literature, vol. 1, no. 2, 1970, pp. 249–253. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3830872. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3830872
    • Garrett, Naomi M. The Journal of Negro History, vol. 54, no. 3, 1969, pp. 298–300. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2716676. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2716676
    • Rogers, Tommy W. Negro History Bulletin, vol. 33, no. 2, 1970, pp. 51–51. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24767296. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24767296
  • Mostly positive review:
    • Larson, Charles R. Research in African Literatures, vol. 1, no. 1, 1970, pp. 105–106. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3818983. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3818983
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • ERIC Document #ED022754
    • Used in Detroit Public Schools in 1968.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Greene, J. Lee. The Mississippi Quarterly, vol. 32, no. 4, 1979, pp. 678–685. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26474678. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26474678
  • Dissatisfied review:
    • Sollors, Werner. Journal of American Studies, vol. 14, no. 1, 1980, pp. 170–173. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27553802. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27553802
• Retain in collection:
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes. 
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Robertson, R. M. MELUS, vol. 15, no. 2, 1988, pp. 115–117. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/466978. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/466978
    • Ward, Jerry W. “Signifying Possibility.” Callaloo, no. 40, 1989, pp. 600–604. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2931305. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2931305
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in the collection.
      ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • It was locally published.
  • Usually, an index would be helpful to librarians.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No decision
    • Need to visually inspect this book before making a recommendation.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Miles, William. RQ, vol. 15, no. 1, 1975, pp. 80–80. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41354215. Accessed 31 May 2021.
    • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41354215
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful for librarians.
  • Cataloging records of volumes 1 and 2 must be reconciled.
    • There are two records in the catalog, yet the call numbers are identical.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Farrison, W. Edward. CLA Journal, vol. 18, no. 2, 1974, pp. 306–310. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44329144. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44329144
    • Brown, Lloyd W., and Houston A. Baker. “Recent Studies in Black American Literature.” Obsidian (1975-1982), vol. 2, no. 2, 1976, pp. 85–90. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44490236. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44490236
    • Clark, James W. American Literature, vol. 47, no. 3, 1975, pp. 487–488. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2925378. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2925378
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Valuable in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Bryer, Jackson R. American Literature, vol. 48, no. 2, 1976, pp. 251–251. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2925093. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2925093
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Brown, Lloyd W., and Houston A. Baker. “Recent Studies in Black American Literature.” Obsidian (1975-1982), vol. 2, no. 2, 1976, pp. 85–90. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/44490236. Accessed 31 May 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44490236
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Levine, Robert S., and Eddie S. Glaude. “Slavery, Race, and American Literary Genealogies.” Early American Literature, vol. 36, no. 1, 2001, pp. 89–113. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25057218. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25057218
    • Gibson, Donald B. The Journal of American History, vol. 85, no. 4, 1999, pp. 1593–1593. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2568316. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2568316
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a need in our holdings.

• Indicators of quaity/usefulness to collection:
  • Mediocre review:
    • Ridgely, J. V. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 19, no. 2, 1973, pp. 276–278. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26279030. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26279030
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Baldwin, Kenneth H. Books Abroad, vol. 46, no. 3, 1972, pp. 491–492. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40126410. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40126410
• Retain collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Sawyer-Lau, canno, Christopher. The Continual Pilgrimage : American Writers in Paris, 1944-1960. Grove Press, 1992. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.corvette.salemstate.edu/login.aspx? (Listing in Book Review Index database).
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,cpid&custid=ssc&db=kdh&AN=BK0002109431&site=ehost-live&scope=site
• Retain in Collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
     

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Gordon, D. J. The Review of English Studies, vol. 22, no. 87, 1946, pp. 250–251. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/508938. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/508938
    • Adkins, Nelson F. The Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America, vol. 39, no. 1, 1945, pp. 83–86. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24298485. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24298485
    • Bradsher, Earl L. The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, vol. 15, no. 1, 1945, pp. 86–88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4303310. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4303310
    • Spiller, Robert E. The New England Quarterly, vol. 18, no. 1, 1945, pp. 118–119. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/361406. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/361406
    • Blodgett, Harold. American Literature, vol. 16, no. 3, 1944, pp. 243–247. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921070. Accessed 1 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921070
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Reprint of the 1955 edition.
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Morison, S. E. The New England Quarterly, vol. 29, no. 1, 1956, pp. 99–101. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/363067. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/363067
    • Charvat, William. American Literature, vol. 28, no. 2, 1956, pp. 248–250. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922066. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922066
    • Howard, Leon. “Our Spanish Background.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 31, no. 3, 1955, pp. 483–485. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26442185. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26442185
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Early look at a topic not covered elsewhere.
    • Useful in reference work.
    • Call numbers must be reconciled. This is a two volume work. 

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Thody, Philip. The Modern Language Review, vol. 52, no. 3, 1957, pp. 430–431. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3719514. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3719514
    • Reeves, George. Comparative Literature, vol. 8, no. 2, 1956, pp. 159–161. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1768618. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1768618
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Edel, Leon. American Literature, vol. 28, no. 1, 1956, pp. 99–101. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922731. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922731
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Blodgett, Harold W. American Quarterly, vol. 10, no. 2, 1958, pp. 185–186. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710084. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710084
    • Steene, Birgitta. Scandinavian Studies, vol. 30, no. 2, 1958, pp. 108–109. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40916179. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40916179
    • Whicher, Stephen E. American Literature, vol. 30, no. 1, 1958, pp. 138–139. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922234. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922234
    • Enkvist, Nils Erik. The Modern Language Review, vol. 53, no. 4, 1958, pp. 580–581. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3720541. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3720541
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Rubin, Louis D. “American Literature AND ‘Original Sin.’” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 34, no. 4, 1958, pp. 637–640. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26442483. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26442483
    • Ludwig, Richard M. American Quarterly, vol. 11, no. 1, 1959, pp. 89–89. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2710738. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2710738
    • Turner, Arlin. The Georgia Review, vol. 12, no. 3, 1958, pp. 346–348. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41395557. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41395557
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Larrabee, Harold A. The New England Quarterly, vol. 32, no. 2, 1959, pp. 258–260. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/362561. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/362561
    • Lewis, R. W. B. “Hold on Hard to the Huckleberry Bushes.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 67, no. 3, 1959, pp. 462–477. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27538838. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27538838
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.
    • Catalog record must be corrected. There is no ampersand in the title.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • ​​​​​​​Howe, Lawrence. “Critical Anthologies of the Plague Years: Responding to AIDS Literature.” Contemporary Literature, vol. 35, no. 2, 1994, pp. 395–416. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1208848. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1208848
    • Schilling, Carol. Modern Language Studies, vol. 24, no. 3, 1994, pp. 110–112. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3194851. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3194851
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.
    • Important for reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable, but critical reviews:
    • Green, Martin, and James E. Miller. The Modern Language Review, vol. 64, no. 4, 1969, pp. 891–891. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3723964. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3723964
    • Detweiler, Robert, and Howard M. Harper. “Religion and Literature in Recent American Scholarship.” Midcontinent American Studies Journal, vol. 9, no. 2, 1968, pp. 89–93. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40640764. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40640764
    • Dowell, Peter W. American Quarterly, vol. 20, no. 2, 1968, pp. 360–361. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2711253. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2711253
    • Stovall, Floyd. American Literature, vol. 40, no. 3, 1968, pp. 398–399., www.jstor.org/stable/2923778. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923778
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Ericson, Edward E. The Georgia Review, vol. 22, no. 3, 1968, pp. 419–421. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41396487. Accessed 2 June 2021. Book is too limited in scope. Based on a series of lectures. 
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41396487
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Parish, John C. Pacific Historical Review, vol. 1, no. 2, 1932, pp. 254–256. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3633697. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3633697
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Hazard, Lucy Lockwood. American Literature, vol. 3, no. 4, 1932, pp. 490–492. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920360. Accessed 2 June 2021. Deemed dated, even by a reviewer in 1932.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920360
    • W. S. K. The Sewanee Review, vol. 40, no. 1, 1932, pp. 128–128. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27534748. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27534748
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • ​​​​​​​Favorable reviews:
    • Berthoff, Warner. American Literature, vol. 39, no. 4, 1968, pp. 563–564. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923846. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923846
    • Sheehan, Donald. The Journal of American History, vol. 54, no. 3, 1967, pp. 622–622. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2937414. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2937414
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Provides an interdisciplinary perspective.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Fry, Phillip L. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, vol. 79, no. 2, 1975, pp. 244–245. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/30238390. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/30238390
    • Schmidt, Henry C. The Hispanic American Historical Review, vol. 55, no. 4, 1975, pp. 769–770. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2511956. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2511956
    • Smyer, Richard. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 23, no. 2, 1977, pp. 317–319. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26280224. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26280224
    • Gardiner, C. Harvey. The Americas, vol. 32, no. 4, 1976, pp. 652–653. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/979846. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/979846
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Stern, Jerome. Studies in Popular Culture, vol. 11, no. 2, 1988, pp. 108–108. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23413908. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23413908
    • Fulton, Tara Lynn. RQ, vol. 28, no. 4, 1989, pp. 564–565. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25828392. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25828392
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Librarian tool
      • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Swann, Charles. Journal of American Studies, vol. 22, no. 1, 1988, pp. 143–146. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27554974. Accessed 2 June 2021. 
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27554974
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Gerrard, Christine. The Review of English Studies, vol. 39, no. 156, 1988, pp. 594–601. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/516265. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/516265
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
    • Use these reviews to find more impressive works.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Arrowood, C. F. The Elementary School Journal, vol. 31, no. 8, 1931, pp. 635–636. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/996186. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/996186
    • Baer, J. A. The Journal of Educational Research, vol. 23, no. 4, 1931, pp. 336–337. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27525372. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27525372
    • Leisy, Ernest E. American Literature, vol. 3, no. 2, 1931, pp. 232–233. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2919788. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2919788
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • E. M. C. The Georgia Historical Quarterly, vol. 9, no. 1, 1925, pp. 111–113. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40575813. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40575813
    • Johnson, Gerald W. “Notes on the New Literature of Criticism of the South.” The North Carolina Historical Review, vol. 2, no. 2, 1925, pp. 259–264. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23514369. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23514369
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Harper, Robert D. Western American Literature, vol. 14, no. 3, 1979, pp. 247–248. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43020111. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43020111
    • Wydeven, Joseph J. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 26, no. 2, 1980, pp. 348–349. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26280483. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26280483
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Fills a gap in collection - western literature
      ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Kern, Alexander C. Criticism, vol. 10, no. 2, 1968, pp. 170–172. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23094354. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23094354
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Baym, Nina. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 66, no. 4, 1967, pp. 620–623. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27705427. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27705427
    • Gozzi, Raymond D. The New England Quarterly, vol. 40, no. 4, 1967, pp. 586–590. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/363568. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/363568
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No 
    • There must be better alternatives.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Levinson, Martin H. ETC: A Review of General Semantics, vol. 56, no. 4, 1999, pp. 489–490. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/42577994. Accessed 2 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/42577994
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Glicksberg, Charles I. Jewish Social Studies, vol. 30, no. 4, 1968, pp. 278–279. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4466434. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4466434
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Malin, Irving. American Literature, vol. 38, no. 4, 1967, pp. 589–590. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2923486. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2923486
    • Kinnamon, Keneth. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 66, no. 3, 1967, pp. 480–482. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27705397. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/277053997
• Retain in collection:
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Redding, Saunders. “Literature and the Negro.” Contemporary Literature, vol. 9, no. 1, 1968, pp. 130–135. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1207396. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1207396
    • Joye, Barbara. “From Stereotype to Archetype.” Phylon (1960-), vol. 28, no. 1, 1967, pp. 109–111. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/274133. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/274133
    • Jackson, Blyden. Negro American Literature Forum, vol. 1, no. 1, 1967, pp. 8–8. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3041315. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3041315
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.
      ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Holland, Sharon P. Signs, vol. 24, no. 3, 1999, pp. 817–819. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3175342. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3175342
    • De Santis, Christopher C. American Studies, vol. 39, no. 1, 1998, pp. 154–156. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40642957. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40642957
    • Stephens, Judith L. African American Review, vol. 34, no. 2, 2000, pp. 347–348. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2901258. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2901258
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Fills a gap in our holdings.
      ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • Published in 1926. This is a reprint.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • This is a provocative book that stimulated much response. Critics took issue with the author's claims.
  • Substantial reviews:
    • Derounian-Stodola, Kathryn Zabelle. “Troping America.” Early American Literature, vol. 30, no. 2, 1995, pp. 188–195. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25057018. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25057018
    • Elliott, Emory. The William and Mary Quarterly, vol. 52, no. 2, 1995, pp. 327–331. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2946978. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2946978
    • Knight, Janice. Modern Philology, vol. 94, no. 4, 1997, pp. 531–533. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/438470. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/438470
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Dolmetsch, Carl R. Early American Literature Newsletter, vol. 3, no. 1, 1968, pp. 56–56. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25056281. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25056281
    •  
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Ford, Paul Leicester. The American Historical Review, vol. 2, no. 4, 1897, pp. 738–740. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1834002. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1834002
    • Drake, Thomas E. The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, vol. 65, no. 4, 1941, pp. 482–483. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20087419. Accessed 3 June 2021. (Review of the 1941 reprint). 
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20087419
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Hornberger, Theodore. American Literature, vol. 11, no. 4, 1940, pp. 463–465. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2920861. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2920861
    • Spiller, Robert E. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 40, no. 3, 1941, pp. 424–424. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27704784. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27704784
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
    • Book Index with Reviews contents note:
      • "Poems by prominent and lesser-known contemporary female poets are arranged according to the stages of human development and experience and reflect every aspect of a woman's life."
      • Kopek's other books focus on careers for women.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Kribbs, Jayne K. Early American Literature, vol. 12, no. 2, 1977, pp. 207–213. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25070836. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25070836
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of  quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Hedges, William L. Early American Literature, vol. 11, no. 1, 1976, pp. 113–115. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25070766. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25070766
    • Spiller, Robert E. The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, vol. 100, no. 1, 1976, pp. 127–128. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/20091039. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/20091039
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Colacurcio, Michael J. “Review Essay: Does American Literature Have a History?” Early American Literature, vol. 13, no. 1, 1978, pp. 110–132. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25070871. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25070871
    • Richardson, Robert D. The William and Mary Quarterly, vol. 35, no. 3, 1978, pp. 568–570. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1921669. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1921669
    • Gura, Philip F. The New England Quarterly, vol. 50, no. 3, 1977, pp. 529–531. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/364288. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/364288
  • Unfavorable review:
    • ​​​​​​​Quarantelli, E. L. “Of Rivers and People.” Reviews in American History, vol. 6, no. 1, 1978, pp. 99–103. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2701483. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2701483
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Written from an American Studies perspective. Adds depth to collection.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Leisy, Ernest E. “Mid-Century America.” Southwest Review, vol. 33, no. 1, 1948, pp. 87–89. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43463331. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43463331
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Spiller, Robert E. American Literature, vol. 20, no. 4, 1949, pp. 459–461. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921729. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921729
    • Chase, Richard. “The Times of Brooks and Gorer.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 56, no. 4, 1948, pp. 703–706. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27537875. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27537875
  • Article assessing Brooks' contributions to literary criticism:
    • Pritchard, William. "To Not Write Was Not To Be Alive." New York Times, 1 Nov. 1981. 
      • https://www.nytimes.com/1981/11/01/books/not-to-write-was-not-to-be-alive.html?smid=url-share
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews
    • Lenz, William E. American Literature, vol. 63, no. 2, 1991, pp. 327–328. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2927172. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2927172
    • Barnard, Philip. Early American Literature, vol. 26, no. 3, 1991, pp. 291–293. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25056869. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/25056869
  • Unfavorable reviews 
    • McGill, Meredith L. PSA Newsletter, vol. 20, no. 1, 1992, pp. 4–4. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43899835. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43899835
    • Girgus, Sam B. Nineteenth-Century Literature, vol. 46, no. 4, 1992, pp. 548–550. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2933807. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2933807
• Retain in collection?​​​​​​​
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Ask English faculty

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Stewart, Randall. American Literature, vol. 30, no. 1, 1958, pp. 119–121. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922222. Accessed 3 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922222
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes.
    • The 1972 edition of this title was not on the weeding list. 
    • This suggests that we should keep this book, but also look for more recent titles that cover the same material.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Johnson, A. E. Journal of Bible and Religion, vol. 26, no. 3, 1958, pp. 247–249. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1459526. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1459526
    • Spencer, Benjamin T. American Literature, vol. 30, no. 4, 1959, pp. 547–548. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922837. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922837
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Different lens for analysis
    • Would be helpful to find more updated titles
      ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Davis, Joe Lee. American Quarterly, vol. 16, no. 4, 1964, pp. 638–639. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2711163. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2711163
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Pritchard, J. P. Books Abroad, vol. 39, no. 1, 1965, pp. 83–83. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40119439. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40119439
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD) - No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Reprint of a 1935 edition.
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Schramm, Wilbur L. The New England Quarterly, vol. 9, no. 1, 1936, pp. 158–161. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/360903. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/360903
    • Northup, G. T. Modern Philology, vol. 35, no. 1, 1937, pp. 95–97. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/433968. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/433968
    • Doane, Gilbert H. The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, vol. 6, no. 4, 1936, pp. 443–443. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4302314. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4302314
    • Kraus, Michael. The American Historical Review, vol. 42, no. 3, 1937, pp. 562–563. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1838889. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1838889
    • Hockett, Homer C. The Mississippi Valley Historical Review, vol. 22, no. 4, 1936, pp. 572–573. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1897335. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1897335
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No,
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • Good Books provides a summary and contents:

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Luedtke, Luther S. Eighteenth-Century Studies, vol. 7, no. 2, 1973, pp. 239–242. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3031660. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3031660
    • Krause, Sydney J. American Literary Realism, 1870-1910, vol. 5, no. 2, 1972, pp. 177–179. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27747816. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27747816
    • Leary, Lewis. Nineteenth-Century Fiction, vol. 27, no. 2, 1972, pp. 235–238. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2933062. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2933062
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Reviewers emphasized that students of literature will find this book helpful.
    • Also useful for library reference questions. 

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Callow, James T. Nineteenth-Century Fiction, vol. 29, no. 3, 1974, pp. 348–351. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2933177. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2933177
    • Philbrick, Thomas. American Literature, vol. 44, no. 3, 1972, pp. 484–485. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2924164. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2924164
    • Cady, Edwin H. New York History, vol. 54, no. 3, 1973, pp. 366–367. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/23169407. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23169407
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Collins, Frank M. Studies in the Novel, vol. 5, no. 1, 1973, pp. 145–148. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/29531582. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/29531582
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Woodress' 1971 book is an extension of the1956 book published by MLA.
    • Favorable reviews of the first edition:
      • ​​​​​​​Stewart, Randall. American Literature, vol. 30, no. 1, 1958, pp. 119–121. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922222. Accessed 4 June 2021.
        • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922222
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Useful in reference work.

Journal Information:

Published by: Joel Myerson

https://www.jstor.org/stable/i30227648

• Studies in the American Renaissance
• JSTOR Description: Studies in the American Renaissance published biographical, historical, and bibliographical literary scholarship on the period of the American Renaissance (roughly 1830-1860). Because there were no page limits on articles, Studies was able to publish such extended works as editions of Bronson Alcott's letters and journals, Louisa May Alcott's letters, Ralph Waldo Emerson's early poetry, Nathaniel Hawthorne's consular letters, Edgar Allan Poe's short stories and essays, and Henry David Thoreau's A Life without Principle lectures; the apparatus for an edition of Poe's Eureka; calendars of the letters of Louisa May Alcott, Margaret Fuller, Sophia Peabody Hawthorne, Poe, and Thoreau; a calendar of Thoreau's lectures; and extended bibliographical works on Emerson, Fuller, Hawthorne, Poe, and Thoreau.

• In twenty volumes, Studies published 265 articles by 174 contributors, a total of approximately 8,500 pages containing nearly four million words.

  Coverage: 1977-1996

  Publication of this title ceased in 1996.

  ISSN: 0149015X

  Subjects: Language & Literature, American Studies, Area Studies, Humanities

  Collections: Arts & Sciences VIII Collection, JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection, Lives of Literature Extension, Lives of Literature Extension - Victorian, Edwardian & Gothic Authors

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Francis, Richard H. Journal of American Studies, vol. 15, no. 2, 1981, pp. 318–320. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27554024. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27554024
    • Buell, Lawrence. The New England Quarterly, vol. 57, no. 3, 1984, pp. 435–439. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/365588. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/365588
    • The Papers of the Bibliographical Society of America, vol. 78, no. 2, 1984, pp. 263–263. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24302800. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24302800
    • Rawlings, Peter. Journal of American Studies, vol. 33, no. 1, 1999, pp. 100–101. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27556546. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27556546
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
    • Though our JSTOR subscription provides access to full run of SAR, having the hard copy is a convenience to our patrons.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable review:
    • “Brief Mention.” American Literature, vol. 49, no. 3, 1977, pp. 490–498. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2925024. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2925024
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD: No
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Chittick, V. L. O. The Pacific Northwest Quarterly, vol. 36, no. 1, 1945, pp. 85–88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40486697. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40486697
    • McDowell, Tremaine. The American Historical Review, vol. 50, no. 3, 1945, pp. 557–559. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1843159. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1843159
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Koch, Vivienne. “Accentuate the Positive.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 53, no. 2, 1945, pp. 315–318. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27537589. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27537589
    • Trilling, Lionel. “The Writer and His Responsibilities.” The American Scholar, vol. 14, no. 4, 1945, pp. 497–504. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41204746. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41204746
    • Cowie, Alexander. The New England Quarterly, vol. 18, no. 2, 1945, pp. 271–273. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/361295. Accessed 4 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/361295
  • Article assessing Brooks' contributions to literary criticism:
    • Pritchard, William. "To Not Write Was Not To Be Alive." New York Times, 1 Nov. 1981. 
      • https://www.nytimes.com/1981/11/01/books/not-to-write-was-not-to-be-alive.html?smid=url-share
• Retan in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • ​​​​​​​Paul, Sherman. American Literature, vol. 45, no. 3, 1973, pp. 487–488. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2924646. Accessed 5 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2924646
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Ask English faculty

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Shera, J. H. The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, vol. 10, no. 4, 1940, pp. 618–621. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4302799. Accessed 5 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4302799
    • Nichols, Jeannette P. The Mississippi Valley Historical Review, vol. 27, no. 3, 1940, pp. 479–480. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1896116. Accessed 5 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1896116
    • Blair, Walter. The New England Quarterly, vol. 13, no. 3, 1940, pp. 535–538. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/360200. Accessed 5 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/360200
  • Scholarly article responding to Pattee:
    • Ernest, Joseph M. “Whittier and the ‘Feminine Fifties.’” American Literature, vol. 28, no. 2, 1956, pp. 184–196. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2922048. Accessed 5 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2922048
• Retain in collection:
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Hart, James D. American Literature, vol. 24, no. 4, 1953, pp. 548–554. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921521. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921521
    • Geismar, Maxwell. “A Life Work on a Grand Scale.” The American Scholar, vol. 21, no. 3, 1952, pp. 367–368. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41206928. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41206928
    • Wilson, James Southall. “THE CONFIDENT YEARS?” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 28, no. 2, 1952, pp. 316–320. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26439908. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26439908
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Williams, Stanley T. Books Abroad, vol. 26, no. 4, 1952, pp. 398–398. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40091466. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40091466
    • Gibson, William M. American Literature, vol. 24, no. 3, 1952, pp. 396–397. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2921360. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2921360
• Retain in collection?​​​​​​​
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • ​​​​​​​Favorable reviews:
    • McElderry, B. R. American Quarterly, vol. 19, no. 1, 1967, pp. 133–134. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2711062. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2711062
    • Robert E. Spiller. The American Historical Review, vol. 72, no. 2, 1967, pp. 723–724. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1859464. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/1859464
    • Westbrook, Max. American Literary Realism, 1870-1910, vol. 1, no. 2, 1968, pp. 95–96. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27747584. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27747584
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Ask English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • Reynolds, R. C. South Central Review, vol. 2, no. 1, 1985, pp. 86–90. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3189418. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3189418
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): Yes

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Davis, Robert Con. American Literature, vol. 52, no. 4, 1981, pp. 656–659. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2925461. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2925461
    • Rowe, John Carlos. Nineteenth-Century Fiction, vol. 36, no. 2, 1981, pp. 206–211. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3044881. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3044881
    • Swann, C. S. B. Journal of American Studies, vol. 16, no. 3, 1982, pp. 457–459. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27554204. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27554204
    • Nelson, Robert J. “Seeing Through Words, Seeing Through Words, Seeing Words Through, Seeing Words (as) Through.” The Georgia Review, vol. 35, no. 3, 1981, pp. 661–672. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41400950. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41400950
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable review:
    • Trilling, Lionel. “The Writer and His Responsibilities.” The American Scholar, vol. 14, no. 4, 1945, pp. 497–504. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41204746. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41204746
    • Heilman, Robert. “The Professor as Journalist, and Vice Versa.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 53, no. 3, 1945, pp. 496–500. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27537615. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27537615
    • Millett, Fred B. The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, vol. 15, no. 3, 1945, pp. 269–270. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4303391. Accessed 9 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4303391
    • Spiller, Robert E. College English, vol. 6, no. 7, 1945, pp. 417–418. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/371080. Accessed 10 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/371080
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • No reviews found.
  • The poet Louise Brogan was named poet laureate of the US. in 1945. 
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Need to inspect the book.
  • Might be useful in reference work.
    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Herron, Ima Honaker. Southwest Review, vol. 26, no. 4, 1941, pp. 514–516. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/43466611. Accessed 10 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43466611
    • Kazin, Alfred. “CRITICISM AND ISOLATION.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 17, no. 3, 1941, pp. 448–453. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26448452. Accessed 10 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26448452
• Retain in collection?
  • ​​​​​​​Librarian (NCD): No
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • "So-so" review:
    • Beebe, Maurice. American Literature, vol. 44, no. 3, 1972, pp. 519–520. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2924188. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2924188
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefuness to collection:
  • This appears to be an edited version of the original 1931 edition.
  • Malcolm Crowley was a prominent literary critic of the 20th Century
    • Obituary New York Times
• Retain in collection? 
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult English facutly.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • This is a reprint of the original 1931 edition.
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Dupee, F. W. “Still a Good Book.” The American Scholar, vol. 20, no. 4, 1951, pp. 480–482. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41206733. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/41206733
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Unfavorable reviews:
    • Flint, R. W. “Smear and Whitewash.” The Kenyon Review, vol. 6, no. 4, 1944, pp. 669–672. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4332557. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4332557
    • Mizener, Arthur. “Three Critics.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 52, no. 4, 1944, pp. 597–604. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27537546. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27537546
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): No.
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable review:
    • ​​​​​​​Berman, Ronald. “Zion as Main Street.” The Kenyon Review, vol. 27, no. 1, 1965, pp. 171–175. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/4334525. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/4334525
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
  • Confirm with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • W.T.S., and Louis D. Rubin. Modern Fiction Studies, vol. 16, no. 2, 1970, pp. 225–228. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26279077. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26279077
    • Thorp, Willard. American Literature, vol. 42, no. 1, 1970, pp. 122–124. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/2924402. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2924402
    • Kuehl, John. The Modern Language Journal, vol. 54, no. 4, 1970, pp. 303–304. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/323134. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/323134
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
  • Useful in reference work

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • First ed. published in 1969 under title: Fifteen Modern American Authors. (Item 196, above).
  • This work was favorably received.
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
  • Useful in reference work.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection
  • No reviews found.
• Retain in collection:
  • Librarian (NCD): Consult with English faculty.

• Indicators of quality/usefulness to collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Recommended by James Harner, Literary Research Guide.
    • Eder, Doris L. “THE Contemporary Literary Scene.” The Virginia Quarterly Review, vol. 56, no. 4, 1980, pp. 726–734. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/26436135. Accessed 11 June 2021.]
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26436135
  • "Disappointed" Reviews:
    • Baym, Nina. The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 79, no. 2, 1980, pp. 271–275. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27708660. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/27708660
    • Klinkowitz, Jerome. “The Effacement of Contemporary American Literature.” College English, vol. 42, no. 4, 1980, pp. 382–389. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/376139. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/376139
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes
  • Useful in reference work.
    ​​​​​​​

• Indicators of Quality/Usefulness to Collection:
  • Favorable reviews:
    • Perloff, Marjorie. William Carlos Williams Newsletter, vol. 1, no. 1, 1975, pp. 14–15. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24564529. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24564529
    • Helming, Steven. Paideuma, vol. 4, no. 1, 1975, pp. 171–173. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24725570. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24725570
    • Bedient, Calvin. “The American Poem.” The Hudson Review, vol. 28, no. 3, 1975, pp. 459–464. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3849848. Accessed 11 June 2021.
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3849848
    • Fender, Stephen. The Yearbook of English Studies, vol. 14, 1984, pp. 363–366. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/3508367. Accessed 11 June 2021. (Retrospective review).
      • http://corvette.salemstate.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/3508367
• Retain in collection?
  • Librarian (NCD): Yes.
  • Confirm with English faculty.