Skip to main content
SSU ship logo and 'Salem State University' text
Frederick E. Berry Library and Learning Commons

ENG 110 Foundations of Writing

Purpose

  • This guide was created to support research for the ENG 110 Foundations of Writing, Professor Jude Nixon's class. 
  • It demonstrates how to set up a search strategy and determine information needs.
    • It also shows how to find full-text, improve search results, and choose among different types of information sources.
    • Please do not hesitate to contact Rukmal Ryder, Reference Services Librarian, if you have questions and/or would like individualized assistance. 
      • Assistance is provided online via Zoom; via email, or in person at Berry Library.
      • Contact information; 
        • rryder@salemstate.edu
        • 978-542-6767
  • Few ideas were taken from Librarian Nancy Dennis for ENG 110 LibGuide.and Librarian Tara Fitzpatrick's LibGuide, "The Research Process.." I give credit to their work. 

ENG 110 Foundation of Writing Handout

Databases: to find articles

Academic Search Complete

An important resource for many academic subjects including the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It includes full text and abstracts for thousands of academic journals. This resource includes content from Academic Search Premier and Academic Search Elite.

EBSCO

Database system that provides access to many full-text databases, other resources, and ebooks. View tutorial:

Gale/Cengage

Database system that provides access to many full-text databases, other resources, and ebooks.

ProQuest

Database system that provides access to many full-text databases.

ScienceDirect College Editions

Search full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present. Our library has also purchased a small selection of ebook titles through ScienceDirect.

JSTOR

Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly books and journals across all academic disciplines. Particularly useful for Humanities and Social Sciences.
View tutorial:

ProjectMUSE

Provides full-text access to current issues of over 300 journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences.