Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed below have particularly strong collections of scholarly history journal articles.
Covering the history of the world from 1450 to present, except for North America, this database provides abstracts to scholarly articles. The full-text of some articles is available and links to full-text articles available in other databases is supported.
America: History & Life
The companion database to Historical Abstracts, America: History & Life provides abstracts (and in some cases full-text or links to full-text articles) on North America from prehistory to the present.
Project Muse is a full-text database similar to JSTOR except that the articles are recently published.
Writing a Historiographic Essay
The website below on History writing from the History Department at Queens College, New York provides good background information on what historiography is as well as information on wrting a historiographic essay.
Writing on History : Historiography
This useful online guide discusses what historiography is and writing historiographic essays. From the History Department at Queens College, New York.
Guides to Historical Literature
Historiography Works on Various Eras and Regions
Sources on Historical Debates & Subject Encyclopedias
History in Dispute
This is a great source to look at when choosing a historiography topic. It is a 21 volume set with entries on hundreds of historical controversies. Each has an overview of the debate, articles written by experts arguing each side and a list of sources. To get to History in Dispute from the link, type in your Salem State login, select History from the left column and scroll down until you see one of the volumes. Click on a volume and type in your subject in the search box that says Search Publication.
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.
- Select History from the list of subjects.
- See History in Dispute for entries on historical controversies.
- See entries on Historiography or your topic in history subject encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference Online
A collection containing over 120 dictionaries and reference titles covering a broad spectrum of subjects from general reference and language to science and medicine, and from humanities and social sciences to business and professional. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Select History
- Use the search box at the top of the screen to enter your search
- Narrow results to available sources by marking Free an Unlocked in the blue shaded column on the left.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
These extensive bibliographies include an introduction of the subject followed by a variety of sources such as overviews, bibliographies, primary sources, and works on particular aspects of the subject. Works mentioned also link to WorldCat or Google Books, to make locating them easier. SSU currently has historical bibliographies on the Atlantic World, Medieval Studies, Renaissance & Reformation.
Finding Books at SSU and Beyond
Follow the links below to find books at Salem State University Library or in libraries elsewhere.
SSU Library Catalog
To find books in the Berry Library at Salem State and in other local libraries in the NOBLE Library Consortium, select the Books, Media & More tab above the search box at the top of the library's homepage. Request books from other NOBLE Libraries by clicking on the Place Hold button. The book will be sent to Salem State or another library of your choice.
Contains the catalogs of thousands of libraries worldwide. Items found in WorldCat can be requested through Interlibrary Loan and picked up at the Library's Circulation Desk.
Large collection of online, usually older, books in the public domain.
Request books and articles from libraries beyond Salem State and the NOBLE system from Interlibrary Loan.
More Focused Guides to Historical Literature
Search Scholar.google.com for scholarly articles on the web. Be aware that not all of these are freely available, but you can set your computer to identify those articles available through the Berry Library at Salem State. To do this,
- Go to the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.in Google
- Scroll down to Settings
- Select Library Links from the left column
- Type in Salem State University
- Select SALEM STATE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY - Proquest Full-text and Salem State University Library - Full text @ Salem State
- Click Save
Now when you search Google Scholar, a link will appear to the right of articles that are available full text to you through Salem State databases. Follow the link to the article.