Research Guides: Historiography: Sources for Research at Salem State: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Online Sources on Historical Debates and Subject Encyclopedias

History in Dispute
This is a great source to look at when choosing a historiography topic. It is a 21 volume set with entries on hundreds of historical controversies. Each has an overview of the debate, articles written by experts arguing each side and a list of sources. Click on a volume or type in your subject or a keyword in the Search within Series search box.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.

Select History from the list of subjects and then click on Search within Collection and enter a keyword or your topic.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection containing over 120 dictionaries and reference titles covering a broad spectrum of subjects from general reference and language to science and medicine, and from humanities and social sciences to business and professional. Limited to 5 simultaneous users, so don't get discouraged -- keep hitting refresh. View the tutorial (in a chipper British accent):

Select History
Use the search box at the top of the screen to enter your search
Narrow results to available sources by marking Free an Unlocked in the blue shaded column on the left.

Historiography Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing
Call Number: Ref. D 14 .E58 1999 at Berry Library, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Publication Date: 1999
A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing
Call Number: Ref. D 13 .G47 1998 at Berry Library, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Publication Date: 1998

General Guides to Historical Literature

The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature (PRINT ONLY)
Call Number: Ref. D 20 .A55 1995 at Berry Library, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Publication Date: 1995
Reader's Guide to American History (PRINT ONLY)
Call Number: Ref. E 178 .R43 1997 at Berry Library, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Publication Date: 1997

Some Focused Guides to Historical Literature

The Harvard Guide to African American History (PRINT ONLY)
Call Number: Ref. E 185 .H326 2001 at Berry Library, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Publication Date: 2001
The American Civil War: A Handbook of Literature and Research (PRINT ONLY)
Call Number: Ref. E 456 .A47 1996 at Berry Library, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Publication Date: 1996
The Vietnam War (PRINT ONLY)
Call Number: Ref. DS 558 .V58 1993 at Berry Library, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Publication Date: 1993

Historiography Works on Various Eras and Regions

A Companion to Enlightenment Historiography (E-BOOK) by Sophie Bourgault (Volume Editor); Robert Sparling (Volume Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above and then click on: Access for Salem State University via EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2013
Battling Over the Balkans: Historiographical Questions and Controversies (E-Book) by Lampe, John
Call Number: Click on the title above and then click on: Access for Salem State University via EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2020
Debates on the Holocaust (E-BOOK) by Don Nardo
Call Number: Click on the title above and then click on: Access for Salem State University via EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2018
The Great War in History: Debates and Controversies, 1914 to the Present (PRINT BOOK) by Jay Winter; Antoine Prost
Call Number: D 522.42 .W56 2005 at Berry Library, 2nd Floor Stacks
Publication Date: 2005
Historical Controversies and Historians (E-BOOK) by William Lamont (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above and then click on: Access for Salem State University via EBSCOhost
Publication Date: 2005

But, Hey What About Wikipedia?

Okay, sure...asking the Internet isn't always bad. But conducting research is about being a saavy and educated critical thinker, which you are now because you are taking this class. Wikipedia CAN be your friend, but just as you wouldn't cite what your roommate said at lunch, it's never good to cite Wikipedia for scholarly work...especially for this course. Instead -- look at the footnotes and reference and cite the source that Wikipedia points to. Then find the original resource. It's tru that Wikipedia will often provide accurate information (just like your roommate), but like a dead President once liked to say, "Trust, but verify."

Historiography: Sources for Research at Salem State