Research Guides: EDC 120: Justice in Education: Identify Your Movement (background info)

Books, E-Books, Streaming Videos

Use the NOBLE online library catalog to search for books, e-books, streaming videos. To request non-SSU items, provide your library card number on the back of your Clipper Card with your password/pin number (request password/pin number online or at the Library Help Desk)

Search for in

When you access a Salem State library e-book from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.

General

Boston Public Library Electronic Resources This link opens in a new window
A wide range of electronic resources available to Boston Public Library card holders. Note: cards may be obtained via the BPL's web page and are available to residents of Massachusetts. Please see BPL eCard web page for more information. http://www.bpl.org/general/circulation/ecards.htm
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of select Cambridge University Press ebooks.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Collection is a collection of over 3000 online books and resource materials available through the web. Many different subject areas are covered including business, buying and selling a home, careers, complete idiot's guides, computer how to books, consumer health, consumer law, psychology, self help, sports coaching, sports how to books, study guides, travel, and web development. Note: The EBSCO eBook Academic Collection is included in this large resource.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
24/7 access to Salem State and NOBLE library consoritum's digital collection of popular and academic eBooks and audiobooks available for downloading and streaming. View tutorial:

Activism

Immigrant Rights

Decolonizing 1968: Transnational Student Activism in Tunis, Paris, and Dakar by Burleigh Hendrickson

The immigrant rights movement : the battle over national citizenship by Walter J. Nicholls

Transgender Rights

Disability Rights

Language Access Rights

Brown vs Board of Education

In Brown's Wake : Legacies of America's Educational Landmark

Education resources located in the library (2nd floor) include:

Education, curriculum and children's book collections, shelved in Library of Congress order.
29,000 books shelved as a unit in the second floor Education Resource Area. Each of these items has Educ Res preceding its Library of Congress classification in the catalog.
SELECT books, big books, kits, test books and leveled readers, shelved in the second floor Education Resource Area.
ERA Print periodicals: alphabetically listed by title with the ERA periodical collection.
ERA Reference books, shelved on the 1st ERA shelf.

See more information about books and other materials in the Education Resource Area (ERA) of the library.

Background and History

When you access a Salem State library database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.

Britannica Library Suite This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Updated monthly. Courtesy MBLC
View tutorial:
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text overviews of current issues including pro/con debates, issue timelines, bibliographies, and statistics.
View tutorial:
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides a variety of source types on international issues including reference works, academic journal, magazine and newspaper articles, videos, audio files, statistics, and vetted websites. Full-text.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions. View tutorial:

Digital Public Library of America - Activism in the U.S.
This exhibit from DPLA offers a high-level overview of the history of activism in the United States. There are concise sections on topics such as the civil rights movement, Martin Luther King Jr., women’s movements and LGBT activism, which are accompanied by photographs, video clips, and other materials.
Digital Public Library of America - Social Movements
Primary sources relating to American social movements
Digital Transgender Archive
Digital Transgender Archive is a meta-archive collecting materials from more than 30 institutions pertaining to the history of the experiences of transgender and gender nonconforming individuals around the world.
Ensure Language Access - Massachusetts
Language access at the Department of Homeland Security
Library of Congress - Brown vs Board of Education
This guide from the Library of Congress provides access to digital materials, websites and print resources.
Library of Congress - Research Guides
Research guides to the Library's collections, as well as subject guides prepared by Library of Congress staff.
Mapping American Social Movements Project
This project produces and displays interactive maps showing the historical geography of dozens of social movements that have influenced American life and politics since the late 19th century, including radical movements, civil rights movements, labor movements, women's movements, and more.
National Center for Transgender Equality
ProCon
Information and research on all sides of the controversial issues of the day.
Timeline of Disability Rights in the United States
US Dept. of Ed., IDEA Website

Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
The database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming films and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, health & medicine, technical education, family & consumer sciences, careers & job searching, and guidance & counseling. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements from the late 19th century into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
This resource includes two resources: LGBT Thought and Culture and LGBT Studies in Video.

EDC 120: Justice in Education

Books, E-Books, Streaming Videos

Use the NOBLE online library catalog to search for books, e-books, streaming videos. To request non-SSU items, provide your library card number on the back of your Clipper Card with your password/pin number (request password/pin number online or at the Library Help Desk)

When you access a Salem State library e-book from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.

Activism

Immigrant Rights

Transgender Rights

Disability Rights

Language Access Rights

Brown vs Board of Education

Education resources located in the library (2nd floor) include:

Education, curriculum and children's book collections, shelved in Library of Congress order.

29,000 books shelved as a unit in the second floor Education Resource Area. Each of these items has Educ Res preceding its Library of Congress classification in the catalog.

SELECT books, big books, kits, test books and leveled readers, shelved in the second floor Education Resource Area.

ERA Print periodicals: alphabetically listed by title with the ERA periodical collection.

ERA Reference books, shelved on the 1st ERA shelf.

See more information about books and other materials in the Education Resource Area (ERA) of the library.

Background and History

When you access a Salem State library database or article/journal title from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username and password are the same as those used for SSU email and Navigator.