Research Guides: EDC 225: Social Justice for PreK-8 Curriculum I: Books, E-Books, Streaming Videos

Using the online library catalog

Salem State NOBLE Catalog

Use the NOBLE online library catalog to search for books, e-books, streaming videos. To request non-SSU items, provide your library card number on the back of your Clipper Card with your password/pin number (request password/pin number online or at the Library Help Desk)

Search for in

Education Resource Area (ERA)

Education resources located in the library (2nd floor) include:

Education, curriculum and children's book collections, shelved in Library of Congress order.
29,000 books shelved as a unit in the second floor Education Resource Area. Each of these items has Educ Res preceding its Library of Congress classification in the catalog.
SELECT books, big books, kits, test books and leveled readers, shelved in the second floor Education Resource Area.
ERA Print periodicals: alphabetically listed by title with the ERA periodical collection.
ERA Reference books, shelved on the 1st ERA shelf.

See more information about books and other materials in the Education Resource Area (ERA) of the library.

Ebooks - General Collection

Boston Public Library Electronic Resources This link opens in a new window
A wide range of electronic resources available to Boston Public Library card holders. Note: cards may be obtained via the BPL's web page and are available to residents of Massachusetts. Please see BPL eCard web page for more information. http://www.bpl.org/general/circulation/ecards.htm
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of select Cambridge University Press ebooks.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO eBook Collection is a collection of over 3000 online books and resource materials available through the web. Many different subject areas are covered including business, buying and selling a home, careers, complete idiot's guides, computer how to books, consumer health, consumer law, psychology, self help, sports coaching, sports how to books, study guides, travel, and web development. Note: The EBSCO eBook Academic Collection is included in this large resource.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources featuring a wide variety of full-text, interdisciplinary content. A great starting point for your research.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
24/7 access to Salem State and NOBLE library consoritum's digital collection of popular and academic eBooks and audiobooks available for downloading and streaming. View tutorial:

The Online Books Page
More than 30,000 free books on the Web.(UPenn)
Project Gutenberg
Provides free access to over 25,000 books in its catalog and links to affiliated projects.

Scholastic BookFlix This link opens in a new window
All the fiction/nonfiction pairs in BookFlix are categorized according to nine themes: Animals and Nature; Earth and Sky; Family and Community; People and Places; Music and Rhyme; ABC's and 1, 2, 3's; Adventure; Imagination; and Celebrations. From the Home page, click on one of the nine themes to browse the pairs in each category. Pairs are listed in alphabetical order by story title.
View tutorial:
Please use an user name/password to access this trial:
user name: bookflix51
password: figs

History Call Numbers

D522 - D802	WWI, WWII
E58 - E99	Native American History
E101 - E120	Columbus and early explorers
E184 - E186	Civil Rights (includes civil rights leaders)
E188 - E278	American Revolution
E301 - E342	Early American History and Presidents
E453 - E672	Civil War, Lincoln, Emancipation
G1021 - GA408	Atlases and Maps
KF4520 - KF8745	Constitution, Supreme Court

Library of Congress Call Numbers

A	General Works
B	Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
C	Auxiliary Sciences of History
D	World History and History of Europe, Asia, African, Australia, New Zealand
E	History of the Americas
F	History of the Americas
G	Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
H	Social Sciences
J	Political Science
K	Law
L	Education
M	Music
N	Fine Arts
P	Language and Literature
Q	Science
R	Medicine
S	Agriculture
T	Technology
U	Military Science
V	Naval Science
Z	Library Science, General Information Resources

EDC 225: Social Justice for PreK-8 Curriculum I

Using the online library catalog

Salem State NOBLE Catalog

Use the NOBLE online library catalog to search for books, e-books, streaming videos. To request non-SSU items, provide your library card number on the back of your Clipper Card with your password/pin number (request password/pin number online or at the Library Help Desk)

Education Resource Area (ERA)

Education resources located in the library (2nd floor) include:

Education, curriculum and children's book collections, shelved in Library of Congress order.

29,000 books shelved as a unit in the second floor Education Resource Area. Each of these items has Educ Res preceding its Library of Congress classification in the catalog.

SELECT books, big books, kits, test books and leveled readers, shelved in the second floor Education Resource Area.

ERA Print periodicals: alphabetically listed by title with the ERA periodical collection.

ERA Reference books, shelved on the 1st ERA shelf.

See more information about books and other materials in the Education Resource Area (ERA) of the library.

Ebooks - General Collection

History Call Numbers

KF4520 - KF8745

Constitution, Supreme Court

Library of Congress Call Numbers

A

General Works

B

Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

C

Auxiliary Sciences of History

D

World History and History of Europe, Asia, African, Australia, New Zealand

E

History of the Americas

F

History of the Americas

G

Geography, Anthropology, Recreation

H

Social Sciences

J

Political Science

K

Law

L

Education

M

Music

N

Fine Arts

P

Language and Literature

Q

Science

R

Medicine

S

Agriculture

T

Technology

U

Military Science

V

Naval Science

Z

Library Science, General Information Resources