A user-friendly portal to the British Library's manuscript collections. Includes articles about notable works and discussions of genres. ENL 240 students will find the Discovering Literature: Shakespeare and the Renaissance and Discovering Literature: Medieval helpful.
The following electronic and print reference sources will help you understand a work of literature, what an author's style is, and where to find additional information.
They are not meant to be read cover to cover.
Rather, you read a chapter or two or check the meaning of a word, concept, etc.
Most of the print books are available to borrow.
Just a few are Reference titles that must be read in the Library. These are noted below the citation with "Ref" before the call number.
If you access the E-Books from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Salem State username and password. These are the same as those you use for Navigator, Canvas, and SSU Email.
Entering your SSU credentials tells our system that you are entitled to access the remote resources.
Gale Literature Resource Center (Library Database)
Choose the Literature Resource from the icons that appear upon clicking the link. The Literature Resource Center is a compendium of biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Enter key words in the search box that appears in the top left.
"The Oxford English Dictionary is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world. Updated quarterly."
The Middle English Compendium (The University of Michigan)
"The Middle English Compendium is a publication of the University of Michigan Library, the latest embodiment of the University's long-standing involvement in the study of Middle English. The Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and some interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary (MED); a Bibliography of Middle English primary texts, limited to those cited by the MED and based on the MED bibliographies; and a searchable full-text Corpus of Middle English prose and verse."
MLA Approaches to Teaching Series (Print Books)
Though titles in this series are geared to teachers, each volume contains useful information for researchers of literary topics.